We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Stazione, 36 | near Venice-Mestre station, 30171 Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Mestre
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were a party of 3 with 2 superior rooms booked (1 double and 1 single). We were pleasantly surprised on the accomodation - rooms large and well appointed - no views as such however very quiet. Soul kitchen had good food very reasonably priced. Just across from the train station which is about 10 minutes from Venice Island (much better than having to pull your bags over cobblestones and bridges). Breakfast was reasonable, usual fare available. Highly recommended for future travellers.

Room Tip: Recommend superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    542
    131
    38
    18
See reviews for
191
530
40
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We arrived in Venice from a cruise, and chose this hotel based on the reviews, pictures, location and price. It wasn’t in Venice per se, but across the street from the train station where trains to Venice are frequent, and only 5-8 minutes away. The train station in Venice is also very convenient.

The rooms were good size, very nicely appointed, clean, bright & very quiet. Before we got to the hotel, my husband thought that we made a mistake by being outside of Venice, but he ended up being extremely happy with the choice because the room was so nice compared to hotels in Venice.

Free breakfast was excellent…if you get there close to when breakfast ended, they may have run out of things (like the chocolate croissants, but they still had other good choices). They keep replenishing, although you may have to request something, if they don’t notice. Choices include scrambled eggs, various types of meats, cheeses, pastries, breads, fruits, yogurts and more. They have a selection of coffees including cappuccino from a machine that worked well.

There is also a restaurant at the hotel which is decent, not fantastic but convenient and inexpensive.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazavenice, General Manager at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hello KCLBoston, thank you for the time you spent writing your review. I'm happy to know you enjoyed your stay at the Plaza and I hope to welcome you soon again. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel along with a few friends for three nights while visiting Italy. We could not find anything within Venice that we thought was at all reasonably priced. While we chose Hotel Plaza for the price and convenience, the hotel itself was nicer than we expected. The lobby and our room were modern, clean, and spacious, particularly the bathroom. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. I would describe the breakfast as a little below average, particularly the coffee, but there was always fruit, bread, yogurt, meat and cheese so we managed to make a decent meal out of it. The food and drink at the Soul Kitchen cafe were very good and reasonably priced.

A word on transportation. We took the ATVO non-stop express bus from the airport to the train station across the street from the hotel for 11 euro roundtrip! While it is indeed very easy to take the train into Venice from the hotel, the trains run less often later in the day. Our first night we discovered there were only three trains returning to Mestre between 11pm and 12 midnight. We were unable to purchase tickets for the return trip in the Venice train station that night - the machine would show the trains but not let us purchase tickets. We got on the train anyway, and this was of course the one and only time the conductor actually asked us for our tickets once we were on the train! He fined each of us 5 euro for not having them. It was only after that incident that we learned we could buy train tickets from the front desk of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Москва
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I rarely write critical references but I have to do it here. The most disappointing thing is indeed their breakfast. Not mentioning that you're in Italy and have certain gastronomic expectations, this is sinmply the worst breakfast I had in my entire travel history. In fact I did not have it just tried to taste what they call "coffe", "juice" and "pastry". Come on friends! It's not even about the money. Breakfast is an atmosphere thing, you need to start your vacation day with good taste and comfort! And you'll be surprised to see that folks are still queueing for this "breakfast"... Very odd feeling for a 4* hotel, very odd... We were travelling with 4 y.o. kid and it was really inconvenient to go out in the morning hungry to find better breakfast options in the city we did not know well.

Second thing is very dated rooms, broken pannels, trampled carpets etc...The location is good though, transport to all sightseeings - no problem.

Overall my family had no pleasure staying at this hotel, which was quite disappointing for our lovely Venice break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazavenice, General Manager at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you Chernox. I read your review and I just wanted to apologize to you and let you know that I'm working with my staff on an upgrade project regarding our breakfast, that is such a key aspect of a hotel stay experience. I'd love to see you again in the next future, so that you can give us your precious feedback on our.. greater breakfast at the Plaza. Take care & thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hotel Plaza is at an excellent location beside bus & train stops which are just across the street. The staff are fluent in English & extremely polite and helpful. They also sell bus & train tickets to Venice. Their breakfast was good, with a variety of food. Soul Kitchen restaurant was excellent and good value. Our room was large clean and comfortable. We arrived by train and stayed 3 nights. We travelled to and from Venice each day by train completely stress free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Plaza is right opposite the train station which takes approx 10 minutes and approx 2 Euros (return) to get to Venice Island. It cost 35 Euros for a taxi from the airport right to the door. I had a superior room and it was huge - very comfortable Queen bed and plenty of storage space as well as a comfortable chair and footstool. Everything was extremely clean and neat. The rooms are double glazed so you don't hear any noise from the train or the road. The breakfast was adequate and there were plenty of options from which to choose. The Soul Kitchen cafe on the ground floor has very good food - for 3 of us with a couple of glasses of wine and a beer it cost 70 Euro. This is a much better option than staying on Venice Island where it is more expensive and you will have to drag your suitcases up and over bridges to get to your hotel and if it rains and the streets around St Mark's flood, you will have to carry your bags over your head if you don't want them to get wet! We saw numerous tourists having to do this during our recent stay. Would definitely stay at the Plaza in the future.

Room Tip: I would definitely go for a Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is where you want to stay when visiting Venice. The hotel accomodations are excellent, moderately priced, and the location is perfect for easy movement in and out of Venice. We stayed three days prior to a cruise and found the room to be much larger than the reviews indicated. We had three large suitcases, a duffel, and two carry ons and had plenty of room in our standard room. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and accomadating. The hotel is fairly new and modern which for us provided a great deal of comfort. The breadfasts that were provided were excellent and it was evident the staff were well prepared to easily handle the numbers of people served each day. We found reasonably priced good food and wine at restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel.
The Hotel is located accross the street from the Mestre Train Station and that provides you access to Venice for about 1.2 Euro each way per person. That's cheap transportation to and from Venice, and when you walk out of the Venice train station, the view of Venice is breathtaking. We used the trains without incident for numerous trips in and out of Venice. However, do buy all your tickets at once to avoid the delay from lines that develop for ticket purchases.
Also, from the airport, you can take the bus to the Mestre train station for about 6.0 Euro each. You will need to load and unload your own luggage, but these are large buses that easily accomadate luggage dragged around by cruise passengers. The bus stop for the Mestre Train Station is only about a block from the Plaza Hotel. We made it easily, even considering we were first time visitors.
We definitely will stay at this hotel again on our next visit to Venice.

Room Tip: We reserved a standard room and found it larger than expected and very comfortable. The walkin show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Viale Stazione, 36 | near Venice-Mestre station, 30171 Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Mestre
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#13 Family Hotel in Mestre
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Mestre
Hotel Plaza Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.