We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most relaxing and enjoyable experiences on the coast of Sorrento.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Erca di Beatrice

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Massa Lubrense
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Erca di Beatrice
Save
You added Villa Erca di Beatrice to your Saves list
Via Del Rosario 2 | Santa Maria Annunziata, 80061 Massa Lubrense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
“One of the most relaxing and enjoyable experiences on the coast of Sorrento.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The villa is fabulous, the garden is a little paradise, a revival of the senses with the aromas and flavors and the beautiful view is a poem.
The apartment is full of charm and very comfortable, the swimming pool surrounded by olive and citrus groves, is quiet and relaxing.
the little dogs have been adorable and the female boxer was so sweet.
The hosts has been very welcoming and gave us a detailed explanation of the most beautiful hikes in the peninsula.
a really relaxing and enjoyable villa on the coast of Sorrento!

A&U

Room Tip: Vesuvio apartment and Capri apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is a very special place, perfect for a relaxing retreat. Upon arriving in this typical southern Italian villa, surrounded by Mediterranean nature, we immediately felt the energy of this special land.
The architecture is beautifully traditional, the apartment is spacious and comfortable, with a very large terrace where we enjoyed our morning breakfast with a view of the Vesuvio.
The coast is marvelous, we had the option to go on boat trips or hiking through the hills, or strolling in the neighboring towns and enjoy delicious local food and hospitality.
Back home we could relax in the swimming pool in a beautiful garden with a gazebo, our own brick oven and outdoor kitchen.
The hosts were very warm and welcoming, attentive to all of our needs, they helped us choose our excursions and entertainment. Overall we felt very comfortable with sharing the common areas with the other guests and the hosts.
This adventurous yet comfortable and relaxing place met and exceeded our expectations of a typical southern Italian experience. We were extremely satisfied, thank you again, we will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is a large old villa, a palace almost. One half of the Villa has been turned into four apartments, three which are rented out as holiday apartments. The other half of the Villa is in the ownership of a third party.

We stayed in apt capri and it was quite nice really in a faded grandeur sort of way. It has lovely views and it is quite well furnished thought the beds were not too comfortable and the spiral staircases are a bit tricky especially with luggage to get up and down.

The pool and gardens were all great and the people who run it are really nice. They have some nice dogs too which are very friendly.

So why only 1 out of 5? Well the access to this Villa is quite simply dangerous. If you do choose to stay here then you need to know what you are getting yourself into and make sure you take full insurance on your rental car because you will most likely scrape it. We had to negotiate the tight, steep, twisting road on a wet day and it was truly an experience I wouldn't like to go through again. I should point out that I am no driving woose! I have a 4x4 that I use off road and I have had a few very fast sports cars too, but that is no preparation for this. To get round some of the blind corners you have to go at full tilt in first gear honking your horn as you go in the hope that you don't meet something coming the other way.

So while this is a great Villa run by very nice people. I really cant recommend it all, it's that bad.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is a nice quiet villa near to Massa Lubrense. We used rented cars to travel around so distance was not a problem. But small serpentine road to villa calls for strong nerves and good driving skills. Smaller car is really useful. We were able to park all 3 cars at villa but its tight.
The pool is great. Kids love it. Water was quite warm although its not heated.
We used many times outside BBQ to grill something. Once we even made local fish which was total success.
Beatrice is very friendly and explaines very well local activities and how to get around. You really need an advice if you are not familiar with local life.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed at the ground-floor apartment with two young children (2.5 yrs and 3 months). None of the noise and distraction of the city, but very well located. Walks in the area are outstanding -- 15 mins to Schiazzano, 10min walk to town (w/ grocery store -- excellent local cheeses, prosciutto, olives, etc.), even to Massa Lubrense (about 30 mins via footpath). Lemon groves wherever you walk! Note that this is a hilly area with many footpaths. If you have small kids, better plan on using carriers -- definitely no strollers!

You're also a reasonable drive to Positano (~45 mins), Sorrento (~15 mins), and we also took a train from Sorrento to Pompeii, which is about 30 mins. Same with Capri. In short, you can see and do everything on the Sorrento/Amalfi coasts, but still stay in a very peaceful setting. The pool is terrific, you can call to order pizza & pasta from the restaurant in Schiazzano.

The apartment itself is quite spacious, 2 bdrms, 1 bathroom. The kitchen/living room area is quite cool on hot days -- one of the kitchen walls is simply exposed bedrock. Pretty extraordinary, actually. Note that you don't have the whole house to yourself -- the owners live on one side, and there are 2 (?) more units that are rented. So don't expect complete privacy, but the atmosphere is super friendly. There was another family with kids staying upstairs, and it was very nice for the kids to play together, etc. The resident dogs are very friendly with kids. Owners also speak quite good English, so communication isn't a problem, though that's not necessarily the case for nearby shops & restaurants, where having a bit of Italian will come in very handy.

Wireless internet works well -- sometimes may need to ask the owner to turn it on, though.

Very fond memories, and would go back in a flash!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Really nice environment. Not as touristic as the other site of Amalfi (like Positano). We had a great time.
Unfortunately the weather was very bad the first few days. The last day was the first day with splendid weather. With bad weather the appartment is not as comfortable and cosy as you would wish for.
Also when renting one of the appartments it should be said that part of the building is permanently lived in. We did not expect this which was inconvenient in the beginning, since it felt like we did not have that much privacy.
Use a small car because the road to Villa Erca is very narrow and steep, especially when you're not used to such roads and you don't want to damage your car. There is parking availabiltiy in the village which is do-able if you don't have anything to carry with you.
The house is being partially renovated which caused a lot of noise in the apartment we rented. Not something you want on your holiday, early in the morning.
There are a lot of dogs in the neighbourhood which cause a lot of noise during the nights as well.
Despite all things we had a nice time but we won't rent this in future anymore. It didn't entirely meet our expectations and what we had hoped for on that moment.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

Although the road to the villa is narrow and winding (rent a small car), the atmosphere and serenity once you arrive is well worth the drive. We rented Apartment Capri with a fabulous view to the Isle of Capri and the Bay of Naples. The apartment and grounds were beautifully kept and the beds were comfortable. One word of caution - be sure to use the mosquito tablets at night if you go in mosquito season.
We spent some time every day relaxing by the pool. There is also an outdoor barbeque and eating area available for guests.
Beatrice (the owner) provided some excellent insights on things to do and best ways to get there. The village of Schiazzano is an easy walk from the villa. The people in the village were extremely friendly and helpful, however, very little English is spoken so be prepared to use your Italian phrase book or point. Lo Scantinato Restorante in the village has excellent food and great specials.
There is a local boat to Capri from Los Lobra that circles the island, stopping at the Blue Grotto and and the small marina to allow time to site see on the island. This is a much better deal than going into Sorrento where they will only take you to and from the island. Both Positano and Sorrento are within easy driving distance and well worth the trip.
Overall a great experience and a great location with lots to see and do within a reasonable distance.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Erca di Beatrice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Erca di Beatrice

Address: Via Del Rosario 2 | Santa Maria Annunziata, 80061 Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Massa Lubrense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Erca is a large Century villa set on the lush hillside of the Sorrentan peninsula facing Capri, on one of the prettiest coastlines of Italy. It has been restored and converted in 4 private apartments, of which only 2 are let, sharing the pretty garden and swimming pool. The apartment on the ground floor leads directly into the garden. Massalubrense is a virtually triangular in a shape –its north-eastern side borders with Sorrento, whilist the other two side are formed by the gulf of Salerno and the Bay of Naples, with Punta Campanella at its vertex, facing Capri. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Erca di Beatrice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.