We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disillusion” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bellavia Relais B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Massa Lubrense
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bellavia Relais B&B
Save
You added Bellavia Relais B&B to your Saves list
Via Reola 2 | Sant'Agata Sui Due Golfi, 80064 Massa Lubrense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 34 Massa Lubrense B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A disillusion”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were off to a bad start and it never got better. Check-in time of our reservation system sayd 14 hrs but the owner was openly unhappy to see us at 15 hrs. Looks like we disturbed his siesta, but, hey, at least try to crack a professional smile I would say. Room was not very big but clean. We could not get the airco going, nor the sound of the TV but did not want to disturb the owner's siesta again. Later on he fixed things (the scart cable of the TV is loose, so you have to wiggle it when the sound stops; airco does not work with the window open, we had closed the window, but not properly because it stuck). Again a bit of a grumpy reaction (about the airco): "I told you so", but no apologies about the TV nor about the window being complicated to close.
Coming back from dinner I had a hard time opening the front door because the key did not fit very well. Our private parking space was occupied, so I asked the owner for an alternative. He went down to the bar below and asked the owner to move his car, and explained this was what we had had to do ourselves, "I told you so".
We hardly slept at night because of the noise, from the street, from the bar below, and from the bathroom of the neighbouring room. The building is built too cheap, lacking sound insolation.
In the morning breakfast was just OK, but not what we have seen in other B&B's in Italy, the breakfast room was tiny and uncomfortable, there were no knives, and we found a yoghurt to be over its expiration date.
In all, I feel that the owner has no eye for details, which cause too many small inconveniences that make us feel uncomfortable. A disillusion after reading all the positive reviews.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pecs, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Over all this accomodation was a good choice. The room was very clean and elegant furnished. We felt like in a B&B somewhere in Northern France or English countryside. The breakfast was outstanding compared with other B&B-s in Italy. Stefano provided us very helpful information about the location and the whole region.
There was only one thing we didn't like so much: the room was a little bit noisy because of the bar in the same building (we maybe just should have drunk some beers until the bar closes at midnight...)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Wow, this was such a great find!

My friend and I were only going to be in the area for two days and nights, mostly to visit Pompeii but also to fit in as much of the beautiful local coastline as we could with the time we had. We were on a pretty tight budget so I was looking for a place that was basically in the "budget" price bracket but that would still give us a nice stay with good amenities. We hit the jackpot with Bellavia and hosts Stefano and Daniela. The have priced their charming B&B very aggressively (I understand because it had been very slow last year and they wanted to boost their profile with travelers this year).

The location is charming--the town of Sant'Agata is perched high atop the Sorentine peninsula and is a short drive to both Sorrento on the Bay of Naples and Positano and the rest of the Amalfi coast facing the Tyrrhenian Sea. The town has quite a bustling night-life with nice restaurants and shops but gives much more of a "village" feel than the much larger/busier Sorrento.

The B&B is small, with three rooms, and each room has all the appointments you could wish for, including Wifi, air con, cable TV, fully stocked refrigerator and blow dryer in the bath. Appreciated extras: the option for two beds (few of the B&B's I looked at offered this) and a toilet with a seat! (most all the ones I saw in Italy just have bowls without rims which I am not used to and find a bit trickier to navigate). It is clear there is a designer's eye at work here (I am a graphic designer so I appreciate the artistic touches)--lovely muted/coordinated greens for beds and throw pillows, local tile work from the Amalfi coast (a specialty here), attractive furniture, and a very nice balcony. All the appointments/equipment is new and meticulously clean. The mattresses were a bit firm for my taste, but did not interfere with my sleep.

Stefano and Daniela were wonderful hosts--both speak excellent English (which was helpful to us!) and provided lovely company and great assistance with our travel itinerary. We were the only guests at the time (we arrived mid-week) and they catered to our timing--meeting us late on our arrival and getting breakfast ready for us at the hour we requested it each morning. Stefano went out of his way to give us a "guided tour" on paper of the best sites to see and route to take on the Amalfi coast.

In retrospect, this stay will be one of the things I will remember with the greatest fondness of our quick trip to Italy and I would heartily recommend this establishment to anyone.

As others have mentioned here, there is a bar downstairs which is quite lively. They are required to close down at midnight (remember, Italy is a late-night culture--we saw families with their strollers in the the town squares of Sant' Agata at 11 pm at night!) I did not find the sound kept me from sleeping, but you'd have to judge for yourself. It was not an issue with us and it is certainly a minor downside to a fabulous establishment which offers great value.

I hope to have the opportunity to return. I challenge you to find another establishment with this quality at this price in the area.

Room Tip: We got a look at all three units, and the second along the hallway had the nicest balcony, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fuffetto, Proprietario at Bellavia Relais B&B, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Caren,

thank you for taking your time (and a lot of it!) in reviewing our B&B. Making a positive impact on our guest' stay is always our main goal, and the greatest achievement when we succeed.
We sincerely hope to welcome you again!

Stefano & Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Bellavia Relais B&B is the nicest B&B I've stayed in (which is many) and when searching online, was the best-priced in the area, representing really excellent value for money.

The B&B is located in Sant'Agata, a small town that sits on a ridge on the Sorento Peninsula at a height of around 1200ft (about 400 metres), with sweeping panoramic views overlooking the Gulf of Naples to the north, and the Gulf of Salerno to the south, as well as offering a fabulous view of the beautiful island of Capri. The area is perfect for hiking and is only a short drive not only from both Sorento, but also Pozitano which lies on the world-famous, and stunningly beautiful, Amalfi coast. Sant'Agata is has a busy, vibrant atmosphere with shops, bars and restaurants catering to all tastes, and includes a Michelin two star for food lovers with a deep purse! We tried one of the restaurants and while the service was a little slow, the food was tasty and well-priced.

Sant'Agata is well sign-posted from the SS145 - a two-track road that winds its way up a hill, and the B&B is located just off the town centre where our 'guaranteed parking space' was there, waiting for us.

The Bellavia Relais B&B is run by a lovely young couple, Stefano and Daniela. On our arrival at gone 10pm, Stefano warmly welcomed us - his mother being English means I didn't need to break out my Italian dictionary, as he's completely fluent - and he showed us to our room. It was scrupulously clean and airy - one of three that all have en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning, flat-screen TVs and balconies. Each room is beautifully-decorated in muted greens, with floors laid with the ceramic tiles traditional to the area, and matching shades on the lamps in both the bedroom and bathroom.

We'd requested twin beds and they came with crisp sheets and a soft beadspread/blanket with contrasting cushions. Exploring the room, the balcony had a small table and two chairs and the bathroom was furnished with toilet, basin, bidet and a decent-sized shower with a view! The window actually has a privacy screen at the bottom half, though it isn't in any case overlooked by other buildings, just hills with lush vegetation.

Stefano checked what time we'd like breakfast and the following morning we were shown to a neighbouring room set up with fresh coffee, a huge selection of teas, continental meats and cheeses, croissants, thick slices of bread (and a toaster) cereals, yoghurts and juices.

Stefano grew up in the area and has worked as a tourist guide. We found him to be not only incredibly knowledgeable of the region, but he even drew us a detailed map (complete with pictures!) for a suggested road tour of the Amalfi coast for the day.

We followed his route and the big hit for us was Pozitano which is a really picturesque town on a steep hill about six miles down the road from Sant'Agata.

We had considered taking a ferry for the day to Capri and went into Sorento one evening to check things out. We found the city noisy, crowded and choked with traffic (and fumes), making us *very* glad we hadn't chosen to stay in a hotel there.

We didn't meet Daniela until our second day. Her English is also excellent and we had a long and enjoyable conversation with her, and found her to be warm, charming and funny. Her family have run hotels for years, where she's helped, and who help her with her business, and it really shows in how well-run their B&B is, and their attention to detail.

The one thing I'd note is that the B&B is located over a bar - which is great if you enjoy having a drink in a lively atmosphere with music, but could be a potential annoyance if you don't. That said, the bar is only licensed to midnight and it all goes very quiet after that time. We're not party animals, and it didn't bother us.

Sadly we only stayed three days but I really want to go back and when I do, I'll definitely be booking back into the Bellavia Relais B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fuffetto, Proprietario at Bellavia Relais B&B, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Anna,

we truly appreciate the tremendous effort you put into your review. It warms us to know that we managed to enrich your experience and we hope to see again soon.

Stefano & Daniela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Found this place last minute so we were just hoping for a decent place to spend a few nights while spending the days out and about. We were very surprised to find it was a really nice, quaint little place, not lacking in anything but small enough to feel like you were an invited guest. Clean, very reasonable, located in a nice small town (Sant'Agata) in the hills above Sorrento which puts it in a quiet setting but close enough to be a quick bus ride to a bunch of nearby locations, we visited Sorrento, Amalfi, Capri, and Positano in just a three day stay. Sant'Agata itself also has a respectable night life, with several restaurants and shops to visit during the night. The Blue Moon just up the hill from the B & B makes it's own Limoncello, very tasty.

The B & B itself it very nice, but the biggest selling point is the couple who hosts it, Daniela and Stefano were so nice and so helpful. We're pretty resourceful travelers but any time we had any questions they were on the spot with advice, information and local knowledge that proved helpful at every turn. Plus they're just incredibly gracious hosts, and we always felt like they were happy to have us there.

We'd highly recommend this B & B, it really is like staying with family ( I know, we did that up north in week two). If you don't like to experience life in other cultures and want to feel like you never left home, there's a Best Western in Sorrento. If you want to spend some time feeling like you have a little place in the Amalfi Coast region, I wouldn't hesitate to check out the Bellavia.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellavia Relais B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellavia Relais B&B

Address: Via Reola 2 | Sant'Agata Sui Due Golfi, 80064 Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Massa Lubrense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellavia Relais is in the centre of Sant'Agata sui due Golfi, the mythical town from which one can admire a breathtaking view of both the bays of Naples and Salerno.Thanks to this privileged position, it is possible to reach all the renowned locations of the sorrentine and amalfi coast, with the greatest of ease!The rooms are well furnished and equipped with all the modern comforts. They are sure to meet the standards and necessities of all our guests: from businessmen, to families looking for a relaxing holiday, art and history enthusiasts, or sport lovers in search of new adventures…Every day on our Breakfast Buffet we serve local specialities all made with the finest fresh ingredients: One can experience the unique tastes and high quality of foods that have made our region world famous!The profound sense of hospitality, the impeccable service, the attention to detail and the passion for tradition make our cosy Relais meet the same standards you would find in high class hotels. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellavia Relais B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.