We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple pleasures” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria CO.RI

Pizzeria CO.RI
Via Per la Grona 57, Menaggio, Italy
0344 31956
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 31 Restaurants in Menaggio
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Simple pleasures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We would've never found this place ourselves, but we were lucky to get a recommendation of a friendly local. This pizzeria is off the tourist track, a bit up the Menaggio hill in a quiet residential area. Rather hard to find, which is always a nice little adventure by itself. The place is very simple, but has great views over the lake. You will find yourself seated in a spacious open terrace with simple tables and no nonsence tableware. The waiters are just great - they are sincerely happy to greet you and your noisy lot of kids, they show them off to a small garden with swings and a few toys, where they can run without disturbing the others. They joke with you, like you are locals and make you feel at home. This was the 1st time during entire August that we had stayed at lake Como that we saw only locals around - no tourists. I do not mind touristis really, I am a tourist myself. I just hate places which have ONLY toursits inside - feels like you are in an all-inclusive sterile environment of Turkey or Egypt hotels. Well Co.Ri was different and we enjoyed every minute of that evening. The food, mainly pizzas, but also pastas, was simple and simply delicious. The servcie - better than anywhere at Como. The bill - extremely friendly too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“welcoming and a great view as well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We liked the host - very friendly and the view from the terrace was wonderful. This is also the most reasonably priced resurant we found thoughout our vacation. The only negative is, at times, the service is slow when they get busy (which they often do).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at the apartments here and ate at the pizzeria one night, and it was one of the best, if not best, pizzas I've ever had, in Italy or elsewhere.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Definitely "Good" - maybe not quite "Very Good"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We ate here twice during our stay in Loveno, near Menaggio. The advantage of this restaurant for us was that it was within walking distance of the Loveno apartment. We therefore ate here twice - enjoying the meal more the second time than the first (strangely enough).

The restaurant has a reasonable menu which is biased towards pizza (not unusual in this part of the world and it IS a pizzeria). The first night we didn't try any pizza and had fish and meat based mains - both of which were a little underwhelming and both needed contorni to create much of a meal. The price of the meal was a little higher than expected as well.

The second time we visited we tried pizza and that hit the mark very well. We enjoyed the meal more then. The service was very good - the girls were efficient and the man (who I took to be the owner) chatted amiably without being intrusive. The view from the tables is also pretty good (it helps that it's halfway up the hill). I would return if we visit Loveno again and go for the pizza but if you don't LIKE pizza... heck, still go!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“lovely pizza and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We visited cori restaurant whilst staying at Le Eriche b&b for our honeymoon. The b&b had a deal that you got 10% off at the restaurant so we thought we would try it on our first night. It wass really busy when we got there, which we took as a good sign as the restaurant is out of the town! We were greeted by a very friendly waiter who spoke very good english. The food was gorgeous... fantastic pizza and lovely cheap wine! We enjoyed it so much that we returned again during our stay in Menaggio. The atmosphere was really nice compared to a few other restaurants that we tried in Menaggio and the view from the terrace was breathtaking!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria CO.RI also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria CO.RI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria CO.RI, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.