We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of Nowhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oceano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Oceano to your Saves list
Hotel Oceano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cola di Rienzo 2 | loc. Focette, 55044 Marina di Pietrasanta, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Middle of Nowhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

We were part of a tour on a 2 centre holiday to Italy but the Hotel Oceano was something else. The owner Simona was rather formidable. You didn't know if she was joking or not. Someone wanted to borrow a hairdryer and was told to" bring it back in 5 minutes, oh OK 30 minutes" You had to sign for the remote control for the TV, an orange juice (Diluted) was €2 and the other drinks were very expensive. The food was very basic but the pasta was good. The guests who were not on the tour seemed to get a better choice of food. All the staff could have done with a humour injection. Dour, as we say in Scotland. There was a lot of noise on Saturday night from the night club over the road. We had read the reviews before we went and were apprehensive. It wasn't as bad as we thought it would be but we wouldn't go back

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    33
    4
    7
    5
See reviews for
10
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

This was part of a two centre holiday, we looked at the reviews before we went and feared the worst. But were pleasantly susprised. Simmone the owner has a good sense of humour and liked to joke with us in the evenings. The food was excellent. The drinks are a bit dear but we got good measures. We did get some noise from the night club over the road but we did not find it to bad.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpol, uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2006

We were part of a 50 person group on a two-centre holiday from England and stayed for 5 nights at the begining of October '06. The hotel was modern and the rooms were clean and tidy, but fairly basic. The food was quite good but the drinks were expensive. The topic of conversation was the unfriendliness of the manager and manageress and their younger staff. There was never any flicker of a smile until the last evening of our stay, when everything suddenly changed. They smiled and joked with the guests as if we were old friends. The manageress even gave one gentleman, second and third helpings of raviolli as a joke. This encouraged someone to send around a collection for them. The main problem with our stay was the total lack of local amenities. Even at the begining of October everything was closed. The place was like a ghost town.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

This hotel was the second part of our stay on a two centre holiday with a tour group. We were greeted in reception by a very hostile manageress / owner who was very abrupt and most unpleasant. Our room was very clean, tidy and comfortable. On arrival in the dining room we were met by sullen, grumpy waiting staff. But, the food was okay and, as we were in a large group, we almost forgot that the staff were so 'unfriendly'. There were a group of tourists from another country staying in this hotel at the same time and it was obvious that they received better hospitality. The hotel is situated on a beachfront which was nice but very noisy. There was lots of traffic noise all through the night and music from nightclub across the road on Friday and Saturday nights. Not a hotel we would return to but the resort was nice.

  • Liked — Outside Terrace
  • Disliked — Hostile, unfriendly staff.
  • Tips/Secrets — Just smile and remember you are on holiday!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2005

The hotel is modern and the rooms clean and reasonable but that is where the compliments stop.

The husband and wife team (and she appeared very formidable) go out of their way to make Brits unwelcome and the rest of the staff could not put a smile together between them. A most unpleasant atmosphere all week culminated in a near fracas in the restaurant on the last evening when one of our group ( a lovely old man in his eighties) was stopped, by the husband, from giving a thank you speech to the tour manager and coach driver and we were all sent outside like naughty schoolchildren. When I told the husband, in broken Italian, that he was rude, his wife had to hold him back from hitting me.

Marina de Pietrasanta itself is nothing but mile upon mile of beach clubs and none of them publish their prices. The Hotel is a good 25 minutes walk away from the town centre. Cycle hire would be a good way of getting around but bring plenty of money if you intend to take the family to the beach regularly.

I would recommend you avoid the Hotel Oceano at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Hotel Oceano, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We remember that day and we are sorry for what it happened but we have to add that the director or owner of any hotel has to protect all his guests.
That evening the dining room was full of guests (not all belonging to the English group) and an English guest was talking to their friends and they were clapping and laughing. It was nice but after a while we were obliged to tell the tour manager to make him stop, because we had complaints from other guests of the hotel who were having dinner at the same time. The man could entertain their friends after dinner on the terrace or somwhere else in the hotel. We spoke to the tour manager (he was Italian) and not to the guests, so that he could tell them in the best way to continue the speech after dinner. We never knew what he said to them but the reaction of the English guests was to stand up und go and one of them said "stupid man" to the owner who heard it and that's the reason he got angry. We never offended any guest. Somebody did it to us. The story must be told in its whole, not just part of it.

The owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leek, staffs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2005

If a good location and decent customer service is what you're wanting from your hotel then I recommend that you steer clear from the Hotel Oceano.
Firstly the hotel is situated on the very outskirts of Marina di Pietrasanta,the centre is a good 25 minute walk away and the local amenities are very limited.
Whilst located on the sea front a busy road seperates it from the beach area which is then taken up with endless beach clubs with their regimented rows of sun loungers that monopolise the entire coastal area.
There is a public beach which is 400 metres away,but this gets very crowded.
Secondly the attitude of the owners(a husband and wife team) left alot to be desired."Nothing's too much trouble" and "the customer is always right" are definately two rules of customer service that were never observed during our stay.
The wife was extermely scary, unapproachable and had difficulties with making even basic eye contact.The husband was friendlier in his manner until anyone complained!!On one occasion in the dining room when a fellow guest complained that the potatoes had arrived 10 minutes after the meat dish,it nearly came to "blows".
I will not be returning to the hotel,however the resort if you choose a hotel closer to the centre is a good base to explore florence,pisa,lucca and tuscany.
I would recommend cycle hire as a good way to get around.
Lastly if you do have the misfortune of staying in this hotel please avoid room 55 which had a strong smell of sewage, when our fellow guests complained they were told it was because the wind was blowing in the wrong direction and not the hotels fault!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marina di Pietrasanta hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#9 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#36 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Esplanade
Hotel Esplanade
#20 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#4 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Marzia
Hotel Villa Marzia
#11 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
1.6 mi away
L'Alba Hotel
L'Alba Hotel
#8 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oceano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oceano

Address: Via Cola di Rienzo 2 | loc. Focette, 55044 Marina di Pietrasanta, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Marina di Pietrasanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Marina di Pietrasanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oceano 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Oceano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oceano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.