We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for visiting Venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Costanza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Costanza to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Costanza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Monte Nero, 25, 30171 Mestre, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Mestre
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel for visiting Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights when visiting Venice. The hotel itself is very nice and modern. All rooms are very modern, clean and luxurious and very quiet (very important since I'm a light sleeper). Service and staff were super friendly and helpful, especially with explanations on how to get to and from Venice. Breakfast was also really nice with a large variety of choices. Hotel does not have parking, but plenty of places to park on the streets nearby (hotel is in a residential area).

Great location - since all the hotels located in the actual island of Venice are extremely expensive, we wanted a hotel that was very close to the train station right outside of the Island. The hotel is located about 7 minutes (walking distance) from the Mestre train station, and the train ride is another 10 minutes. So it would take us about 20 minutes to get and out of Venice island. The only setback about the location is that the neighbourhood we'd walk by on the way to the train station isn't the nicest and at night didn't feel that secure, although nothing to worry about and didn't bother us at all.

The hotel did not feel like a 3 star hotel, but more like a 4 star hotel. We'll definitely come back here when visiting Venice again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    118
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
94
231
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have been meaning to write this review for some time. I stayed here in July 2012 for three nights with my sister and folks ore cruise out of Venice. We took a cab from the Venice Airport (about 40E) straight to the hotel. (It is also very doable to take the bus to the train station and walk). The property is clean and bright from the outside and very easy to find. Check in was very easy. The rooms also did not disappoint. Our bathroom was huge. Our rate included breakfast, which was also excellent. We booked in Mestre as we wanted less hassle, more value, and a quiet hotel, which we definately got. We took the train to Venice one day, and to Pauda the next. We had Monica (who was very sweet) arrange for a van to take us right to the port -- about 50E -- it could not have been any easier. Our only complaints were minor -- one was that the air con could have been a little colder and two -- we wish there had been outdoor space to enjoy a bottle of wine. Overall, though, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights before our cruise. This hotel is located on a quiet street in a residential area. We felt very safe, even in the evenings.The hotel was recently renovated, and our room was very clean and comfortable, with a very nice bathroom. Our room was on the 1st floor, but very quiet. Breakfast was great, and offered alot of options. Small fridge in the room, with complimentary bottled water. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Close to the bus stop, there is a grocery store.

We purchased a 3 day vaporetto pass, which also included the city bus from Mestre to Venice. The bus stop is 1 block away from hotel, and takes 20 minutes to Venice. Once in Venice, just hop on the vaporetto. Very easy.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurgau
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you're approaching Venice by car we can absolutely recommend to stay in Mestre - and there the Villa Costanza is the place to be! Perfectly located at some 200 meters from the railway station - and from there it's a 12 minutes ride into Venice. The hotel staff is extremely helpful and has a lot of valuable recommendations ready. The rooms are nice, the car safe in the backyard or in a garage. Excellent value for price! There is no swimming pool - but hey, that's not what you come to Venice for, is it?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had 4 nights here mid october. The room was lovely and the staff are friendly. Breakfast was filling and there was a good range of food.
The bus stop to Venice is 2 mins walk away. Its a bit of a walk into the middle of Mestre. The hotel is in a residential area and there are few nice restaurants nearby if you don't spend the evening in Venice. We would use it again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limassol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stay here if you are travelling to Venice by car (there is parking) or if you do not want to spend a fortune on accomodation on the island. The rooms are basic (but comfortable in size) and clean. It felt more like we had rented a room rather than stayed in a hotel but it did what it was supposed to do.

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor (room next to the door), easier to get the things in and out of the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Okay, so you're not in Venice proper, but who cares when you've got a staff to care for you like they have at the Hotel Villa Costanza. What's right? The people who work there, the rooms, the price and the location. The bathroom was also very nice so nice I need to mention it.

You're within a few blocks of the train station with quick (and cheap) access to Venice and a jumping off point for places like Murano and Burano. Definitely would recommend this hotel for those people who aren't afraid for a bit of adventure on the bus or train into Venice. And yes, riding both is quite the adventure. Having stayed both in and outside of Venice, I'd now definitely stay in Mestre.

When I started to look for a place to stay for 2 nights at the starting off point for our trip to Croatia, it was becoming impossible. We were renting a car in Venice and flying into Italy because it was just more convenient. All the B&Bs and hotels wanted a guaranteed 2 nights. We were flying to Venice as our jumping off point so agreed to spend one day there looking around. Hotel Villa Costanza was willing to rent to us for 2 nights - Friday and Saturday.

Really can't say enough about the staff. During our 2+ weeks in Europe in September these folks were the best - absolutely the best. In fact when we left the young lady who ran the desk said she was so sad. And you know what? I believe her. You won't go wrong by staying there.

Room Tip: Hotel is on a very quiet street. We had the window open and were awaken by the church bells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Costanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Costanza

Address: Via Monte Nero, 25, 30171 Mestre, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mestre
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#9 Business Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Costanza 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Costanza is a boutique hotel, one of the few hotels classed as a superior three-star. It stands 250 metres from the railway station of Venezia-Mestre,creating a welcoming, relaxing ambiance in a valuable nineteenth-century building,restored with ancient materials with a wide car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Costanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Costanza Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Costanza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.