We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great way to see Venice at an affordable place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roma

Hotel Roma
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Roma to your Saves list
Hotel Roma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cesare Beccaria, 11, 30175 Marghera, Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
sudbury, ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great way to see Venice at an affordable place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This Hotel is well situated close to bus stops, and a few very good restaurants. Its literally a 20 min ride into Venice where you can take the vaporetto (water bus) to anywhere in the island. The only problem we had was finding our way back as you just dont know which stop to get off of. We quickly learned to get off at Piazza Parmesan, and the bus driver was helpful in announcing it, after being asked to do so.. The hotel itself is well run by 2 brothers and a sister. So you can depend on the quality of a family run business. The rooms are clean, spacious, well appointed with a 'large' bathroom and a shower, big enough for a couple to get in or a very large person. Next door we made use of a coin operated laundromat. The breakfast is huge and there is a large variety of cereal, fruits, and yes 'eggs'. We enjoyed the advise of the brothers concerning where to eat and how to get around. Certainly worth the money and much cheaper than staying in Venice itself where the rooms can run you much higher.

Room Tip: get a room close to the elevator facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    50
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was a quaint place. The price was reasonable, the location was quite good, the staff was helpful, and the room was clean. If you take the bus there from St. Mark's, you want the 6 with the red strike. We took the 6 bus and were terribly lost and when we finally got there, we were told we wanted the 6 with the red strike -- subtle distinction with a very problematic result. We booked it again for when were to return to Venice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester park
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My family have stayed in this hotel many times over the years. Very convenient for visitors to Venice and only a short bus ride away from the hustle and bustle of hotels in Venice itself. Staff are always ready to help, the prices are very reasonable and the facilities all you need. This establishment gets a 5 star recommendation from us. We would add don't be put off by the distance from Venice. Public transport is excellent and you just need the No. 6 from around the corner. From the Airport, if you haven't got a mass of luggage, take the number 15 and ask to get off at the first stop on Via Beccaria. If you have any spare time, there is also a good Street Market every Tuesday and Saturday in Marghera, less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel. So there you have it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We selected this place in Mestre because we had so many negative reviews of Venice hotels. It is actually in a place called Marghera which is a port. Buses connect to Mestre station but better to inform the driver or you might get carried away . The hotel is comfortably linked by bus to Vencie island which is a 10 minutes ride. The front end was very courteous and helpful. They even tried their best to book an advance ticket for us for the San Marco cathedral by internet. The three bedded room was very clean with good toilet but somewhat cramped . Breakfast spread was great and sumptuous. They do not have any restaurant. An Ali supermarket about 6 minutes walk is useful for your needs. They have their own parking lot and it is a quiet area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our greatest dilemma before our arrival was how we would travel to Venice in the convenient way - car/train/etc.
When we arrived to the hotel, we owner gave us a great solution - apparently there is #6 bus just around the corner, that would take you to Venice in 20 minutes for ~2euros round trip. No need to find special parking for the car. For us it was great relief.

About the hotel itself - Big room, great shower, air-conditioning inside the room. Breakfast had a large variety, great Italian coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Basic hotel but contains everything you need - clean rooms, nice breakfast, friendly staff. A 10 minute bus journey into Venice, it is a cheaper option than staying right in Venice. The hotel is a little outdated though and could do with a bit of a make over.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nice clean room with private bathroom. Good complimentary european style breakfast buffet. Friendly staff. Couple of restaurants at walking distance. Venice is only about 15-minute ride by public bus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Address: Via Cesare Beccaria, 11, 30175 Marghera, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre > Marghera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Roma, recently redecorated, is located only 1000 m from Venice-Mestre railway station. Close to major motorway crossings, it is well connected to historical Venice. The 21 rooms have bathroom, color TV, telephone with intercontinental direct dialing. Open all year round, the Hotel Roma offers dining-room with large buffet, TV room, bar and enclosed parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Marghera
Hotel Roma Province Of Venice/Marghera, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.