We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for visiting Venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piave

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Piave to your Saves list
Hotel Piave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Col Moschin, 6/10, 30170 Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 64 Hotels in Mestre
1 review
“Good base for visiting Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was clean and tidy and a good base for visiting Venice.Mestre itself does not have much in the way of bars and restaurants and there is a green that you have to pass to get to the train station that undisirables seem to congregate on, but we did not have any problems.If you want a cheap place to stay for one or two nights it,s o.k.one other thing if you get the train when you buy your ticket you have to get it validated in a machine.Nobody told me and I was fined €60 by a ticket inspector

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    80
    108
    56
    57
See reviews for
46
140
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hotel is close to the bus & railway station to get to Venice, it's very clean, although the walls are very thin, the rooms are quite small and a bit run-down and the furniture is really old, spreading a strange smell (the bathroom was surprisingly large). Also the shower cabin is very small, but hot water runs immediately. A/C is also available. The breakfast was well worth the money, it included croissants, butter, jams, honey, ham, cheeses, cereals, fruit salad, juices, white and wholemeal bread, biscuits, teas, milk, yoghurt, coffe/cappuccino machine... plenty of choice! They have internet available (first 15 minutes are free) and it is available 24 hours a day in their computer room. All in all, it's a decent, clean place to sleep whilst in Venice. Also, there's a Chinese restaurant nearby and the food was great and cheap.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, Scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was here on a trip to Venice with my best friend over New Year 2011/12 and i was disgusted. It was in a really horrible area that you didn't feel safe walking in after dark. When we arrived (about 10pm due to our flight) we were booked into the wrong type of room. The guy on reception didn't have a clue where to move us to, and just started giving me random keys and made me go to several different rooms because he didn't know what type of rooms they were. They the next morning, the actual receptionist had the nerve to tell us we couldn't keep that room becuase it was booked and we were forced into two singles, which we had to pay EXTRA for!!! It was the most god awful place i've ever stayed. Even if your doing a budget holiday like us, spend the little extra cash to get something with better service and a working shower thats bigger than a cupboard!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The negative reviews caused me to be apprehensive re. this hotel. However, on arrival all staff were friendly and helpful, our room was clean, modern and a good size and the breakfast was good value. We stayed in a superior suite (by chance) and it was great. Good to be staying slightly out of Venice during peak season (it is in the red light district but frankly, who cares!). Good value overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building behind (a little more modern I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was horrified to find this hotel in the red light district! The receptionist was unhelpful and full of himself when I complianed of BED BUGS- he insisted that I was allergic to the washing powder. My stay was ruined by the paper thin walls and excessive itching of my arms and legs! YUK!

Room Tip: Find a real 3 star hotel!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Do not stay here. The hotel is old, smelly and dirty. Bathroom looked gross. It is not what you`re expecting for the price. There`s more: we have rented a 4 people room, but we couldn`t even walk around it or open our luggages. There was barely space at all. We would have taken 2 rooms if they'd told us. The owner has 2 or 3 other hotels in Mestre, it's kind of a monopoly, so he couldn`t care less about their clients. In the end, we had to leave and look to another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

With mixed reviews on here I was a little nervous about this hotel. However, we have just returned from a three night break here and I would thoroughly recommend it to others. It is cheap and cheerful but that is part of its attraction. It is outside of the hustle and bustle of Venice and with the bus stop a few hundred metres away around the corner it is extremely easy to get into Venice. The breakfast is good and the staff are constantly ensuring that it is topped up with fresh food. Staff at reception are knowledgable and we found them friendly, I think if you treat them in a friendly manner they will respond. The rooms are cleaned daily and although the room is small it is comfortable. The walls are thick, however the doors are very thin and the ceilings are low false ceilings and therefore the noise from the corridors is very clearly heard in the rooms. This would be my only criticism, but aside from this I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Piave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piave

Address: Via Col Moschin, 6/10, 30170 Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 64 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piave 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Mestre, near the railway station, Hotel Piave is the ideal solution for tourists who would like to reach Venice in a convenient manner yet have space to breathe in a Hotel with a peaceful family-run atmosphere, in a setting dominated by warm colours and where attention is paid to everything even in the tiniest of details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piave Hotel Mestre
Hotel Piave Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.