We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst experience of my life” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Maison Hotel to your Saves list
La Maison Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Villazzano 3, 80061 Massa Lubrense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
Offenbach, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The worst experience of my life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

La Maison in Massa Lubrense is the worst experience of my life and the worst vacation I ever spent in my life. To start the toilet is really not fit for human, there is no air conditioning there is no TV with the exception of a small TV that it's not usable, you have to take with you, The hotel keys that weights at least a pound because there is no night personnel at the hotel, after 8 o'clock in evening, The shower is all rusty and the head shower did not work the light switch was broken in my room I had a window that overloocked on a very busy street where there was traffic night and day which I could not sleep or rest, no safety box, no hangers for your clothes, for breakfast I had to take a shuttle bus from my hotel to the beach hotel, And the shuttle bus came every hour on the hour in order to go to town I had to reserve the seat to go to Town which is 3 1/2 K from the hotel the night before and not after 6 o'clock or 6:30 pm. The toilet seat was not properly installed and moved around The shower was so small that a baby good get in, from the ceiling there was water dripping so you took a shower by sitting on the toilet seat , I had to Kill in the toilet with water peroxide a community of ants.. I could go on and on and on all I have to say to people who book this hotel, to find something more clean and civilized

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a small balcony facing the island of Capri
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    3
    7
    20
See reviews for
5
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The positives

Our transfers were by taxi so took considerably less time than if we had been with a larger group or on a coach with several drop off points.

The hotel is situated at the top of a very winding road which takes you down to the sister hotel for the beach and catering/bar facilities. The view is brilliant if you have a sea view room and you can see the Island of Capri and some lovely sun sets.

The room was spacious (3 single beds) and looked like it had been partially redecorated. Apart from one day hot water for washing and showering was plentiful. Bedding and towels are changed every day the room was clean and the staff were very efficient and pleasant.

There was a large communal balcony area but sadly no tables, chairs or drying facilities by which to make full use of it.

The free shuttle buses run regularly throughout the day taking visitors down to eat and into Sorrento some 15/20 minutes drive away.

Food is plentiful, varied and served by very obliging staff. We also sampled a spectacular Gala evening and BBQ during our stay.

We were there for a family wedding but also celebrated three birthdays and a wedding anniversary whilst we were there. The chef baked additional cakes and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

'Even better if'

An absolute necessity is for beverage making facilities and fridges are provided for the guests in La Maison. After a very long day travelling and arriving at 1.30 in the afternoon our room was not ready and we had to wait for the next shuttle us to take us down to the sea club to get a drink and then wait for another shuttle to take us back up to our room some two hours later. There was no means of keeping drinks cool or making a 'cuppa'

Air conditioning must also be given priority. One fan is not sufficient for such a large hot room and merely circulated the hot air and bugs which were also plentiful!

There is a schedule for the shuttle buses and they do need to be booked in advance especially if larger parties are wanting to go to Sorrento. In an emergency additional runs were provided.

It would probably have been more beneficial if the runs from La Maison to the Sea Club and back were more frequent or even on demand with the scheduled buses being used to go to Sorrento and back. Less time would then be wasted travelling up and down.

Breakfast started at 7.00 in the morning but the first bus down was not until 8.15. The next one was at 9.15 but breakfast finished at 10.00. The evening meal stated at 7.00 but in order to get a bus down in time we had to get the 4.00 one upon the afternoon. Quite a long time when there are no drink making facilities or chairs and tables to enjoy the view from the balcony.

The holiday was not particularly restful due to continuously having to plan but we were three of a larger party totalling 28 the rest of whom were staying at the Sea Club so did not have to travel up and down the hill and all of whom thoroughly enjoyed their time there.

We did experience a wonderful family wedding in Sorrento and a fantastic day tour of Capriduring our week long stay.

The holiday was not cheap and whilst we would love to go back to Italy at some point, unless La Maison was brought up to an expected standard we would not stay there.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a sea view. The rooms at the back look out onto a road and wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podolí, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Hotel is a part of Sea club resort , is situated on the rock maybe 100 meters above the sea level. If you have a seaview room, you will have terrific view on the sea and Capri Island.Another part of the resort is a very good and well organized beach and on the beach Hotel Albergo**** where you can order good breakfast and other good meals. The great advantage is not only the beach, but also the complinetary shuttle bus to Sorrento. The bus goes maybe 10 times a day and this service is really very helpfull.. From Sorrento you can reach Napoli, Herculaneum or Pomlei within one hour with the Circumvesuvia train , no need to use a car .All the stuff in the resort is very polite, helpful and friendly, escpecially one young guy called Francesco - there one was the best . He organised for us the change of the room -some of the room in the hotel are really bad - after that we lived on the roofterrace of the hotel with very good view.Also the clealiness of the room was very good .

Room Tip: Ask for the seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in La Maison for one night after exploring the Amalfi Coast. The only reason we ended up there was because I used a bidding site and did not see all the bad reviews. Lesson learnt.

To start with good things, it is situated in a beautiful place high on the hill with amazing views of the coast and the sea. We were staying in a room on top of the building, which had a large patio where you could relax and enjoy the views. The only bad thing about the location is that it is pretty close to a road with a sharp turn, and most local drivers blow their horns at that point. Quite annoying as you can imagine particularly when you have to keep your windows open in a hot weather.

The hotel seems to be in a dire need of renovation. Our room seemed to have had an a/c but it was not working. It was so hot we had to open windows and they did not have mosquito nets so we were terrorized by the blood suckers all night. Mattresses were one of the worst I've laid on. The shower was very small.

They have breakfast in their sister property Sea Club that is on the beach so we took a nice walk down the road in the morning. Sea Club seemed much more modern and the breakfast was nice and plentiful. We did not have time to enjoy the beach as we had to go to our next destination.

Overall, I would not return to the hotel until it is renovated. But if you end up there, try a close-by restaurant called Ristorante Francischiello - it was the best food we had on our Italy trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were in the sea club resort for one week. We booked bed and breakfast in La maison. We saw 3 rooms (slept in 2) and everywhere there was the same stincking smell off a drain. We slept the whole week with windows and door open, we couldn't stand the smell. The badroom was not OK. It was not clean and old. One day we had no warm water. We tryed to speak to the manager severall times but it was not possible.
To have breakfast, we had to take the shuttle bus to go down. We had to be prepared at 8.15 pm.
To use the swimmingpool, you had to pay (for the sunbed) €7 p.p. for one day. That was also a surprice.
We never go back to the Sea club!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

afer research on this hotel. we thought we had a good deal. we had asked for a room with a sea view. in the main hotel,(at the bottom of the cliff) what we got had to be the worse room we have ever stayed in..no sea veiw, no balcony even.......3 small windows which were to high even to look out of. it smelt strongly of damp, especially when we opened the wardrobe. couldnt possibly hang clothes in there. had to live out of a suit case. oh and our room was at the top of the cliff, all facilities were at the bottom of the cliff which we needed a shuffle to get to... and the the facities were very basic.you also needed a shuttle to take you into sorrento and back, if not its a £30 taxi ride. we would book a shuffle for 8.30 am and back for 11.30pm as ther was nothing to keep us at the hotel. a very negative review i know, but i feel i must mention the lovely staff, they were very good, and the veiw to capri was amazing...it just would have been nice to wake up to that veiw every morning instead of four walls.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

the view to capri is amazing, the staff and service very good. they have a shuttle service into sorrento at convienient times (wish we had known this ahead of time, its a $40.00 taxi ride) to connect with bus for amafli coast or train to pompeii ect. the setting is very calming and peaceful. because they do not have screens on windows in italy and no a/c you do need to have a good insect repellant. recommend it ; yes already have.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Hotel

Address: Via Villazzano 3, 80061 Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
part of the Conca Azzurra Sea Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your La Maison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.