We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for value, but far from perfection” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zen Hotel Versilia

Save Saved
You added Zen Hotel Versilia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zen Hotel Versilia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via A.Catalani, 63, 55045 Marina Di Pietrasanta, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Milan, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good price for value, but far from perfection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at Zen Hotel Versilia for six nights during our last summer holidays in Italy.
The Hotel was recently renewed with a modern style who gives it a special touch if compared with the "old style" hotels typical of the Tuscany Riviera.
The room was spacious and well designed, the bathroom with walk-in shower was comfortable as well.
The staff, as often happens, was not very friendly or helpful. Just doing their job and nothing more.
We had a room at the 4th floor: the WiFi internet connection was not available in room due to poor signal.
The continental breakfast served in the morning was good, with a moderate choice of food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    32
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
51
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mons
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This modern style hotel is situated in a quite area with a 4 minute walk to the beach. The standard double room me and my wife booked turned out to be spacious, with wooden floors, modern style bathroom and a nice balcony. The hotel is very clean and everything is in perfect order. A rich breakfast bufet is served by a very friendly and effective staff. The hotel has it's own garage, which seem to be important in an area with rather narrow streets and few parking possibilities. The most significant about this hotel is the staff. We stayed for 2 weeks and really felt that every member of the staff went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. One example; when we asked about the possibilities for gluten free pizza in the area, the hotel chef suggested to make it for us at the hotel, and so they did. The resataurant on the roof serves great food and has a spectacular view. It is very easy to recommend this hotel, you will not be disapointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were on honeymoon and the staff treated us really very well. They were attentive and always on hand, even on the rooftop terrace to get you anything you needed. They were also generous enough to provide us with some bubbly and strawberries on our arrival as a welcome.

The hotel is in a great little spot, two blocks from the beach and about a 15 minute walk from the cluster of restaurants and shops. It's also close to the autostrade so you can easily take day trips out: we spent the day in Lucca (about 25 minutes away.)

It's best feature though is it's terrace pool. On one side are the alps, and on the other the sea.

The only negative point I could make would be about the restaurant. On our first night we thought we'd stop at the hotel and just have dinner there. The meal was actually very poor, and at 70 euros before drink it was by far the most expensive we had in Versilia. Much better to get out to one of the restaurants.

Again though if you don't feel like eating there, the staff will make recommendations and reservations for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We just returned from a trip to Tuscany and stayed 3 nights at this hotel. We chose it because it is near the beach and less than an hour to get to the train to the Cinqueterre.
The hotel is really nice, recently renovated. The furniture and bathrooms are very modern and everything is clean.
The staff was nice to us. Parking and breakfast are included.
Overall, it is really good value for money in an area that is expensive.

Room Tip: You see the ocean on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Since we decided to travel with our newborn (1 month) son to Iztaly we were looking for an accomodation that would serve both: the needs of the parents ;-D to have a high standard clean and convenient Hotel with modern rooms and good service. AND: A hotel that would be kid friendly. to make it short: One cannot expect more.
It started with our early arrival (8:30 in the morning) and the stuff did not even think a second but gave us a room already that early even thogh normal check in starts at 2pm. Rooms are perfectly tidy, very modern, brilliantly equiped bath, tasteful furniture, spacious balcony with view on the carrar marmel mountains. Not to mention that they offered us to go to the buffet breakfast without extra charging this.
Breakfast is GREAT offering every day scrammbled eggs, a variety of homemade cakes, fresh fruits, homemade fruit saladcerelas, ham, cheese, a variety of different breads, yoghurts, fruit juices etc. etc. - basically everything one could wish .

Regarding children. The staff was so friendly they really showed that kids are not a "have to accept" but are VERY welcome. Without asking we got a babybed, they offer babyseats in the dining rooms as well as they have modern kid-seats for the (free of charge) hotel bicycles. Need hot water in the night. just a call and you get it...

On the roof they have a marvellous lounge (with pool) area which serves for sunbathing during the day and is changed to the hotels dining area (a la carte kitchen is marvellous!!! and very good price/value ratio) with a wonderful view to the near sea and the mountains.

Our car was parked in the garage and vallet parked and fetched there every time we came/went out - 24 hours!!!
When we left a 3 in the morning to avoid traffic in St Gotthard the night stuff was very very friendly offering us coffee and helping with the luggage...


So - in short: GO there - you will love it. We will definitley come back :_D

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for 10 days in early July 2011 with my wife and our 1.5 years old daughter. Firstly, it's a very nice small hotel in an excellent location (300 m from the beach) which I would recommend to all who is considering Toscani. Nice new rooms, generally friendly staff. However there are a number of things that one needs to be aware of in order to manage expectations. Firstly, the menu in the restaurant is quite a narrow choice which i guess is okay if you come for 3-4 days but not longer, the quality is okay but not great. No room service (only breakfast), no food service in between hours. Secondly, smelly bathroom, kind of smell you get in old houses. Thirdly, wi-fi Internet is only available in the lobby area with extremely poor signal. This not what is advertised and I believe not good for 4 star hotel these days. And lastly, on the hospitality side - we felt really welcomed and cared for in the first 3 days, after that the staff seemed not to care much about services to us and new guests and especially Italian guests were given the priority - not what you expect for the nice price they charge. Annoyed me with charging 5 euros for a cup of hot water for baby food each morning delivered to the room. Otherwise great stay!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and were delighted with the hotel, staff and location.

Our room was stylishly furnished with a large balcony and the hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was very good and we particularly enjoyed the free drinks on the roof terrace on the second night of our stay.

We can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: The best views are on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zen Hotel Versilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zen Hotel Versilia

Address: Via A.Catalani, 63, 55045 Marina Di Pietrasanta, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Marina Di Pietrasanta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 hotels in Marina Di Pietrasanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zen Hotel Versilia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Versilia area, 400 metres from the beaches and a short distance from the centre of Marina di Pietrasanta. The hotel has been completely rebuilt in 2010, in a modern style with interiors of linear and sophisticated design. In the terrace roof you can find a Jacuzzi pool, solarium and summer bar. The restaurant offers a traditional Italian cuisine. Underground garage and bike rentals available at a charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Zen Hotel Versilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zen Hotel Versilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.