We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Laguna Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH Laguna Palace to your Saves list
NH Laguna Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Ancona, 2 | Venezia Mestre, 30172 Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Mestre
GreenLeadersGold level
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I were given a free weekend at the NH Laguna Palace in Mestre. We had mixed feelings after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, since it seemed as if the quality of the stay depended on which "Tower" your room was in. When my husband contacted the hotel, all indications were that our room would be in the "undesirable" tower. However, we decided to be adventurous and went anyway.

We were lucky - our room was in the preferred tower. The check-in staff were efficient, but not overly helpful when it came to questions about how to get a bus into Venice. The "free" wi-fi in the common areas didn't work.

The carpets in the corridor outside our room was in desperate need of a clean, and the empty showcases in the corridor and common area on our floor was a curiosity...

Our room was on the first floor and was quite spacious for the both of us. We prefer firm beds, and these met the requirements perfectly. We couldn't turn on the air-conditioning to cool the room (heating was too high when we came in) and opening the window didn't help, because there wasn't much air circulation. The bathroom was small, with a shower in the bath. There was a reasonable selection of toiletries provided. The rooms were not very sound-proofed and the electronic locks operating on near-by rooms were heard rather too well.

This was our first time in Italy, with the lack of English television channels, and watching "Armageddon" in Italian was extremely entertaining.

Breakfast was a definite highlight of the stay. We tend to wake early and so we got to breakfast soon after the service started. The selection is amazing: cereals, breads, eggs, cold meats, fruit, yoghurt, a selection of fresh juices, gluten-free items and even chocolate mousse!

The nearest bus stop to take a public bus into Venice was about 800 m away from the hotel. I'm posting directions to the nearest bus stop at the end of this review, because it was almost impossible for us to find where the nearest bus stop was.

There are about 3 restaurants (1 sushi, 1 italian, 1 pizza) very close to the hotel.

Check-out was smooth.


Directions to nearest bus stop (on Viale San Marco)

Leave the hotel lobby and turn right onto Viale Ancona heading towards Viale Forte Marghera - a major road.
Continue across Viale Forte Marghera and turn right onto Viale San Marco. Walk for about 400 m to the bus stop.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the same tower as where breakfast is served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    330
    201
    105
    64
See reviews for
123
230
36
315
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I have spent just one night in this hotel mid december: the room was clean with a good bed, the basic needs for a business use were available: quite, internet connection, fast serving meals, guidance and information from front desk, etc. the neibourghood is not great for dining outside the hotel. This was my first NH experience. I took the loyalty card.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel in low season, when the prices are bellow 100€.
I know vey well the nh chain as often stay in their properties.
The hotel is set into very modern arquitecture building with office spaces and a small laguna within Mestre, a suburb of Venice.
Going around is quite a journey but regular bus service to Venice old town is within walking distance.
The staff is too easy going and do not care much about guests.
Nice common areas with free wifi through them.
Rooms are bellow everage and do not have anything to do with nh design.
Dated, ugly, with worn carpet and dark.
Bathroom ok.
Breakfast is very good with lots of varieties. However once the time of closing is due, they quickly remove everything!
Need a quick refurbishment and far too overpriced and overrated.
I would give this hotel 2* only.

Nh managemen should have a look into this hotel as does not meet nh standards.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I recently stayed here and i can tell you that the service from the front desk is horrendous. It is almost like you are bothering them with questions. I am a pretty easy going person and do not get offended easily but this hotel ran out my patience. I use the internet for business purposes and i got kicked off three diferent times in 24 hours. When i asked the front desk about it, they said for me to call their contract company that handles internet and deal with them. I told her that it represents your company and that you should deal with it. She just smiled at me and said no.

As far as the rooms go, the rooms are descent. I travel for business so i often stay in 4 or 5 star hotels. This is definitely not a four or five star. The lack of circulation in the rooms is suffocating. Also the breakfast is average. There are a few nice restaurants within walking distance as well as a grocery store. Also, the fitness room is a small room that they just threw a cycling machine and a nautilus equipment and called it a fitness room.

I sincerely hope they improve their mannerisms in the front desk. There was an airline crew staying there and i saw the receptionist roll her eyes at one of the flight attendants. Really unprofessional.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potenza, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I got to the NH laguna after an on line booking and an excellent rate for a 4 stars hotel.
Arriving there by local transport, very efficient, the first view was quite impressing, two buildings in Cristall and still, with a "darsena " a dock for small yachts in the middle, covered by a gigantic roof that connects the two buildings, also in glass and still.
The hall, the reception, the restaurant hall confirm this first impact.
The room I was offered, was also very large, with a leaving space, a wardrobe, a very spacious bathroom full of marbles and stainless still. The next morning the breakfast was very rich and the service kind and attentive.
Unfortunately a few details throw a light shadow of sloppiness on the otherwise very luxurious scene and service. The stains of detergents on the bathroom floor, the broken TV set, the empty showcases of luxury brands in the aisles, the restaurant, that was so busy with an event that could pay little attention to ordinary clients for lunch.
In short, if you go for business to Mestre or Venezia, It's your perfect choice. If you go to Venice for some romance, then, well, you might find more "charming" alternatives.

Room Tip: ask for a room that looks to the Darsena, the only sight that is valuable there, the neighbourhood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Hotel beautiful, the room is clean the staff is helpful and you will feel really well there.
There is a marina under the hotel and from your room will see all the boats. They have a shuttle to Venice but the time is not good, if you want you have to take the bus and go whenever you feel like it.
The problem is that the hotel if far from here you take the bus is a 20 minutes walk from it and you don’t have other way to get there only walking.
The breakfast is good but you have to arrive early because when is about 1 hours to finish they begin not to renew what is served and if you ask for more they will bring you but they will nor refill it. (This was the only reason why this hotel is not excellent)
You have 2 buildings with no connection between then and the time for the breakfast is not the same so when you going to book, chose the one that has the breakfast time that you will have it.
The shower is great but they don’t have a tub.
I stayed 3 days and enjoy really much.
Try the banana candy they give at the front desk is really good.
Bacal

Room Tip: You have 2 buildings with no connection between then and the time for the breakfast is not the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

it is not too bad. It is nothing more than a place to spend the night and not overpay for it. It will not be in you memories as something great. On the other hand there so much beauty in Italy and particularly in Venice that it is not a big deal. I will tell you that nothing really wrong with this hotel, but if you can afford it, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Laguna Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Laguna Palace

Address: Viale Ancona, 2 | Venezia Mestre, 30172 Mestre, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Mestre
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#13 Business Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Laguna Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Laguna Palace hotel in Venice is characterized by its attractive contemporary design, great location in the city, and top-quality service and amenities. The hotel's conference center is a point of reference for business professionals. The hotel itself is made up of two main buildings, linked together by a flat and transparent glass roof. This splendid architecture makes the NH Laguna Palace hotel one of the largest covered structures in Europe. A marina sits between the two hotel buildings, offering water access to the canals that take you straight into the heart of Venice. Guests at the NH Laguna Palace hotel can comfortably reach Saint Mark's Square and water taxis may dock right at the hotel. NH Laguna Palace is a charming and enchanting destination, as well as the perfect to relax and have a drink in the summer. Elegance and sobriety are combined in this unique hotel, making it the ideal base for both business travelers and tourists. The NH Laguna Palace hotel benefits from a highly privileged location, a mere 15-minute drive from the Venice Marco Polo Airport and only 5 minutes from the Mestre railway station. If you want to spend a charming and relaxing stay near Venice, NH Laguna Palace is the perfect choice to reach this romantic city. The historical city center of Venice is just 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, NHHotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Laguna Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Laguna Palace Hotel Mestre
Nh Laguna Palace Venice
Laguna Suites
Nh Laguna Palace Hotel Venice
NH Laguna Palace Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Laguna Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.