We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Italian hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mondial Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Mondial Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mondial Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Via Duca Della Vittoria 129/131, 55044 Marina Di Pietrasanta, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012 via mobile

Everyone was pleasant and welcoming! Rooms were beautiful! Views were spectacular. Food was amazing! Elevator was tiny however.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    75
    24
    14
    2
See reviews for
32
116
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florence
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

The first impression of the hotel put me off a bit - Hollywood look with animal prints, zebra rugs and round couches were a bit much, and not my personal style. But the hotel turned out to be quite comfortable and relaxing. The standard room was smaller than I expected, but was well equipped. The bed was very comfortable, with a nice large tv on the opposite wall. The wifi worked very well. There was a balcony looking towards the Alpi Apuane (mountains). The bathroom is very nice, and the complimentary products were a step above "normal", including conditioner and moisturizer.
The spa was fabulous, with whirlpool, Finnish sauna, Turkish bath, and lounge chairs where you can serve yourself tea. I had a 25 minute massage - super! Ourdoors there is a lovely pool, but of course being January it was too cold to swim.
The breakfast was the usual buffet selection which is being offered at hotels these days.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Parking on the property cost and extra 10 euros per day, so we left our car on the street, which was fine, given that it was not busy season.
I think that this would be a fabulous hotel for a getaway for guests flying into Pisa from northern Europe, especially during low season when it's not too busy, and prices are lower.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I have been there thanks to a GruopOn deal (so I can't give you an evaluation about price).
The Hotel is nice, clean and well managed. The swiming pool is nice even though they have small space around it. I liked the room and the SPA.
Not sure if it deserve "4*Lux" maybe 4* is the real classification.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Located 30 minutes from the convenient Pisa airport, the Mondial Resort and Spa is a warm, beautifully decorated hotel in Marina Di Pietrasanta, minutes away from chic Forte Dei Marmi and one block away from the beach. The hotel is impeccably decorated with accents reminiscent of Soho in NY coupled with cool art deco features of South Beach, Florida.

Besides being spacious and comfortable, the hotel boasts a very fine cuisine from the scrumptious breakfast buffet to five star dining! The owners, Massimo and Paola, greet newcomers like family and are obsessed with details as exemplified by the courtious and professional staff. I highly recommend staying at the Mondial Resort and Spa on your next visit to Italy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

The employees are great, the food is to die for, very boutique style very tastefully furnished! Oustanding service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Definitely not a 4 * hotel by all means. Wi-fi functions only close to the reception, the swimming pool nobody uses since it is not heated, breakfast is a total disaster, service etc. below expectations.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We've just returned from our two-week stay at Mondial and we agree with one of the provious reviews that Mondial could be one of the best 3 star hotels in Versilia, but it's definitely not a four star luxury hotel as it classifies itself. The hotel is fresh and pleasant looking, with good and varied breakfast, but that's not enough to win the four stars, especially not a '4 star luxury' classification.
Our first disappointment was our 'romantic' junior suite. I understand that pictures on the hotel website can be misleading, but when you book a room called a 'suite' you expect a larger room, with some sitting area. In fact our suite looked just like a small double, without any sofa (we were explained that all suites with sofas were booked). What was even more surprising, it did not have any regular shower cabin or bath. There was a jacuzzi with a handheld shower hose in it right in the small hall of the room (not in a separate room as it is said on the hotel website), without any shower curtain or shower walls. Maybe, seeing your partner taking shower can be romantic, but it is definitely not very convenient and practical and we always had water from the shower right in front of our room door. If such a room were called a 'double with jacuzzi' and priced as a double, we would not be so disappointed, but when you book a suite and pay for a suite, you definitely expect something bigger and at least with a regular shower.
Besides, there were no such standard things in the room as price list for the mini bar, no room service menu (maybe there is no room service at all), no list of phone numbers for reception and other hotel services. Besides, the night receptionist does not speak English, so if you do not speak Italian, address all you requests to the reception before the night shift. Room stock of shampoo, shower gel and body lotion is replenished irregularly. Cotton pads were brough only three times during two weeks.
As we were going to check out early, we asked the reception the day before to give us some snacks instead of breakfast and the receptionist promised to arrange it. However, when I asked the night reseptionist again in the morning where we could get the snacks he seemed not to understand anything. So, eventually we did not get anything.
Another problem with the hotel is beach and swimming pool. The swiming pool itself is nice and clean, with pleasant soft music playing all day, but there are definitely not enough chaise longues for all guests. So, you can find some other people on your sunbeds when you return from lunch even if you had left your staff on the sunbeds.
The hotel has arrangement with three beaches. When we arrived, all these beaches were booked, so we found another beach which had vacant sunbeds, but they did not provide towels. So we went back to the hotel and asked for pool towels. The hotel staff refused, saying that they give towels only if we go to one of their three beaches and suggested that we should go and buy our own towels. I do not think is a 4star luxury service.
As for the pool, there is no pool attendant to make sure there are always fresh pool towels (in the afternoon there are often no towels left at the pool) and help you with umbrellas etc.
It's rather a long review, but we decided to write it so that other travellers knew what to expect. It is could be an excellent three-star hotel, but it is not a 4 star luxury anyway.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mondial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondial Resort & Spa

Address: Via Duca Della Vittoria 129/131, 55044 Marina Di Pietrasanta, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Marina Di Pietrasanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marina Di Pietrasanta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Marina Di Pietrasanta
#6 Family Hotel in Marina Di Pietrasanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marina Di Pietrasanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mondial Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely restructured with a special attention for detail and for our guests comfort, our Hotel offers a sought after environment, pleasant and relaxing for holiday stays. Also, equipped Conference Rooms for up to 100 attendees, internet point, Wi-Fi in the common areas and free access to internet are ideal for meeting and events in Versilia and a wellness centerAll 40 rooms come with balcony or sea view . Our room inventory includes 20 Classic, 10 Deluxe and 10 Junior Suites ( 5 "Romantic" equipped with Jacuzzi ). Our rooms recall a warm and welcoming contemporary style, where the precious marbles of the baths and the elegant floor in parquet, unite d to the most modern comforters and services conditioned air and heating, minibar, Tv Sat, Sky, direct phone, safe, hairdryer, free access to internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mondial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondial Resort And Spa
Mondial Hotel Marina Di Pietrasanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondial Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.