We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula to your Saves list
Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Via IV Novembre 106, 22017 Menaggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at the hostel for 5 nights with my friend. The location of the hostel is fantastic - only a few minutes walk to the ferry terminal (which we used to visit the other pretty towns of Lake Como) and only a 5 minute walk into the beautiful town centre of Menaggio. The view from the hostel is incredible, and we were lucky enough to also have a lake-view from our dorm. The staff are very friendly. We ate at the hostel on two nights: the food was delicious and reasonably-priced... the bar is also very cheap! It's fair to say that the rooms are a little bit cramped, but they are no worse than you would traditionally expect from a hostel. Overall, this place is excellent value for money - perfect for people who want to use their accommodation as a base for exploring Lake Como. I definitely recommend!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    68
    22
    19
    13
See reviews for
23
32
62
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

La Primula is a top, little hostel. Quite easy to find and only 5 minutes from the ferry terminal (to Varenna, Bellagio and all the other lovely Lake Como towns). Just a short stroll on from there is Menaggio proper.

The staff are laid back and friendly, and this seems to rub off on the guests. Best-idea-in-a-hostel-ever is The Social Table; clearly labelled, so you know who's keen for a chat. The tables outside were usually in use by people sharing a beer (4 Euro for 500ml) and a laugh.

Even though my room was close to the outside social area, it was surprisingly (relatively) quiet. My room was cramped, but comfortable and the breathtaking Lake Como views out of the big, concertina window more than made up for any short-comings. I don't think there was any air-conditioning, so summer might get uncomfortable. Showers and toilets are also small. Breakfast was basic, but enough.

The hostel offers some nice extras, like organised tours and bike, and kayak hire. Kayaking was a wonderful way to get a different perspective on the area. I took the C10 bus up and the train back (from Varenna to Milano), and the views on the bus ride are infinitely better.

Room Tip: The top bunks are more likely to offer views straight out the window, without craning your neck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a great cycling holiday based from the Youth Hostel. The location is fantastic set by the side of Lake Como. The food accommodation and staff could not have been more welcoming. Fabio, the manager, did everything you could wish for in advising on routes and dealing with the security of our bikes. No problems with language. Couldn't recommend more for a group or club of cyclists. Even has a small nearby beach for cooling down after a hard day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

One of the BEST places I have ever stayed while touring Italy. Lake Como is a jewel in itself with different villages and docks to choose from. Menaggio in my opinion is one of the best. You can hike and bike locally and if you are brave, venture on kayak into the Lake. The views are awesome. The hostel itself is simple and fun. The staff is great and goes out to help you in any circumstance. (I recommend having a dinner or two and enjoying an awesome room filled dinner with new friends - Davide & Fillipo are awesome!) Fabio runs a great place with Meredith and Maria helping and advising all.

Room Tip: Book in advance a Lake View room (if possible) and enjoy a Saturday BBQ!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Because Lake Como is beautiful and it would be a pity to miss out. Lazy staff, super cramped toilets, dingy rooms (clean but completely no frills). We asked for a double bed and were given two bunk beds instead and had to put on our own sheets and pillow covers. Too many weird rules. The views here are beautiful but the stay is extremely basic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My friend and I stayed in a private room for three nights in May. The room was basic (two bunk beds, sink, drawers, lockers, chair, desk, mirror), but clean and comfortable with an amazing view of the lake. Bathrooms are shared. After reading some reviews we were concerned that it would be noisy at night time but this wasn't a problem at all. Breakfast was bread with butter, jam and chocolate spread, cornflakes, and tea and coffee. We had one evening meal at the hostel which was tasty and very good value for money. The hostel is easy to find, and just a few minutes walk from the ferry or bus stop. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our fellow guests from all around the world and of all ages, with a mixture of couples, groups of friends, solo travellers, and families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family of 4 including 2 teenagers stayed for 2 nights in April. The staff were very helpful and the meals good value. To enjoy the magnificent location for such a reasonable price was fantastic. We absolutely loved Lake Como and we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula

Address: Via IV Novembre 106, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula Hotel Menaggio
Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.