We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel in Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piccolo Paradiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Piccolo Paradiso to your Saves list
Hotel Piccolo Paradiso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Madonna Della Lobra, 5, 80061 Massa Lubrense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Super Hotel in Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel was an excellent choice for our group of 22. Rooms were well appointed. Sea facing rooms, many of which had balconies, gave views across the sea to the island of Ischia and Mount Vesuvius. The hotel lies just outside the village of Massa Lubrense overlooking the small harbour of Marina Lobra. There is a steep walk down to the pretty little harbour - approximately 65 steps - where there is a bar and shop.

Meals at Piccolo Paradiso were plentiful and varied. Dinner each night consisted of a pasta course and for our week's stay we had a different pasta each evening and we were always offered a top up. The main courses were normally a choice of fish or meat with appropriate accompaniments often served with a side salad and the sweet course was a choice of ice cream, melon or a bowl of fresh fruit. Service was very efficient given the large number of diners to be served.

Breakfast was the standard continental selection of cheese, ham, cakes, breads and a huge range of jams, honey, etc. with fruit juices and yoghurts.

The dining room is vast as it caters for large groups and although there was a comfortable lounge on the ground floor, our group either remained in the dining room after the evening meal (there was a grand piano there which we used for our evenings' entertainment) or we would move to the balcony where we would invariably gather for pre-dinner drinks.

Staff were friendly, courteous and extremely helpful when any problems arose. A member of staff popped up to the village to obtain some travel sickness pills when one of our party was suffering the effects of a long coach, plane and another coach ride to reach the hotel on our arrival and again two of our group who opted not to participate on one of our excursions were taken to Massa Lubrense by car to catch the regular service bus to Sorrento.

The walk to Massa Lubrense is a very steep uphill one and will take about 15 minutes. The alternative is a rather infrequent bus service. Once in Massa Lubrense however there is a good bus service to and from Sorrento.

The Piccolo Paradiso hotel seems to cater mainly for groups. We were a party of 22 and there were several groups of Germans staying there at the same time.

There is a turning point/parking area for coaches immediately opposite the hotel which perhaps explains why it is so popular with coach parties. The only downside with the location is that to get anywhere one has to travel via Sorrento and the narrow roads combined with the morning school rush mean that the journey can take from 20 minutes to almost an hour depending on the time of departure.

On the other hand the small harbour really is a delight and you won't find any tourists there except for those staying at the Piccolo Paradiso who are prepared to tackle those 65 steps (in both directions!).

Room Tip: Very quiet location but get a room at the front for the sea-facing view - and watch those sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELPP, Responsabile reception at Hotel Piccolo Paradiso, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We want to thank you for your excellent review on our hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact us again in order to reserve another stay in our hotel.

In the meantime, please accept our best regards

Francesco Cacace
Hotel piccolo paradiso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    53
    9
    8
    1
See reviews for
30
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have just returned from yet another fabulous holiday at the Hotel Piccolo Paradiso. We just love it there. All the staff are extremely friendly and cannot do enough to help you. Fantastic swimming pool and shaded terrace. Views from the hotel are stunning across to Sorrento and the Bay of Naples. Wonderful location which is a little tricky to get to if you do not have a car. Although buses are available but not that frequent. Lots of walks to go on around the area which are a little bit steep in places but well worth the climb! Walk down to the lovely harbour and take a swim in the sea and then savour the tranquil setting whilst taking refreshment at the wonderful Angelos Bar. Angelo and his family will make sure you have a wonderful meal. Well worth the trip.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel will provide the wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were caught in a thunderstorm and the incredibly considerate manager helped us out so much even though we had no reservation and not a lot of money! The room had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, the shower was amazing, everything was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was expansive and delicious...wish I could eat there again! It's just a stroll to the waters. I've never met such sweet and hospitable staff before. I highly recommend it! We'll be staying there again when we pass through. Thanks to the night manager and I hope she got our bottle of spumante!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A family-run hotel that is hard to fault. For us, its only drawback was its location at the end of a bus line - train to Sorrento from Naples (an hour or so, but frequent), bus to Massa Lubrense (15 minutes and fairly frequent, but then a walk or infrequent bus ride to the hotel, which is actually down near the harbour rather than in the centre of Massa Lubrense. However, the hotel will collect you from Massa Lubrense on arrival (as they did for us) so the walk down to the harbour does not have to be done with baggage - in any case, the view is stunning! Walking down is an easy 20 minutes; walking up is a not-too-strenuous half hour. The rooms are bright and clean, the staff very helpful and the breakfast (generous continental style) more than adequate. On arrival we opted for the set dinner menu, which was again generously-proportioned and very tasty, with pasta, main dish and ice-cream for dessert. (And the local wine (both red and white) is well worth the 8 Euros per bottle it cost us!). Free Wi-Fi is available, but only in public rooms (unless, perhaps your bedroom is well situated. Almost all rooms have a balcony overlooking the sea in the direction of Ischia and Capri, and are equipped with AC, though we didn't use it (in April); nor did we use the swimming pool. We are so glad we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The name says it all, it's a small paradise. Away from all the touristic places, this offers a perfect setting for a quick getaway. The location of this hotel offers amazing views. The service we received from all the staff during our stay was also excellent. Highly recommended and will try to stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa Heads
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was our 4th stay at this quality family run Hotel. The rooms and bathrooms are simple and very comfortable. All the staff, reception, restaurant and room attendants are always keen to be of assistance. The continental breakfast is good, and although we did not eat at the restaurant this year, it has always been good quality. Thank you Piccolo Paradiso family for making our stay once again memorable. Be sure to try Angelo's Bar and Funiculi Funicular at the marina along with the Hotels beach bar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Location is good, rooms are clean and the swimming pool is very nice and clean as well. Special credit to the waiters at the restaurant/breakfast. I was not surprised to learn when we checked out that the hotel is family run.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Massa Lubrense hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#5 of 46 in Massa Lubrense
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#7 of 46 in Massa Lubrense
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Francischiello Hotel & Spa Bellavista
Francischiello Hotel & Spa Bella...
#10 of 46 in Massa Lubrense
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Freedom Holiday Residence
Freedom Holiday Residence
#36 of 46 in Massa Lubrense
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Primavera
Hotel La Primavera
#11 of 46 in Massa Lubrense
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Ro...
#5 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccolo Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccolo Paradiso

Address: Piazza Madonna Della Lobra, 5, 80061 Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Massa Lubrense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piccolo Paradiso 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three star hotel Piccolo Paradiso, is a delightful hotel which has always been managed by its owners. Elegant and comfortable, it lies in a marvellous position between the countryside and the sea in one of the most beautiful parts of the Sorrento Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Piccolo Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Paradiso Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piccolo Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.