We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Low Budget Hotel - Ideal Location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vienna Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Vienna Hotel to your Saves list
Vienna Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Giorgio Rizzardi, 54, 30175 Marghera, Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Northumberland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Low Budget Hotel - Ideal Location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hi, just got back from Venice (November 2012).
Can I just point out that Venice is one of the most expensive cities to visit in the world and I advise to google hotel prices in venice before criticising this hotel!
2 x adults and 2 x teenagers - we got flights from Leeds Bradford and stayed in The Hotel Vienna on the outskirts of Venice from Tuesday to Saturday, we booked through Travel Republic and paid for airport parking and paid £600 total. Yes, £600 for ALL of us!
Take a flight to Venice airport (Traviso I think it's called) then get on the shuttle coach which is just outside the airport and costs 7 euro's each. This drops you off at Mestre train station. Go into the station and go downstairs into the 'subway' - there are signs on the wall directing you to Marghera. Walk along this subway and outside head towards the fountain/roundabout. The hotel is near this fountain. It is a (timed) 7 minute walk. People who got a bus from the train station must not have known about the subway because it is a less than 10 min walk away. The hotel is a rough as you would expect for the price we paid but still it was okay. It smells like a chinese takeaway but not horrible. Staff were nothing but nice and friendly, breakfast was typical continental. No air con but heating. Honestly I challenge you to find me a better hotel and flights for that price in the school holidays!! And venice is AMAZING!!!

Room Tip: We got a family room for 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    13
    25
    29
    38
See reviews for
23
31
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hotel Vienna is one of the worse hotels I have stayed while in Europe. I booked 2 rooms and stayed for a night due to its 3-star rating as advertised. The reception area was ok with 2 lifts serving the floors. However, the rooms were small, smelly with the air-con struggling to cool the rooms (we stayed in mid August with average day temp at around 35 degree). Both the room and toilet were looking very outdated and suffered from a lack of maintenance. The TV in the room was one of those cathode ray tube set that went into extinction some 15 years ago. Sound proofing was an issue too as we could clearly hear noises and conversations from both the corridor and the next room. The bathroom was a total disgrace, very run down with rusted metals and stains everywhere. The shower was looking like a make shift item right in the middle of bathroom and in front of the toilet with shower curtain. I beleive a 3* star hotel should have at least a decent shower cubicle/facility. The flooring was uneven, wet and slippery once one had a shower. Although there was a hair dryer, but it was broken and not working. The breakfast was not looking very appetising too. There were also frequent coaches bringing in Asian tourists to either stay or dine in its restaurants. Do not be fooled by its 3* rating as Hotel Vienna is best a 1* hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Have just spent a couple of nights here. We were a party of four females with age range from 21-70. After reading some of the previous comments I was not expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were smallish but clean, the beds were quite comfortable and the breakfast was continental and more than adequate with a good choice and nobody looking over your shoulder counting how much you had. Being only a 5 minute walk from the train station and the stop for the transfer bus from Treviso airport is an added bonus. The staff were friendly. Yes, we could have got an hotel on the island but would have had to pay a lot more and the 10 minute train ride over (2 euro.60 return) was no chore.
For a short break this hotel is ideal if all you are looking for is a clean bed and basic breakfast. It looks like it caters for a lot of asians (I believe it is Chinese owned) so, all the more interesting. I agree the air con was not working at capacity but even so the room was not unacceptably hot. I would use this hotel again if I return as for the price we paid I consider I we got good value. Be aware that city tax is payable 1.80 per night each on top of the room price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Average hotel, lovely and relaxing! Right around the corner from Venice mestre rain station (literally 2mins) and only takes 5 mins to get Ito Venice on the train! Breakfast included too!(although slept over alarm so did not have it)
Deffinately recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Rooms were OK but were smelling very bad. To add to that the AC was not working. We were told that work was going on to make it work but that never happened till the next morning. Till late night, lot of noise on the corridors by various groups. As mentioned in one of the earlier reviews, this hotel has one, at least one rude staff. Free parking & good breakfast were plus points.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Although the location is good (you can can take the bus and get to the station in 10/15 minutes), the hotel has a rude and bad trainned staff. You pay for the stay, but you feel they are making you a big favour. The rooms are poor, the walls need to be repainted and everything looks old and smells old. The Internet never works and they get angry if you complain. They charge a very high price if you need to use the garage. It seems they adapted the hotel to turn it into a 3 stars categoy...

The furniture was dark and old.

The noise, coming from everywhere was umbereable!

The bathroom is quite small and the shower box doors were falling apart.

At least, the towels seemed to be clean as well as the sheets.

The breakfast was poor, but this was the smallest problem.

My final question is: how could it be 3 stars??

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one, if it is possible there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

When my friend and I were scrambling to find accommodations in Venice, we realised it would be too expensive to stay in the city itself so we looked at hotels just outside Venice and the Vienna Hotel was one of them. You must walk to a nearby train station from the hotel (about a 5 minute walk) then take a train to Venice. I'm Asian myself (but from Canada) and thought it would be a good kick to stay here since one of the review titles was "You will feel at home in this place if you've been to China" :-)

Here is the one CON of this hotel:
1. The smell. It is atrocious. It's like mold, chinese food, and cigarette all at once. Mind you, we stayed here in the dead of winter.. so I can't fathom what it would smell like once the weather's warmer. Anything you leave in the room also picks up the smell so our jackets and backpacks and all that were very .

Pros of this hotel:
-Cheap
-Free breakfast
-Nice management
-Vienna is next to a great wine place that would fill our empty water bottles with vino in the early mornings to start our day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vienna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vienna Hotel

Address: Giorgio Rizzardi, 54, 30175 Marghera, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre > Marghera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vienna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Stars Hotel located next to the Railways Station of Venice Mestre. Full comforts, 15 mins journey to reach Venice Island, Marco Polo Airport and Venice Motorway Exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vienna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Hotel Province Of Venice/Marghera, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vienna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.