We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great quiet place to stay away from the Crowd in Sorrento” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Il Pennino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Relais Il Pennino to your Saves list
Relais Il Pennino
Largo Vescovado 10, 80061 Massa Lubrense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 32 Massa Lubrense B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great quiet place to stay away from the Crowd in Sorrento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel. The manager (Sergio) was directly involved with the service. They gave us personalized attention and were permanently making sure we had a nice stay. Breakfast and Dinner were excellent too. Stunning - sunset over the Isle of Capri.

The room was spotless, and maintained as such during our 3-day stay. We slept very well and comfortably. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had everything you needed. Staff was very accommodating and friendly.

Would definitely stay there again!!!

Room Tip: There are 02 Large Rooms with Spectacular sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We cannot wait to go back to Relais Il Pennino! That pretty much sums it up.
Relais II Pennino is located in the small town of Masa Lubrense, away from all the tourist crowds that descend on Sorrento. It is a short bus ride from downtown Sorrento, and an even shorter one if you rent a car or a scooter.

The owner, Sergio, as well as his family and staff were absolutely fantastic. From rescuing us (twice) from the road (our fault for getting stranded in the first place), to making us the most amazing food we have had during this trip, they were an absolute delight. The staff was polite, friendly, and easygoing. The views were unbelievable (we had the "normal" room and yet had an incredible view on the coast and Capri), the rooms were clean, very spacious, with all possible amenities included.

A special thank you to Natasha who made our stay extra great.

Cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Get a scooter or a small car to get around. Bus strikes and inconvenient schedules are usual occurre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Worth every minute and every penny! We stayed there 3 nights and diddnt want to leave. The rooms are located in the middle of the village overlooking the gulf of Naples. The location, ameneties, cleanes, breakfeast, owner, everything was OK!!!!. whould recomend this hotel for everybody.

Room Tip: there are 2 rooms with terace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

From the moment I entered to the hotel room, I felt like I am in a palace [although it was not expensive], the interior is very beautiful, clean bathroom, very nice and kind staff, especially the owner! Welcoming atmosphere, breakfast is delicious, mainly home-made and fresh food. They have an excellent restaurant on the ground floor with stunning view to the lemon garden and islands. If you are going to stay in Sorrento, go for Relais il Pennino. You will never regret, instead you will want to come back again, just to experience the warm atmosphere of south Italy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in Relais il Pennino during the Easter holidays. The property is ideally located, perched up on top of a hill top about 6 kms from Sorrento. This means great views and less crowd. The owners were very humble and gentle and took great care in fulfilling all requests. A convenient public parking space is available about 100 meters from the property. Breakfast was abundant and made of all natural ingredients, including their own produce. We were pretty impressed by the simple yet delicious food that was served every morning. The pictures do the rest of the talking. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was my big 40th birthday treat. I booked a room with the terrace and the view specifically. That was the highlight of the trip. We booked 7 nights.

We were not disappointed with the location or the breathtaking views, everything was as expected. So was in fact the restaurant and its food.

But the biggest disappointment came when we checked in and were shown to a small, poky room with a tiny side balcony overlooking the back of the kitchen, a garden, a staircase and offering only a fraction of the sea views the room we originally booked. The owner apologised and explained the big room (there are two big room, the other one was occupied by a family) had a water leak. He also said the leak couldn't be repaired as the plumber was away. All sounded unconvincing and there was no offer of a discount either.

To my surprise, later that day I saw two ladies leaving the room. When they vacated it a day or two later, someone else moved in. When challenged, the owner kept denying everything.

This soured the experience for us immensely. Even his offer of a free trip to Capri and free dinner couldn't really change my perception of him and his hotel.

I paid for a big room which quite unceremoniously was given to someone else and for the same price I ended up in a small side room. Where's the logic?

Eventually he agreed to reduce the price - on our last day - to the price of the small room, but offered no further discounts for spoilt holidays.

Very dishonest, made me feel uncomfortable. As much as I loved this corner of Italy, next time Relais Il Pennino will not get my money.

Room Tip: The two front rooms with large terraces have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Welcome: Not obvious where to report to on arrival because it's not a traditional hotel with reception etc. Contact has to be made via the restaurant. We had to ask locals where to go. When contact is made the reception is ok and you are showed to your room which is back up the steps. Bit unnecessary when carrying luggage but not a major problem. 6/10

Room: Ours was ground floor on left. Large high ceiling room with 2 xsingle and 1 x double bed. Airy clean and nicely decorated. Views from window looking at Capri so no complaints there. Didn't notice any air conditioning but room was cool enough at night in May for it not to be an issue. Not sure about July August though!
The room was short of facilities such as hairdryer/Mirrors/tea & coffee making facilities/low level lighting/English TV channels/ most things really - it was a bit sparse for a long stay which we had. The toilet and shower room had a bidet and a small shower with an enormous shower head which was way out of proportion. However it all worked and we had clean towels everyday which was good and necessary. In summary the room falls between two categories i.e a self contained apartment and a hotel room and it is really neither. I could handle either and I hope the owners consider which way to go because they have something here.
Food: We had B&B and we weren't disappointed with the bed and certainly not the breakfast which was the best I have ever had. Every day we enjoyed fresh sliced fruit, parma ham and various cheeses, bread, rolls, sweet crossaints, toast , jam, coffee and juice. It was always immaculately fresh served quickly by the friendly staff. Superb. 10/10
The restaurant was equally as good and open long hours and the food was typical of the area pasta/pizza/salad etc. Prices were average for the area and not expensive (the wine was a little exy! except the house wine)8/10
Location: 6 miles or so uphill from tourist mad Sorrento. Nice quiet town of Massa Lubrense. Not much going on here except local Italian activity such as Church/School/Townhall. Couple of bars but generally quiet. Regular bus service into Sorrento - the fare of 5 euro each way begins to niggle after a few trips and can mount up if you are back and forth and without car. Also buses to Amalfi stop in town and the fares on this line are great value and the journey unreal along mountain roads not made for buses! Do it though. (location 8/10 if you like it quiet 6/10 if not)
Staff: Sergio and his staff were delightful with the right balance of friendly but not too so. Any request was met with a positive response and they get 10/10
Overall value was reasonable to good. Get the rooms equipped better and improve the initial reception and this hotel is one I would recommend (i do recommend anyway). I enjoyed my stay with Sergio. He obviously takes great pride in his hotel and restaurant and I'm sure he will continue to improve on all fronts.
Overall rating 7.5/10

Room Tip: Ensure you get room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Il Pennino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Il Pennino

Address: Largo Vescovado 10, 80061 Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Massa Lubrense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Il Pennino is a brand new boutique hotel in Massa Lubrense. It is well and charming furnished with all high standard comfort. Relais Il Pennino has 5 rooms, 3 superior with balcony and 2 deluxe with terrace and sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Relais Il Pennino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Il Pennino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.