We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Portazza Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marsala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Portazza Resort
Save
You added La Portazza Resort to your Saves list
cda dammusello 624, 91025 Marsala, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 70 Marsala B&B and Inns
Catania, Sicilia, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I had a great time here. Our host Antonio was very friendly and helpful, telling us all about the delicious food and wine being served, and giving us recommendations for what to do and see in the area. The room was large, very charming, and the private bathroom was huge! There is obviously a lot of attention paid to detail here, and we left feeling like we'd just spent a weekend with friends. We were also able to bring our dog with us, which only made the experience better. This has been our best agriturismo experience so far, and we will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were welcomed by Antonio with a bottle of wine and cheese platter on a cold winter night (two days before new year's eve). We chatted for an hour about how he got to Sicily and history behind the farm. It is interesting to note that all room were decorated with the family pictures, black and white, which make you feel like staying at a guest room in a friend's cottage.

The only thing is that in a winter time, the tall ceiling room is a bit cold. The air conditioner is not strong enough to keep the room heated.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had six days in the west of Sicily, last minute flights, and found La Portazza through TripAdvisor; thanks, guys. Antonio and Luisa could fit us in for the first and last two days, but we found somewhere in Trapani for the middle two. No comparison: the Portazza is a wonderful place, the hosts charming, knowledgeable, generous and superb cooks. Our children (9 and 11) were delighted by Alma the dog, who will lick you to death in a blink, and by the Schio family in full formation (they assembled for a family function during our stay).
On a gloriously sunny early-November day, we went out with Antonio and some Italian guests to the island of Favignana, had a great lunch, swam through a small sea-cave, came home (completely safely) in a Force 5... unforgettable.
Antonio also showed us round the market in Marsala, where everyone seemed to be a friend of his, and introduced me to Mussolini Powder. You'll have to ask him what's in it, but it's a lot better than Maalox.
None of this was pushed at us -- if you want to be left alone, Antonio and Luisa are completely hands-off. But if you choose to make friends with them, and to eat their wonderful dinners, you'll deepen your Sicilian experience immeasurably. We'll be going back.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room for four upstairs for the first two nights, then two adjoining garden doubles f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We really enjoyed our three night stay at this peaceful, atmospheric small resort in the autumn. The set menu dinner with successive courses and wine was amazing value at 30 euros. Antonio the host has charm to burn! When he saw that husband and I dithering over the choice of red wine (my husband's preference) or white wine (my preference) at dinner, he quickly solved our problem by bringing us two bottles--one white and one red! He is rightfully proud of his delicious food which we enjoyed at dinner and breakfast--we even got to savor the fresh, flavorful taste of new green olive oil which had been pressed that very day! The first night we were amazed by the artistry of the fish wrapped and baked in a fish-shaped bread, and another night we tasted the delicate and delicious after dinner bay leaf liqueur. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

This past September we again toured Sicily for two weeks. Our first stop after Palermo was a five day stay with Antonio and Luisa at La Portazza. They did not disappoint. Wonderful breakfast and fabulous dinners. We highly recommend the quality and calm presented when dining in with Antonio and Luisa. Antonio has added a wonderful cooling pool. He is passionate about his property and very knowledgeable about the region. Wanting to visit Favignana island, Antonio was critical in helping us with all the arrangements.
The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Great value and Anonio and Luisa are a pleasure to be with. We would go back a third time.

Room Tip: Only six rooms. To avoid stairs, request rooms in front of pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passau, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We spent a couple of days at the La Portazza Resort.We had a beautiful dobbelrom, as shown in the internet. It is a quiet and relaxing atmosphere and the owner( Antonio) and his family are incredible great hosts. We joint for dinner with some other guests at La Portazza and the food was amazing. All homemade and of extraordinary high quality.You shouldn´t miss this!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Very nice and modern room, nicely decorated, good bathroom. Good breakfast. We recommend to stay for dinner. For around 30 euro complete dinner with wine, coffee, digestive. Very good quality. Nice garden with pool. Located not far from the airport, close to Trapani and Marsala.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Portazza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Portazza Resort

Address: cda dammusello 624, 91025 Marsala, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Marsala
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Marsala
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
La Portazza Resort Marsala, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Portazza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.