We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula to your Saves list
Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Via IV Novembre 106, 22017 Menaggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

our experience here was not plesent. after a Long day of traveling all we wanted was a nice shower and to put our feet up, instead we arrived at the hostel at 3pm to find that the hostel was closed from 2-5, pretty stupid time for a 3 hour break since most People arrive at this time, anyway after waiting outside for 2 hours the door was opened by a Girl who didnt even accknoledge us and wasnt friendly at all during check in. we went up to our "twin room" to find 2 bunk beds. if we had known we were staying in and paying for a privrate 4 bedroom dorm we would of just stayed in a 4 bed dorm. we opened our door the next morning to find the Girl painting a table blocking us inand the rooms were dirty,especially the bathrooms. i really dont understand how this place has so many good reviews None of the staff really looked like they wanted to be there and i think you had to book a room with a balcony to see the "amazing views" that everyone is talking about because we didnt seem them. the only good Thing about this hostel is that it was easy to find and in a good location

Room Tip: dont bother booking a "privrate twin room" because all you get is a privrate 4 bed dorm an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    68
    22
    19
    13
See reviews for
23
32
62
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel this past weekend. But that was mainly due to all of the people I met and stayed with. The staff was so-so, some of them were really nice, and others weren't, they didn't seem happy to be working there. I asked one of the staff (I don't know any of their names) how to get to Breglia and about the hike to Rifugio Menaggia, I wanted to make sure it was doable in a day, and he wasn't too helpful. I hiked for 8 hours before hitch-hiking a ride back, so it was not so doable in one day. I had dinner two nights here, I didn't like them, they were backpacking meals (stew, barbecue, and mashed potatoes). They aren't open from 2-5pm, you can check in beforehand and leave your stuff in the dining room/social area. And they had breakfast from 8-9:30, which was a little late for me, I wanted to be out hiking by 8am, but the breakfast was sliced bread with spreads-jam, butter, and Nutella, juice, water, milk, coffee and tea. I would have liked something more substantial especially before going out and exploring all day. They also have a great lake view from the dorm balconies! But the rooms were not very clean, and the bathroom was always a mess, there were 8 girls sharing it, and they didn't clean it, we had to go ask for toilet paper, which means that they probably didn't even check and make sure it looked clean. I didn't have too much of a problem with this, I didn't use the shower, because it just wasn't clean, but I just wanted a bed to sleep in for the weekend so I could explore Lake Como. For a college student on a budget, this is perfect, and I met so many other backpackers and students like me, and we bonded over dinner, and that is what hosteling is, for me.

Room Tip: If you want a view: ask for one with a balcony, but if you want quiet, then a room on the back or se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our experience here was bad from the moment we got there at 3pm. They are closed from 2-5 so we couldn't check in. You would think this is when most people come to check in so pretty stupid to close. Anyway after waiting around for a couple of hours we were greeted by a girl who seemed pissed off her little 3 hour break was over. Anyway we went up to our twin bedroom with ensuite to find that our room had four bunks in it. I went down to complain and the girl just said that's what all the rooms are like and that it just meant no one would come in the room with us. However I would've just paid for a Dorm if I had of known this. The next morning we had our 'free' breakfast. Some bread some juice or coffee. If u want cereal €1 pancakes same and eggs and bacon €4. And surprise surprise they didn't have pancakes or cereal so I had to get eggs and bacon or starve on 2 bits of bread. Anyway our stay here wasn't great the hosts weren't great the rooms weren't great. The only reason I give this two stars not one is because the food and beer is cheap and good at the restraunt at night. Although if your hungry you will have to wait to 8 before they sart serving!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Really easy to get to from the ferries w big signs leading you to it. Great location overlooking the Lake. Good food that they cook up every night (could be cheaper though in my opinion). Plenty of booze to serve, but it (sort of) kept shutting down @ midnight. Staff were friendly and good fun to hang w.

Room Tip: Room 4 had a great view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

While on family vacation at Lake Como, we attended a cooking class at the hostel, with their chef Davide. It was a wonderful experience! He was very informative, patient, and good-humored, and adapted to the different levels of cooking experience in the group. We made fresh pasta and a pomodoro sauce, which we then ate for a great quality meal. I highly recommend this class if you are in the area, just call the hostel to arrange it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have stayed in many hostels across Italy and I have to say that this is the most basic of them all. Having said that, it was very clean, the staff were pleasant enough and located perfectly, in order to travel to all the key towns across the lake.

We stayed in a room that was meant for 3 people, therefore we have 2 bunk beds. The sheets were provided to us at the receptions, which we then had to put on the beds ourselves. Everything was clean and we were provided with the necessities.

We only stayed one night - we ordered dinner from here, the meat BBQ was not great but the Tiramasu was amazing! The hostel had a very hostel like atmosphere, which is to be expected. There were a few evening activities and everything was reasonably priced.

I would recommend this hostel if you are the sort of person who is able to stay in any type of environment, even the most basic of them all. I personally wouldn't like to stay here for more than 1 night, as I would probably look for somewhere more comfortable. However if you are on a tight budget, and only care about a roof over your head - this is the perfect place.

Room Tip: No real tips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

The staff is friendly.
The food is good, with a generous cook.
Rooms somewhat crowded. But it's a hostel, not a hotel. For extra luxury, you might have to go a bit further on the road.
Cozy common (dinner-) room. With an excellent playlist on the background.
Father John Misty and Kurt Vile in a hostel.
I'm sold.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula

Address: Via IV Novembre 106, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula Hotel Menaggio
Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.