We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not waste your time here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante da Michele

Ristorante da Michele
Via Fontanella 12, 80061 Massa Lubrense, Italy
0818789871
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $19 - $56
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The wonderful tradition of Sorrento coast is reserved to the guests of the restaurant " Da Michele", opened in 1950, in Marina della Lobra, an old fishermen village of Massa Lubrense. Enrica and Michele, the grandchildren of the founders , welcome the guests onto the beautiful balcony located on the Napolitan gulf with an incredible view looked on to islands of Ischia and Procida.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Do not waste your time here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Just 4 person for dinnner in a Sunday....terrible food...terrible house wine! Got ill of food.... Very very bad

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best restaurant at the Port”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We decided to eat here after wandering down from the village late one afternoon. They opened around 7 pm and I enjoyed the Pasta Vongole which was delicious and the Veal with lemon sauce and fresh vegetables. My partner had Arrabiata pasta. The chocolate cake dessert was the highlight. A local traditional cake served hot with cream and icecream. Yummy! Went back 2 nights later. They were kind enough to drive us back up the hill to our hotel. Lovely family run restaurant. Very good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent sea food restaurant in lovely small fishing port.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Excellent home made pasta dishes with locally caught fish - when we visited there were lots of locals - always a good sign! Great service and reasonable prices- also offered to take us back to our near by hotel free !!!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Ventured here with our friends one evening for a dinner without the kids. We were so pleasantly surprised.

I ordered fresh fish, and it was prepared perfectly. Such a nice change from pasta. My friends got a veal dish, a beef dish, and my husband got the zucchini pasta. All were just plain delicious.

We were able to meet the chef, Pasquale, who showed up some of his prize seafood creations, and he truly has a passion for great food.

One of the best meals of our entire trip!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
737 reviews 737 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 261 cities Reviews in 261 cities
626 helpful votes 626 helpful votes
“Fish Restaurant with a Sanitation Problem - but good Pizza”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The ala carte Menu prices are a little higher than average, but not especially so. The restaurant pushes hard to sell 'fresh seafood' products where the mark-up is much higher. On our first visit the waiter became a bit obnoxious when trying to sell what we did not want, and then made a joke of it. What put us off was that it was a warm evening and the fish lay uncovered for long periods of time, attracting many flies. I ordered pizza because nothing else on the menu interested me. The others in our party ordered ala carte. I was the most satisfied with my pizza, while the others felt their dishes were either overpriced or disappointing in taste. On that evening, I was inclined to rate the restaurant just average.

We returned one more time, on my recommendation, for just pizza and drinks. The same waiter tried to push the fish dishes again, and when we did not bite, he basically gave us his lowest priority. Everything was slow in coming, even though the restaurant was mostly empty. On this second visit the service was so bad and the sanitation issue also worse that I averaged these two visits to a mere 2 points.

The pizza is the best dish we had at Restaurante da Michele. Still, the service was so bad that we cannot recommend da Michele unless there is no other restaurant open. Then, order just pizza.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante da Michele also viewed

Massa Lubrense, Province of Naples
Massa Lubrense, Province of Naples
 
Massa Lubrense, Province of Naples
Massa Lubrense, Province of Naples
 

Been to Ristorante da Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante da Michele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.