We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite up to scratch - make sure to test fittings before you unpack!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Menaggio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Menaggio to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Menaggio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via IV Novembre 77, 22017 Menaggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not quite up to scratch - make sure to test fittings before you unpack!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have just returned from this hotel. Cannot fault the restaurant staff, food in the al la carte restaurant (didn't try the other) and the general amenities HOWEVER I neglected to try all the fittings in the room before unpacking - 1st mistake. Spa bath did not work, told 'technician had been informed' but no one turned up before we left 9 days later. Shower was attachment that had to be pulled out of bath so floor got extremely wet and slippery if care not taken. So bath with 'lumps' in bottom (defunct spa vents!) not the most pleasurable experience without the bubbles. Would have asked for another room but by the time we had unpacked everything could not face repacking! Not good enough for a four star hotel!! Breakfast ok but coffee dreadful - ended up going down the road every morning to buy our coffee - again, not good enough for a 4 star Pool and surroundings very pleasant, bar ok but drinks pricey (no surprise) compared with local hostelries. Convenient for trips by ferry and bus.

Room Tip: Always inspect room amenities first and ask for room on higher floors - view restricted on 1st floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    177
    55
    23
    14
See reviews for
42
222
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel is right on the lakeside with views across to Varenna and next to the ferry terminal for lake excursions. The room we had was very comfortable and spacious with a good sized bathroom, but without tea making facilitles (standard in Italy apparently). The staff were without exception friendly and helpful and both breakfast and dinner were held in the restaurant where the doors could be fully opened so we seemed to be eating in the garden. The food was extremely good and the wines not overly expensive. The lounge was large and comfortable and led into the garden with a small swimming pool. Average age of clientele was over 60 but we will definitely return another year.

Room Tip: Request a high floor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

First visit to Italian Lakes. Enjoyed every minute. Riviera Travel to be congratulated on organization, value for money and knowledgeable guide(Julia Scanlon) Grand Hotel Menaggio just as we expected. Old world charm, lovely cuisine, nicely served. Silver teapots and silver cutlery at breakfast with open air garden/lake views will stay a lovely memory for a long time. Yes everyone can find fault, roadside rooms can be a little noisy. But speak up maybe the hotel staff can move you. Some folk want 5* luxury for 3* prices its not always about the money. Enjoy the lovely small town square 5 min (flat) walk away the gellato is delicious!

Room Tip: Higher floor = better view/quietier
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

very disappointed we had paid quite a lot extra for a lake view and balcony only to find we had a Juliet balcony.

swimming pool was not heated so risked a heart attack if you did swim, and sun loungers were the most uncomfortable ever sat in, if you were lucky enough to get one only had twenty six for the whole hotel.

agree with a previous review about staff smiling not the friendliest of staff but one off the bell staff was very friendly rest of staff could learn from him (he had lovely curly hair & wears glasses)

food at dinner was of a good quality but very small portions, not so impressed with breakfast if you arrived after nine am not much on offer did not seem to restock. one morning waited over 10 minutes for them to replace there rather fatty bacon.

furniture in lounge area could do with replacing you sunk to the floor in all of the seats not good if you had a bad back, and most of cliental were very elderly.

pillows and bed rock hard so not good for a good nights sleep.

the ferry could be quite fuming and hotel was very close so could be over powering.

Room Tip: pay a lot extra for superior room and balcony or stay at lake maggorrie where one of the guides said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a lovely hotel, with a beautiful old world charm lobby and outdoor area facing the lake. We had a nice room with a street view, and although it was noisy with the window open, it was very quiet with the window closed. Our room was of good size and was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, and we enjoyed it outside overlooking the beautiful grounds and lake. Most of the employees were very pleasant and friendly, especially a particular jovial bellman (I’m sorry, I don’t remember his name – but every time he saw us, he hollered “San Diego!”, even when he passed us while driving his car in town one day!)

There are two restaurants at the hotel - La Veranda and Clio. On our first night there, we chose to go to Clio because it seemed a little nicer, was intimate and quiet, and we liked the items on the menu. The ambience of the room was lovely, romantic, and the food was very good. Our only complaint was with the unfriendliness of the waiter. A little smile and friendliness to people who are spending money at your establishment goes a long way. But… having said that, maybe he was just having a bad day.

On our day of departure, the hotel abruptly turned off the water without warning guests. Luckily, we had gotten up early and had finished our showers just in time. My husband went to use the bathroom sink and found that the water was not working. No one had called us to warn us that it was going to be turned off, or to advise that it had been turned off and when we could expect it to be turned back on. We later learned that it was a scheduled shut off for the entire hotel. This could have been a terrible situation for us since we were traveling that day, and I imagine it was for others who, unlike us, weren’t able to take showers that morning. My suggestion to the hotel would be to either warn guests prior to a water shut-off, and if you are unable to do that in an emergency situation, at least notify them as soon as you are aware of it.

Another issue we had, that was not the fault of the hotel, was that the bus stop that we needed to get to in order to travel to Lugano, Switzerland, was a bit too far for us to haul our luggage to, and to our surprise, there were no taxis available on our day of departure. This is a small town and there are not very many taxis, so beware. Where the hotel did fail us, however, was on the day prior to our departure, when we wanted to walk to the bus stop so that we would know exactly where it was, a lady at the front desk directed us to the wrong bus stop. It was a mistake, but this could have been a huge problem for us, had we not investigated further and found the correct one ourselves.

Overall, this is a nice hotel and Menaggio is a nice city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale Cheshire UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Just returned from a lovely holiday with Riviera at this hotel. Probably one of the best holiday experiences we have had staying in a hotel.
Superb location right on the lake & adjacent to the ferry (a plus not a negative). The staff, particularly in the lovely dining room were very friendly & efficient.
The food was excellent with a good choice every night & the wine list extensive with a range of prices to suit all pockets.
Our room whilst not having a lake view was beautifully appointed with a fabulous bathroom & we were well looked after by the Chambermaid who was so pleasant. We were sorry to leave this hotel & lovely little town.

Room Tip: Speaking to others in our party it did seem that rooms varied a great deal dependent on where you we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

This is a grand property in a stunning location. The staff are welcoming and attentive. Be clear when you book if you would like a lake view as the alternative is a view over the main road into Menaggio. Food is of a good quality. Breakfast is buffet style with an excellent choice. Evening meal is a set choice of 4 selections per course. All good quality. A la Carte is available too for a premium. Poolside area has plenty of seating and sunbed both in the open and shaded areas. Local town is a short walk away as is the ferry terminal that gives great access to other lakeside towns such as Belaggio and Varrena. Varrena has a train station which goes direct to Milan.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Menaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Menaggio

Address: Via IV Novembre 77, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Menaggio 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Menaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menaggio Grand Hotel
Menaggio Hotel Grand
Grand Hotel Menaggio Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Menaggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.