We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ombrosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Ombrosa to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Ombrosa
Via Carducci 21, 55044 Marina Di Pietrasanta, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have just stayed in this lovely clean hotel. We loved the bathroom it is like a wet room with lovely hot showers. The food was excellent with ample to eat. The staff were friendly and helpful. The manager organised train times and even ordered our taxis so we could visit Florence. In the evenings we enjoyed several drinks and chatted to other guests, we had no trouble getting served. We would certaintly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    62
    21
    12
    5
See reviews for
51
57
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just returned from a lovely holiday in the resort . Hotel was clean , food good , staff were very welcoming and friendly . The manager was extremely helpful - helped us plan a lovely trip to Florence by train . The atmosphere in the bar in the evening was good - no trouble getting served . All in all a great hotel - without a doubt would go back again .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just returned from a great holiday with shearings to this lovely family run hotel . It is very clean and friendly the staff are very helpful.The food was good we had whatever we wanted too drink must admit probably a little more than we should. Well we where on our holidays .Hope to return very soon.

Room Tip: Top floor has no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I am astounded by some of the reviews of this hotel, we have just returned and found the hotel, excellent value for money, The staff were very accommodating and the hotel clean and comfortable, nothing was too much trouble. Just the one complaint we had was there was only red wine on the table at dinner, no white but that is being picky.
We would have no hesitation in going back there. If all Shearings hotels are as good as this, we would have no hesitation in booking with them again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tywyn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have just returned from a Shearings 9 day holiday. What a unfriendly hotel, miserable staff, a bar which is supposed to be open from 6pm till 10pm, you were lucky if you managed to get a drink from 6pm till 7pm as the staff were busy getting the evening meal ready. Between 7pm till almost 9pm you were waiting to be served your meal. Thats if you could call it a meal, we serve bigger portions to the grandchildren of 3yrs old.
The breakfast consisted of very hard rolls or bread, my teeth got stuck in it, it was so hard. Musili, cornflakes, plastic ham and cheese and an assortment of cakes or crossiants. Thats if there were any left! There was also a toast machine that took 10 mins to cook 2 slices of bread.
Evening meals had to be ordered the night before and consisted of a plain salad, tomatoes, lettuce, onions, cucumber and peppers. Either soup or pasta, we chose pasta everynight, one pasta had olives and bacon, which we didn't manage to find either ingredient in the pasta! Your were lucky to get 2 dessert spoonfulls, never being offered seconds either. The main meal was either fish every night or a flattened piece of chicken in breadcrumbs, and beef which was actually pork. The fish serving was no bigger than a fish finger and come plated with a tea spoon of peas and one, yes one slice of carrot!!! Dessert consisted one night of fruit cocktail, ( tinned) it was awful, other night we could not tell what we were given, we and our dining friends left it. It got to the point where we bought bread, pate, cheese, sardines and bananas to eat in the dining room.
The waiting on staff never smiled, on the last night a young lad dressed in superman shorts and tshirt started to plate food up, which was really not very hygenic. Plates were also handed to other guests to pass to you. They did smile on the last night when they put out a gratuity tray, needless to say, we didn't put anything in it.
A lot of training is needed in this hotel. They all need to learn how to smile at English guests. There were a lot of Germans staying there and they received a completly different attitude than the English, all smiles and welcomes to them.
Our room was actually good, but no tea making items and towel rail did not heat up.
The only saving grace at the hotel was Fernando the elderly owner, who suffers an illness. We had several good nights with his company, and drinks, thanks Fernando!!
We went on the optinal trip to Florence, well worth doing. Our coach crew, Shaun and Mark were great, Many thanks! Overall we had a great time but would never go back to this hotel or recommend it to any one.

Room Tip: We had a back room no 230, which had a good shower, small but adequate balcony, the only one on that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just returned from a 9 day break with Shearings holidays and stayed at the above hotel... Hotel bedrooms were basic but clean, no tea or coffee making facilities, The food was average and took approx two hours to be served, without a smile from any of the staff in the evening and the breakfast was a cold buffet style. There was a free bar, which run from 6pm to 10pm in the evening, however most of this time the free bar was open their customers were in the restaurant eating dinner!!! It is a family run hotel and the staff were unfriendly and not welcoming,it seemed as if they did not want us there.. nothing like a bright smile in the morning!!. The hotel did not have no outside seating area for people to relax and unwind and there is no pool or entertainment. The positive side of my holiday is that my fellow passengers were very, very friendly and we all got on well and I enjoyed their company. The coach drivers were excellent and very friendly, they also was very helpful and was very knowledgeable about all the places we travelled through and to. I will travel with Shearings again, as i have heard from fellow passengers that other hotels which they have stayed in has been more friendly and had better facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a big balcony as you get sun loungers, so you will have somewhere to relax in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Having holidayed in many places with many companies (on this occassion with SHEARINGS) as well as travelling independantly - I have yet to meet a more unenthusiastic, resentful,more 'unwelcoming' hotel team. Bearing in mind too that this is a family run hotel with the family at front of house. Not a smlie all week (and I mean that quite literally). Very obviously resentful of the fact that it was an all inclusive package- that I will add, wasn't overly abused by myself, having only consumed two glasees of beer in the whole week. Speaking Italian as i do, made not a jot of difference.
The rooms were clean, sparce in shower gel, soap etc. the lighting awful, the towels torn and not without holes.
The food was adequate, given what the package cost, but comparing like for like with Shearings packages, not as good as others.
There is no comfortable seating area outside or in.
We were not on our own in talking to fellow travellers who too felt the ambience left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Ombrosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ombrosa

Address: Via Carducci 21, 55044 Marina Di Pietrasanta, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Marina Di Pietrasanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Marina Di Pietrasanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Ombrosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Ombrosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.