We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personable staff, beautiful setting and a great night sleep!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caprice

Save Saved
You added Hotel Caprice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Caprice
Via delle Pinete, 3, 54037 Marina di Massa, Massa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Personable staff, beautiful setting and a great night sleep!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

At just a stones throw away from the free sandy beaches of Marina di Massa and within seconds of walking to the centre of town, Hotel Caprice could not be more favourably located. The staff are extremely hospitable, and seem to speak every language in Europe. When you wake up and bumble down to a lovely simple Italian breakfast, you will find owners Graham and Donata offering a warmly welcomed freshly made cappuccino. Hotel Caprice itself is great, just what we needed for our week away from London. Beds are comfy, the rooms and en suite bathrooms have ample space, and the rooms are exceptionally clean (with swans made from towels on the bed)! I will be coming back first and foremost due to the wonderful hospitality of the hotel's owners.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham Donata N, Owner at Hotel Caprice, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Google Translation
Il personale delle camere è stato proprio contento quando hanno letto che vi siete ricordati degli asciugani a "cigno"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
19
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our family has just come back from 1 week in this nice little hotel. If you want an accomandation where you feel welcome - no anonymous all-inclusive exchangeable hotel - I can really recommend the Caprice. We will definitely come back here.

Donata and Graham are very warm and gentle, but at the same time unintruding people. Besides Italian, they speak fluent English and German. They are VERY helpful. A nice little chat about the Italian weather or a lenghty, intelligent conversation about much more serious matters ... Thank you again Graham for the live-saving English cup of tea and all that went with it.

The small hotel is close to the beach and the tiny town center / pedestrian walks - each only about 1-2 min. walk away. At the same time, it is very calm, good for a peaceful night :-)

There is no air-conditioning - but don't worry: we had 37° C during the day in the sun, but our room never even got slightly uncomfortable (quite the opposite), and during the evening / night there is always a nice refreshing breeze. So please regard it as a pro - not a contra ;-)

There is a big space for secure parking on the premises.

The rooms are simple, with high ceilings. Our 3-bed room was spacious with en-suite bathroom. Everything is very clean, the rooms are cleaned every day, beds are being made.

Somebody here mentioned his/her disappointment about the breakfast. Well, it really is no big deal and on the sweet side ... but that's typical for Italy, we didn't expect anything else.

We had similar breakfasts in every single Italian hotel or B&B, except the few times in really posh, expensive hotels. So please change your expectations accordingly :-)

So we totally recommend this hotel for couples (regardless of age) , families, singles - just not for party people.

For this prize, the hotel is a great value - you will get more then you pay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham Donata N, Owner at Hotel Caprice, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per questa recensione così dettagliata, è stato un piacere stare a chiacchierare insieme e... il nostro tedesco è un pò zoppicante ma ci siamo arrangiati no?
Ora che Sebastian si è trasferito in Germania siamo sicuri che migliorerà!
Vielen Grussen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of May 2012 for a week to get away from the dreadful rain in London. When we arrived we were greeted with the warmth of the Tuscan sun and the personalities of Graham and Donata. We had a lovely start each morning with a coffee and breakfast selection of pastries. The hosts were very knowledgable and always gave us great advice on what to see and do each day. The hotel also offers discounts for local restaurants of which we tried all and were blown away with the quality and value of the food.

The room was very clean and had an ensuite and a view of the sea from our private balcony.

On the front of the hotel there is another balcony with a beautiful view of the Carrara mountains.

Stepping out of the hotel it is a 2 minute walk to the beach and town centre.

This is a perfect bed and breakfast for both couples, families and lone travellers.

Like a home from home, thanks for making us so welcome.

We can't wait to visit again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham Donata N, Owner at Hotel Caprice, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Google Translation
Grazie della recensione e speriamo di potervi offrire ancora un pò di sole italiano!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Just spend the better part of a week with friends at Hotel Caprice to celebrate my 50th!... Absolutly Charming and couldnt have asked for a better place to do it!! A block off the beach and close to the center of town so everything was within walking distance.... Graham & Donata, the owners, are always available to answer questions,give directions, points of interest...etc.. The rooms are perfectly italian... spacious, clean basic airy with beautiful views...
The espresso machine is always on for a perfect coffee drink and the breakfast was plentiful.....
Close to Florence, Lucca & Pisa by train and Forte Di Marmi is just down the beach, a beautiful 8 km walk along the sea, or a taxi or the bus will get you there faster...If you want a relaxing, charming get away from the craziness of the big cities, get yourself to Hotel Caprice and enjoy the experience... I cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham Donata N, Owner at Hotel Caprice, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for all the nice things you said about us.
I know we are very far away... but it would be lovely to see you again in future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

My husband and I had a great experience during our stay at Hotel Caprice and would recommend it to couples or families visiting Marina di Massa. The hotel itself is architecturally interesting, set back from the road in a lush garden setting. Our third floor room was very clean, comfortable and had a small balcony overlooking the back garden. The location was very close to the beach, and also easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and a grocery store (we especially liked the Crepe shop just a few blocks away). We rented a car in Italy and it was nice to know there was plenty of parking available when we came home from our day trips. The owners were very accommodating in helping us with any need or information, including good suggestions on day trips and help with directions. If we find ourselves in this area on future travels, we will definitely return to Hotel Caprice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham Donata N, Owner at Hotel Caprice, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
So glad you liked your time in Marina di Massa and in our Hotel.
It would be great to see you again, so I hope you decide for another trip to Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salò, Brescia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

A small family run hotel with a huge garden and large car park. The owners were always ready to advise us regarding trips to Florence and soforth. We took the Bed and Breakfast option. The breakfast was large and very satisfactory. Every evening we would return from a trip and jump into the cool sea close by. Thank you Donata and Graham Donata for a lovely stay,

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham Donata N, Owner at Hotel Caprice, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caprice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprice

Address: Via delle Pinete, 3, 54037 Marina di Massa, Massa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Massa Carrara > Massa > Marina di Massa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Marina di Massa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run Hotel very friendly and relaxing,no frills,only B&B services. We are 70m. From the beach, 100m. From the centre. We have a large garden with parking under the trees for all our clients. We speak English, French and German. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Caprice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caprice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.