We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outlet Sweet Venice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Outlet Sweet Venice to your Saves list
Outlet Sweet Venice
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Aleardo Aleardi 164/a, 30100 Mestre, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 60 Mestre B&B and Inns
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed in Outlet Sweet for 3 nights in June. Its 5 min to the train station and 2 min to the bus station. Its easy commute to and from Venice.

Spent almost an hour with Mauricio during check-in. He gave fantastic advices on where to eat, what to do in Venice. We went to Hostaria Vite Rossa for lunch per his recommendation and it turned out to be the best meal we had in the trip! 10 Euro for fresh lobster black-ink spaghetti. Unbelievable value for money.

The room itself is clean, quiet and spacious. No complaint about it. The only issue we had was with Mestre. Its easy to communite to Venice. However, once you arrive at Venice, you have to take the water taxi to St. Marco or walk an hour under the sun. The water taxi is crowded, unreliable, and expensive. Once you add the water taxi costs up, you may be better off staying in Venice.

Mestre is dead at night. We tried to go back to Vite Rossa for dinner a couple of times and it was closed both nights! We endded with pizza at the bar cross street from the hotel. I ordered a paparonni pizza. When it came, it has 2 giant slices of raw green pepper on it and no meat. The owner told me paparonni in Italian means pepper!

On the other hand, Mestre is more convenient if you want to travel to Padova or Milan by train.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    85
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
116
280
26
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was my second trip to Venice but I wanted to stay off the islands since we were driving in from Germany. Outlet Sweet Venice allowed us to park in the fenced yard. Just three blocks to the bus and another ten minutes to the bus station on island. Mauricio gave us invaluable advice to purchase a combo bus/vaporetto pass that saved us time and money. It was a budget decision that turned into a great decision. Rooms were clean, neat, supplied and easy live in. We had great communication before we arrived and while we were there. It was the Best choice ever for Venice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We recently stayed at Outlet Sweet Venice and just loved it! This is not just a room, it's an apartment! Such a nice, clean place. The owners went above and beyond to answer our questions, they even gave us a map of Venice and mapped out our route! We saw Venice through their eyes, not the eyes of a tourist. This B&B is very close to the train station, bus and some of the best cafes we ate at! I highly recommend Outlet Sweet Venice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Like choosing seats for a ball game. Some like to be right down on the field as close as possible. Others like to view from afar, where you can better see the plays developing and have a great perspective of the stadium. And keeping to this analogy, you spend a fortune for the field boxes but get much more for your money in the bleachers.

Whatever. This is a terrific place, comfy two-room suites available, clean as a whistle, well managed, spectacular service and lots of real, personal help if you should need it from the host couple. You won't feel out of place there, more like you are staying with distant relatives who are ready and able to lend a hand with advice, phone calls to doctors, tips on what to do and where not to bother, and so on.

Very short walk to the bus stop (and the train station). Rather scenic and not uninteresting ride on the roadway bridge over into Marco Polo Island with only a couple of quick stops en route. A breeze, really. You get a great feel for the regular inhabitants and for the surrounding area. You can buy a multi-day transportation pass at a convenience store nearby that gets you rides on the bus and on the canal boats, too, and with the ticket you jump on and off the boats wherever you want. The ticket is good on the boats up to all the islands. A bargain.

Actually, there are very decent places to have a meal close to the hotel in case you are caught out late and don't dine in Venice. Although we didn't use it, the place has satellite television with all the stations you could ever want, including those from the USA and the UK. The internet connect is free and fast and when we were there flawless.

Two complaints, so to speak, to balance off this review: the bar across the street can get a little rowdy (noise, not dangerous) but this does not by any means occur every night, and if and when it does, the commotion dies down, i.e., it doesn't persist for long periods of time, and/or someone in the neighborhood complains and those hanging outside are chased away. And the breakfast really isn't anything. Just some packaged bread and cereal. Conveniently available, though, with milk and cold beverages (extra cost) in a fridge and on shelf tray in the room.

I labored over the decision to stay in Mestre, not having been to Venice before. I didn't have any conception about what it might be like. For Americans I can say it is much more convenient to Marco Polo Island than Brooklyn is to Manhattan. I can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else, especially not in Venice center where, IMO, you pay spectacularly high prices and get far, far less than you do at this place. On the other hand, as I said, to each his own. Enjoy Venice either way!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Owner was extremely hospitable. Not only did he make our stay at his b&b exemplary, he gave us recommendations on restaurants and attractions in Venice. My girlfriend and I would have been completely lost in Venice without his advice and direction. Helped to make Venice an incredible experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Stopped at this B&B based on trip advisor reports and can't really fault, very helpful host who provided maps and options to get to Venice which is about 2 klm's away by car or bus. We had a two bedroom apartment which also had a dining room and lounge room, very clean free wi-fi and a nespresso machine. On site secure parking and air conditioning as well. Only down side would be breakfast which is basically some corn flakes and sweet toast/ bread with juice located in room. Otherwise you are dry close to the island of Venice if you don't want to stay there, parking of car is about $30 euro for the day regardless of how long you park if you take a bus then vaperreto it costs about $18 euro per person. This is a great stopover but be aware in a more working class area with minimal eating establishments, we did find a good place nearby however. I would highly recommend this B&B for a Venice stopover about 1:20 drive from Milan.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Enjoyed the stay just outside Venice in the B&B. While the breakfast is sufficient it is basic and very Italian(sweat) but a lovely Nespresso coffee maker is available. Not far from the bus stop used to get into Venice is a Supermarket which caters for all your needs and a laundry close by. If you buy the Venive pass it is also valid on all the busses and water transport in Venise Mestre and Lido. Don't leave too little time for Lido which is a quaint beach holiday town with lots to do and a good young vibe.

Room Tip: We were advised to stay out of the big cities and commute in but if I did it again I would opt for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outlet Sweet Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outlet Sweet Venice

Address: Via Aleardo Aleardi 164/a, 30100 Mestre, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Outlet Sweet Venice 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Outlet Sweet Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outlet Sweet Venice Hotel Mestre
Outlet Sweet Venice Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outlet Sweet Venice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.