We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Italian classic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Menaggio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Menaggio to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Menaggio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via IV Novembre 77, 22017 Menaggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An Italian classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

This ageing hotel is still a beautiful place to stay. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The lake views are unbeatable, from the room or the pool. They were very accommodating of our baby's needs and in a typically Italian way made a fuss of him. Close to the quiet village of Menaggio and right next to the ferry that takes you the length of Como, so it couldn't be better positioned. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    174
    55
    22
    14
See reviews for
41
218
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed for just one night at short notice and thought that the staff here were very nice.
The hotel itself is very clean and had everything we needed.
Top marks, however, go to the restaurant. They had a fixed menu and a la carte. We went for a la carte so can't comment on the fixed menu. In a nutshell - wow! The food and wine were absolutely fabulous and at a very reasonable price indeed.
The prices charged appeared generally much lower than you'd expect for a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We spent the second week of a two centre Inghams package at the GHM and at first we were disappointed after our wonderful week at the Grand Hotel Bristol in Stresa. This is a smaller, more intimate, hotel and it grew on us during the week. As others have said, the setting right on the lake is its unique selling point. We paid a hefty supplement for the lake view which was gorgeous but no balcony and not a very large window. Room nicely decorated,comfortable and reasonable size , but tiny bathroom (shower only). The food was pretty good although I suffered a bit being on a gluten free diet unlike at the Bristol. We did not have trouble with the night- time noise from next door - not quite sure why. Having a table outside at breakfast was lovely (but difficult to get) and the dining room has lovely lake views and big windows. Very elegant lounge overlooking the pool/lake but it got very crowded when the rain came down, which it did a few times during the week. Great location for ferry, views of Menaggio centre, etc. We highly recommend Varenna, and Villas Melzi , Balbianello and Monastero. Como a disappointment. And the brass band in Menaggio main square was great fun! A very good week ,despite disappointing weather and Lake Como is just stunning. Menaggio a good base and far less crowded than Bellagio.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We had booked this hotel for a mini-honeymoon following our wedding on Lake Garda and, having stayed in the magnificently modern Casa Barca in Malcesine, we elected to go for something more traditional and grand on Lake Como - and a lakeside position was a must. Travelling across from Varenna with our car on the ferry, there can be no denying that the Menaggio does indeed look very grand from the lake, so we were suitably impressed. The hotel is right next to the ferry port (a fact that has clearly been a problem for some people, but we quite enjoyed the bustle), so we drove straight into the car park and into a space - this was fortunate, as the car park is generally full to bursting, at which point you have to entrust your car to the valet's, who keep the keys in a tatty old shoebox! Quite surprising when you had thousands of pounds' worth of automobile sitting there (incl. Lambo's and Porsche's!).

Upon being shown to our Superior Lake View room we were at once amazed by the view, but also disappointed that we had no balcony. Instead we had a very large window with a glass guard to prevent you falling out. We enquired about the possibility of moving to a room with a balcony, and were told this would cost another c.€500 for the week. As it was our honeymoon, we would've been willing to go for it, but as it turned out the room was on the lower floor and had NO view of the lake whatsoever (hidden behind some trees and a wall!). So we kept what we had, saved a lot of money, and after a bit got used to having no balcony and just enjoyed the spectacular views on offer.

The hotel swimming pool is very nice, right on the lake edge, although with Menaggio being on the West side of the lake, you lose the sunshine pretty quickly in the afternoon, so picking the sunbeds nearest the lake is a good idea - the ones in front of the pool behind the jetty lose the sun at around 5pm. Nice pool, always fairly empty, although you have to beware the sunbed hoggers - and no, it wasn't the Germans, but an English couple who were guilty of occupying their beds with towels all day, without actually being there for more than 10 minutes in the morning. Shameful!

Breakfast in the hotel was ok, nothing special, and the coffee I have to say was a major disappointment. You just expect far better in Italy. Overall, I can understand why some on here have said the Grand Hotel is not a 4 Star hotel, as it is looking fairly dated and tired in places, and has a very old school feel to it. But that is perhaps it's charm, and as for the 4 Stars, well you only have to look at the view to understand why they have those - it really is worth the entrance fee!

As for Menaggio itself, the town is very pretty, but you must visit the 'old' part of town to really appreciate it, so steer yourself away from the lakeside and head up the alleyways for a real piece of Italy. In terms of the number of restaurants, we were quite disappointed, but we found some gems in the centre, and the small cafe/bar on the corner as you walk from the hotel towards town is fantastic, with great service, lovely food, and brilliant views out the back. Overall I would say Menaggio is a great place to visit, but perhaps for 4 or 5 days rather than a week, as the lack of many restaurants lets it down a little.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Just returned from a week here and I would thoroughly recommend it but would not advise anyone to go looking for a chain hotel four star experience. The hotel is 19th century and doesn't seem to have been altered much, it is a lovely building and the reception, lounge, bar and one of the restaurants all look to have their original features in place. The location is both breathtaking and very practical. It's right on the lake front looking across to Varenna and Bellagio, next to the boat dock making day trips simple and just away from the village centre so quiet at night. It would be understandable if the staff relied on the charm of the building and the beauty of the location to keep customers happy but the standard of service was uniformly excellent from everyone we encountered. There were negatives; our room was neither particularly large or spectacularly well apppointed although it was very clean, perfectly comfortable and more than adequate for our needs. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and good quality but had a lot less choice than I've got used to in European holiday hotels. Drinks in the bar were quite expensive and the restaurant prices were high compared to other local places. I didn't miss the absence of wi-fi, international TV or room service on this trip but you would maybe expect a four star hotel to provide them. With all that taken into account I would still be very happy to return here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Travelled with my wife and another couple. We had booked a room overlooking the lake but unfortunately the room looked a little tired so I complained but to their credit gave us another room on floor 2 which obviously had been upgraded. The view was fantastic, right on the waters edge and close to the ferry landings which was very convenient to travel to the other beautiful villages close by.
Taking breakfast outside on the terrace was wonderful and the restaurant food was second to none.
Accomodation is a little pricey but only to be expected in such a location.
An easy walk into the centre of menaggio where there are some lovely bars and restaurants.
I would certainly return !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the GHM. We were very pleased with the location however, due to its close proximity to the boat service it was at times very noisy. There was also a nearby pub/club which played very loud music into the early hours, which meant that sleep was disturbed every night. We were very disappointed with the staff at the hotel, they were not welcoming and did not freely give us any information about the hotel or amenities. It was nice to be offered a table on the first evening on the terrace which was a perfect location, however the food was expensive but average. The room was clean and the maid service good. Towel free sunbeds were hard to find (very annoying and frustrating when towels are left for long periods) and there were many which remained in the shade which meant there was competition for the better spots at certain times of the day.
Bar staff lacked character and there was only entertainment on one evening, however the excellent location and relaxing setting meant this was not necessarily a problem.
The local town is good and within easy walking distance, however there are only a few restaurants which become very busy and it is difficult to get a table unless you book. Overall we had a lovely holiday but the hotel needs improve in many areas.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Menaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Menaggio

Address: Via IV Novembre 77, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Menaggio 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Menaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menaggio Grand Hotel
Menaggio Hotel Grand
Grand Hotel Menaggio Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Menaggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.