We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Gocce di Capri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Gocce di Capri to your Saves list
Residence Gocce di Capri
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dell Tore, 7, 80061 Massa Lubrense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The view of Capri from your balcony is something that money just can't buy. Each apartment faces this way and has an equal view. We thoroughly enjoyed our break here and feel it represents unbeatable value for money. The apartments are not 5* star luxury but they have everything I feel you could need on holiday. They were clean, functional and spacious. The managers and their staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. There is a bar and restaurant on site, however, other options are only about 5 minutes walk away. We didn't have a car and I would say that if you are not a fan of walking or have mobility problems Gocce Di Capri may not suit you. The buses around the peninsula are not all that frequent- the last bus back from Sorrento is at 9pm, so if you wanted to have a late night out you would have to take a taxi back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    76
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
102
111
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Gocce di Capri we knew we were at our favourite spot of the entire trip. We had been to Zurich, Venice, Cinque Terre and Tuscany prior (Rome after) to coming here and had lots of other great places to compare to. Yes, the roads are windy to get here but we enjoyed the drive (I guess if anything go at a non-busy time like we did) and were glad to have a car for the 4 nights we stayed here. We also were so happy to be in a quiet area with the most incredible views. We loved being able to relax for part of the trip and enjoy the sunsets, etc. from our terrace with a bottle of wine each night. It was perfect to access Positano/Amalfi/Ravello one day, set up a day in Capri through the hotel (cheap and convenient) and a day at the beach nearby. We felt as though staying in Sorrento was busy and just not the type of laid back/relaxing/serene experience we wanted which we totally got at Gocce. Made more sense to also stay here and be able to access Capri and the Amalfi, etc. for the day rather than being in those places.

Another important thing to note were the people. Marco and Mary (husband and wife who own this spot) were the kindest, most helpful and super cool people overall (with a super cute little daughter who also made us laugh). Many times we would find ourselves talking to them during the stay for a good 30 minutes....they are really interesting and genuine people - same goes for their employees. They assisted us with the plans for each day, answered a million questions I had, provided suggestions for restaurants, arranged laundry and much more. Everything was seamless. Two examples of them going out of their way:
- The massive amount of fruit at breakfast was delicious and great to have in italy where it seems everywhere else is just pastries. And on the day we were leaving early they arranged to leave a fruit platter in our room the night before - exceptional service and much appreciated.
- The hairdryer in the room wasn't very good (literally the only thing I would say was a negative our of the entire place/stay) and Mary had a brand new hair dryer put in my room the same day. I really appreciated that as well!

I honestly can't believe the reviews that were bad.....I had the complete opposite experience and can't believe the things written.....do not trust them!!!! We weren't there to cook/etc. but even still. We've both traveled all over the world and really liked this place and I think I am pretty opinionated with good judgement.

I will highly suggest you walk to Termini (8 min walk) and go to Bar Eughenes for dinner and lunch. We went three times and were just there 4 days! The cheese ravioli was the best I have had in my life. Zucchini spaghetti is a must try, antipasto platter is abundant (literally doubles in size at dinner and is only about $3 more) and the experience is very traditional and kinda humourous. You will see it dead until about 9pm when everyone comes out - we were eating alone both nights as that was pretty late to start dinner but all the locals go there. And the price is ridiculously cheap as a bonus.

The chairs on the balconies made by Emu I believe were so unbelievably comfortable for watching the sunset. Sitting at the pool with wifi was so enjoyable taking in the views as well. Walk up the hill and take amazing sunset shots like I did.
Oh and if you go to Gocce then you'll see Bopie - you'll know what I am referring to when you get there and this was another big highlight for me which made me smile each day! Highly recommend overall as you can tell and we will tell our friends and family about this spot.
Thanks Mary and Marco! Wish you the best. Laura and Tyler.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is in the most perfect place and the views were just amazing! We enjoyed our drive from Rome to the hotel, it's set right up into the mountain and the roads are unreal but just added to the experience. Every corner you go round there is another stunning view and by the time we got to the hotel we were in love! Our room was basic but again, the view from the balcony was just beautiful - the sea and Capri were right infront of us. Unfortunately for 2 days we had nonstop torrential rain and thunderstorms and as this was the 'sun' part of our holiday we were a bit dissapointed. We had 2 quick trips into Sorrento - which was about half an hour away - and that looked lovely. Although as it was pouring down it was a bit grey! The sun came out for our last couple of days and we got to enjoy the pool area which was great and very clean. And again, the views are just stunning. On the last night we watched the most amazing sunset from our balcony. The restaurant was beautiful, could not fault the food at all. Mario who served us each eveing was a fantastic waiter. All the staff that we dealt with were really friendly and made the stay really enjoyable. I would love to go back, it was just the most perfect location and I'm missing it already!
The only negative - and only a tiny negative - is that everyone feels a bit close when you're out on the balcony. The views certainly make up for that though and sitting in the loungers we were too low to notice anyone anyway while we were enjoying the sunsets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My boyfriend and i have just returned from the gocce di capri and I would not recommend this accommodation.

Pros:

Lovely pool - clean (though the beds are all broken)
Lovely restaurant - cheap food which is beautiful

Cons:

We were staying in an self catering apartment, however, the oven did not work. When you turned it on, the whole apartment electrics cut off. After complaining about this two times on two different days to the staff, it still wasn't fixed. I gave up mentioning it and just carried on with our holiday.

The bathroom is very rusty and the boiler (which had a plug in the wall) sat directly above the bath (basically in the bath), about a foot away from the shower head. I thought this was very dangerous, so just turned the shower the other way and hoped for the best. Also, the hot water runs out after two adults showering, I would hate to think what happens with a family.

The bedroom reeked of mold as it had huge patches covering one corner of the room. We had to air the room out for around two hours every night just so I didn't feel sick by the smell, which was very over powering. The air conditioning leaked beyond recognition...we just had to stop using it. All the bedding smelled because of it...even my clothes.

The fridge leaked, was extremely rusty and just seemed quite unhygienic - i hated putting food in here.

self catering rooms are only cleaned one time during your stage - we were there for nine days....so that was a bit of an inconvenience.

We were on the bottom floor and trust me, you hear everything above you! The walls are paper thin and so are the ceilings.

My biggest worry though was, there were no fire alarms within the whole apartment, no fire blanket or extinguisher. Maybe the last two I could understand, but to not have fire alarms I think is a massive no no is an self catering apartment.

The views from our rooms were blocked by bushes about 7ft high....which were only cut back on our last day!

It may say on google maps 15mins from so and so, but the roads are windy mountain roads! I would suggest staying nearer sorrento! A car is really needed!!!


This place is in the middle of no where, I was extremely disappointed after reading all the beaming reviews. If you are staying in self catering - be warned...the hotel rooms looked better, but thats only from a distant glance. I didn't expect the ritz, but just basic safety would have been nice!

If you have kids...you have been warned!

Room Tip: Refrain from staying in 208!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco C, General Manager at Residence Gocce di Capri, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for your feedback on this website. We do appreciate your kind comments about the pool and restaurant, but we are saddened to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations in other areas.

We apologise for the various issues you had with the apartment. This is certainly not to our usual standard, and rest assured that we are looking into the various concerns you have raised. You might like to know that a soft refurbishment will begin shortly at Gocce di Capri to improve the overall aesthetics of the apartments.

In terms of safety, I wish to point out that all health and safety standards of the Hotel/Serviced Residence comply with Italian legislation.

Unfortunately, we are unable to always meet the expectations of our guests, but we do try to offer as much information as possible via our website on the location and nature of the property and are always available via phone and email to respond to guest inquiries should information about Gocce di Capri require greater clarity.

We will, however, take your comments on board and conduct an internal assessment of the apartment to ensure our guests remain satisfied with their time at Gocce di Capri.

Kind regards

Mary and Marco
Management, Gocce di Capri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I guess for people with kids this place is decent for the money you pay. For everyone else, this is not the place to go to. It's location is high up and it is very difficult to find. Doesn't help that the phone number they have on the website doesn't work. The bathroom fittings are rusting. The bedsheets, blankets and sofa covers are all old and dirty. The kitchen stove is ancient. The hot water ran out after 2 people showered. We didn't try the hotel restaurant. But instead the MiraCapri 5 mins from the hotel. The food was extremely disappointing given that we expected a traditional Italian family to give us better food than that. Going anywhere from here that is lively takes about 15-20 mins of driving on narrow windy mountain slopes.
That being said, the views are indeed stunning (if you're in the right rooms) and the surrounding is very pretty with beautiful plants. Sorrento is a great town to visit though and on a tight budget this hotel could be one way to visit it and Capri. But I wouldn't repeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco C, General Manager at Residence Gocce di Capri, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We were very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your time at Gocce di Capri.

We apologize that you were not happy with the standard of your apartment, however, we wish to reiterate that while some fittings may be worn and in need of attention, we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the apartments and our housekeeping.

In terms of location and accessibility, the content on our website does point out the location of the Hotel and Residence, and that we are not in Sorrento. We apologise if this information was misinterpreted or misleading in any way.

Regarding your dining experience at a nearby restaurant, there are many lovely places to enjoy various south Italian specialties, however, the choice of guests is beyond our control and we can only recommend places to dine when enquiries are made.

Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.

Kind regards

Mary and Marco
Management, Gocce di Capri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kontich, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

New owners since 4/2012.They've already put a lot of work into it and it payed off! The location with the view of Capri is priceless,the apartments are spacious,each with it's own terras,a very clean swimmingpool,a fine restaurant for lunch and dinner although the variety and quality of snacks at the bar are great.Most of all,we appreciated the hospitality and the fact they made us feel like part of the family:Marco the owner welcomed us after arriving late,reserved an meal for all 17 of us,showed us to our rooms,arranged excursions exactly to our needs and drove back and forth to the harbour.Salvatore and Mariano tend bar,make snacks,prepare a great breakfast and entertained us day in,day out.We had a relaxing holiday and will certainly come back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed for a week. All rooms / apartments are facing Capri / sea - never seen such vivid sunsets. Kids were very pleased with the swimming pool - especially after a full day of sightseeing - the cool water of the pool was most welcoming.
Nearest village - supermarket - less than 8 minutes walking distance. Once you figured out the local transport system, travel was no problem. With our 3 kids were regularly travelled to Sorrento and then onto Pompeii by train (train was very cheap & comfortable).
Hotel room had all necessities including 2 A/Cs. It would have helped if certain things like sugar / tea had been provided to get through the first day.
We generally cooked breakfast, lunch was outside while sightseeing, and dinner was generally at the inhouse restaurant or we ordered a takeaway (from the inhouse restaurant). Food price was very reasonable.
Hotel also provided reasonably priced travel arrangements to Nerano (for tour boat to Capri).
Overall very relaxing holiday. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Gocce di Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Gocce di Capri

Address: Via dell Tore, 7, 80061 Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Gocce di Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Gocce di Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Gocce di Capri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.