We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good breakfast, kind of expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tritone

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tritone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Tritone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Venice Mestre Station, Viale Stazione 16, 30171 Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Mestre
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Clean, good breakfast, kind of expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

very convenient location, right across the street from the train station and nearby bus stops. the rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable, the staff were very helpful and the breakfast buffet had a good variety of foods and good quality coffee.

Staff suggested we get a one day bus pass that also worked for the "vaporetos" in Venice.. this was very good advise!

At the end of the day there is really nothing wrong with this hotel, however, we did feel that the price was kind of expensive, but I suppose that that is to be expected in Italy in September.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    314
    61
    6
    4
See reviews for
147
351
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I spent 4 nights at hotel Tritone during the 2013 Venice Film Festival and had a very pleasant stay for the following reasons:

1. Hotel is well connected to the airport. Bus from airport to mestre bus station which is a 2 minute walk to the hotel. Bus costs 6€.

2. Bus to and from hotel to Venice (bus number 2) costs 1.30€ which runs regularly. Venice was extremely busy during my visit due to the Biennale and the Venice Film Festival do staying out if Venice and travelling in was quicker and hassle free. Train station also located across the street for travel around Italy and beyond! Tip - buy a daily pass if using water taxis to lido etc as much cheaper. Single trips costs 7€!

3. Customer service was excellent! I had an early flight into Venice and was greeted and given refreshments (croissant and coffee / water) a very nice touch particularly when you got up early to start your travels!!!

Thanks to Riccardo for helping with my connection to bergamo airport and also the message on my watch!!

4. Clean and spacious. Space is an expensive commodity in Italy so staying out of Venice means the rooms have a but more room then they would in the centre! Daily breakfast was delicious and had variety! The
tomatoes are to die for!!!

5. Town of Mestre is very nice and not as crowded. Great if you looking for shopping for local Italian goodies and prices are reasonable compared to Venice and Lido which probably pay a premium for location!!!

All in all a great experience, I would definitely come back and stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We arrived before check-in and they had our room ready. Our luggage had not arrived yet, but they provided us with toothbrushes and toothpaste so we were able to clean up and go to Venice. They had our luggage in our room when we got back so that was nice. It was a great value and so close to train and bus. The neighborhood was not very nice, but with free breakfast and wi-fi it was great for travelers on a budget. The staff was very helpful and accommodating!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and found it really convenient as part of a short break to visit Venice. It is situated in Mestre which is on the mainland and this makes it easy to find. There are no boats to catch and no need to pull your luggage through cobbled streets!

The hotel is right opposite Mestre railway station so it is easy to find - two buses go there from the airport and a bus or the train goes across to Venice from outside the door. This is a quiet, ordinary location.

The hotel is clean, comfortable and welcoming. It has free wifi and free coffee for guests.

There is no restaurant [although the buffet breakfast is fine and there are cold snacks always available]. There are local Italian and Chinese restaurants and ice-cream parlours to follow.

There is no pool or gym, but we would not expect that. It was not necessary.

If you are looking for a bright, friendly, convenient and less costly stay near Venice [it takes about 20 minutes to travel to Venice], this hotel will fill the bill. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Tritone at the end of our cruise before flying home. The reception staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful, The free coffee and pastries in reception were a nice touch as we arrived early and had to wait for our room to be ready.

The Hotel is very convenient for the railway and buses and because it is off the main road there is no night noise.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the bathroom very clean, The breakfast was also excellent.

All in all a very good hotel and would recommend,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights before taking an Adriatic cruise. We had been in Venice previously and realized the hassle in getting to and from hotels with luggage, so decided to give Mestre a try. We feel like we made a great choice. The hotel is literally across the street from the train station so is a very simple walk from the train (although there are stairs, and no elevator, to get from platform to station). The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable, with a great included breakfast. Its a very quick train or bus trip into Venice itself (about 10 min), so you easily be there for all or part of a day. We bought the 3 day vaporetto ACTV card which includes free bus transporation, but we normally took the train instead because it is a bit faster. When we return to Venice, we will again stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We travelled Venice in August and wanted a cheaper and comfortable place bit venice rates were too high so we decided for near by place and got to know this hotel.
Location is very good as it is accessible for both train and bus.
Rooms were ok but they need refurbishment as air conditioner was not at all cooling it was hot outside as well as in the room, we requested for cooling temperature but they said we have main system that can not be skipped below 24 degree.
So that was a minus point.
Breakfast was ok.
Can book for one night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancescoLaPietra, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Tritone, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on our Hotel Tritone on TripAdvisor. We are always ready to welcome with open arms the opinions of our guests.

Above all, I am glad to hear that our appreciated our breakfast.

I am sorry for the problems you observed during your stay here, please accept my sincere apology.

We believe that guests’ comments are increasingly important to strengthen the quality of our services. For this reason, we thank you and we will treasure of your indications.

We are honored you chose our Hotel Tritone for your stay in Venice-Mestre and we hope to see you soon to serve once more your lodging needs.

King regards,

Francesco La Pietra
Qualità e Controllo di Gestione
Hotel Tritone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tritone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tritone

Address: Near Venice Mestre Station, Viale Stazione 16, 30171 Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Mestre
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#7 Family Hotel in Mestre
#7 Business Hotel in Mestre
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tritone 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Tritone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mestre
Hotel Tritone Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tritone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.