We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should rather be awarded 2 stars than 4!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of NH Laguna Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH Laguna Palace to your Saves list
NH Laguna Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Ancona, 2 | Venezia Mestre, 30172 Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Mestre
GreenLeadersGold level
Yvelines, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Should rather be awarded 2 stars than 4!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed one night for business purposes in this hotel. You have to be aware that you have to walk to the second building to reach half of the rooms: very nice when it rains!! Room was large and bathroom was pretty nice and high level. Furnitures were from another century. TV was the smallest avalaible on the market, no flat screen and it was not possible to watch it from the bed! Breakfast was OK and meeting accomodation was OK. In order to give a positive brief, I must admit that the receptionist was efficient at time of check-in and check-off.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    330
    200
    105
    64
See reviews for
123
230
35
315
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for one night on return from Venice. Very close to the airport. The hotel was very bland, no tmosphere. The staff were buisness like and efficient but no rapport with the guests. The breakfast was in another building and was the worst breakfast i had ever had in europe.
I would never stay here again.
The rooms where very big, and the bathroom was clean and had all the toiletries needed. Just a very clinical boring building.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you don't want to have a morning walk before your breakfast, I strongly suggest you to not stay in this hotel. Their receptionist / roomkeeping service is non-existent. e.g I had to phone their receptionist 5 times to request for extra pillows, they told me they were coming but they never came.

Room Tip: Unless you're travelling into Venice, this is really not one of the best value for money hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked a room and were confirmed in building A. When we arrived we were told all reservations were confirmed as "A" but really we were in "B" and would have to pay extra to stay in "A' . Resigned to that we tried to check in but were told we had to check in over in "B". and that breakfast was only served in "A". The room in "B" was pretty spartan with a small tv. There was a table with one chair (see photo) There were two small bathrooms. The caulking job in them was laughable and it appeared the worker ran out of caulking or was too short to reach the top section. Some mould was present in the shower.
The 25 walk from the Mestre station is not recommended with luggage. A taxi will cost 13 euros for a 7 minute drive There was lots of construction and the sidewalks were in disrepair. The area is somewhat industrial
Breakfast was quite good but since there were tour groups staying there timing was everything.
On checkout I noticed that a transfer for a ten minute drive to the airport would cost 35 euros from building "B" but 32 euros from Building "A". The receptionist at building "B" was unaware that the hotel offered this service and kindly offered to call us a cab.
She then proceeded to charge me for the room although I had paid in advance. After some discussion she called her manager who told her I would have to pay taxes on the room although those had been paid too. She told me I could not have paid taxes in advance and was quite aggressive, When I went to my luggage to show her my receipt she told me I was free to go.
The transfer service was with Venice one and was professional and efficient. I would not recommend this hotel if you want hassle free service, ambiance and internet.

Room Tip: Pick a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Because my travel agent made a mistake with my original hotel reservation, we ended up at the NH Laguna Palace. The taxi dropped us off at the main door, where we were informed that we were staying at the other "tower." We found out that the towers are not interconnected and had to walk the equivalent of two blocks, with suitcases, to the other entrance. There is no porter service to help with luggage. Got to the other door to find an overworked desk agent up in arms because the computer system was down. She could not check anybody in, saying that the failure was all over the NH hotels. When we finally got into the room, several hours later, the smell of cigarette smoke was unbearable. To make matters worse, the room looked like a cheap, very cheap, road side motel, including burned carpets and table top, spartan furnishings and a tiny TV - actually, the size of the TV didn't matter because it was placed in an impossible place to watch. The shower stall was dirty and stained and only had two pieces of soap big enough for half a shower. Breakfast is only served in one building, which means that you have to walk the equivalent of two blocks to eat mediocre food. To top off the terrible facilities and service, the hotel is located in an extremely inconvenient place, far from everything. I would honestly prefer to stay at the Bates Motel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

NH Laguna has a really cool exterior design, incorporating a dock between the two main towers of the building. It looks very modern and chic. But don't just a book by its cover ...
The rooms in the group side of the hotel ... at least, I assume the hotel is divided between a group side and an individual side ... are spartan in furnishings and decoration – very unappealing. The electrical system is very confusing and inefficient – turning off lights seems to be a matter of pushing all the switches you can find until the lights go off! There was evidence in some of the rooms we saw of electrical overloads.
The dinners prepared for our group were very good – nice offerings. The breakfast set-up was chaotic and very inefficient – very overcrowded breakfast room, poorly laid out, inadequate access to the food, and one coffee machine for the entire dining area.
The front desk staff were helpful in trying to accommodate some requests, although addressing maintenance issues within rooms seemed non-extistent. Wait staff were very good – interactive, did their best to satisfy the group’s needs.
The location is only good as a sleeping place before heading into Venice. The hotel was near nothing of interest, so made any evening sojourns pointless.
I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

NH is not a bad hotel chain but this hotel is terrible. I travel roughly 120 days a year and this was the worst of all.
Two disconnected buildings; sleeping in one and breakfast in the other having to walk outside.
The bedroom is almost empty. The television is minute and behind a useless (and I mean it because it can't be opened) piece of furniture.
The toilet has platic (and broken) furnishing.
And last but not least, a whopping 128Kb internet connection.
Oh, I forgot... it is a 15 mins drive to get to Piazza Roma or 5 mins drive to the train station. Sure you can catch a boat in the harbor between the two buildings, but it isn't your cheapest option!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Laguna Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Laguna Palace

Address: Viale Ancona, 2 | Venezia Mestre, 30172 Mestre, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Mestre
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#13 Business Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Laguna Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Laguna Palace hotel in Venice is characterized by its attractive contemporary design, great location in the city, and top-quality service and amenities. The hotel's conference center is a point of reference for business professionals. The hotel itself is made up of two main buildings, linked together by a flat and transparent glass roof. This splendid architecture makes the NH Laguna Palace hotel one of the largest covered structures in Europe. A marina sits between the two hotel buildings, offering water access to the canals that take you straight into the heart of Venice. Guests at the NH Laguna Palace hotel can comfortably reach Saint Mark's Square and water taxis may dock right at the hotel. NH Laguna Palace is a charming and enchanting destination, as well as the perfect to relax and have a drink in the summer. Elegance and sobriety are combined in this unique hotel, making it the ideal base for both business travelers and tourists. The NH Laguna Palace hotel benefits from a highly privileged location, a mere 15-minute drive from the Venice Marco Polo Airport and only 5 minutes from the Mestre railway station. If you want to spend a charming and relaxing stay near Venice, NH Laguna Palace is the perfect choice to reach this romantic city. The historical city center of Venice is just 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Laguna Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Laguna Palace Hotel Mestre
Nh Laguna Palace Venice
Laguna Suites
Nh Laguna Palace Hotel Venice
NH Laguna Palace Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Laguna Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.