We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small neighborhood gem for Saturday night date” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moro Restaurant

Moro Restaurant
Via Piave 192, 30171 Mestre, Italy
041.926431
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 252 Restaurants in Mestre
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Small neighborhood gem for Saturday night date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Yesterday, I was advised by the hotel staff in mestre to try Moro on Via Piave and it is about less than 5 min walk from Mestre Station. We were extremely lucky to be seated in the only available table as other tables were either unavailable or reserved. Other customers that came in after us were politely declined or asked to come later.

My wife and I ordered artichoke salad, steak tartare, and Herb raviole with wild herb sauce. Artichoke salad was the most simplest (artichoke and a thin slice of cheese) delicious salad we've tasted so far in our one day trip in Venice. For the steak tartare, the chef comes out of the kitchen to make the tartare in front of you. Amazing dish as well. We ordered a small bottle of chianti for two and it ended a perfect dinner at this small neighborhood but highly professional restaurant. Complimenti al cuocore (which my waitor gladly informed the chef) and the staff were extremely friendly. We will come again on our next stay in mestre.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    111
    19
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent spaghettie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I know this was Italy but wow the dishes were amazing. The staff were polite and efficient but discreet. The prices were reasonable. Would definitely go there again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Go and enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Small, extremely tasty, family run place, you can taste traditional venetians receipts and local wines

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very Good local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We went twice on brief stay in Mestre. Classic venetian dishes, simply presented, good quality ingredients. Really interesting starters-artichoke and parmesan salad, lardo and honey on toast good mains as well-liver venetian style, bacalao stew etc. Good choice of wine -inexpensive 1/2 bottles and good red in a carafe of varying sizes. Friendly service- overall not flash, just good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“The Best in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A nice welcome on arrival and a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The tables were well laid and an appertising smallish menu set the scene. The service was good, and the food delicious. The house wine was excellent. We greatly enjoyed our meal and the bill for such a pleasant evening was a welcome surprise - 13 euros ahead with wine.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moro Restaurant also viewed

Mestre, City of Venice
Mestre, City of Venice
 
Mestre, City of Venice
Favaro Veneto, Mestre
 

Been to Moro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moro Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.