We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great italian food! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Calesse

Al Calesse
Via Beccaria 24, 30175 Marghera, Mestre, Italy
+39 (0)41 922570
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Marghera
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Gothenburg
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great italian food! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We chose this restaurant because of the good reviews and the location near our hotel in Marghera. We were so happy with this visit. Great food, cheap prices and the local feeling!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    43
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We happened by this place while taking an evening walk from Hotel Roma few blocks away. It was noonish and only one person inside but we were famished from our trip. We sat down to the absolute best pizza and bruschetta in Venice, It was so good! We couldn't believe that there wasn't anyone in here! We decided to go back later that night and saw that the place was absolutely packed with locals, huge families and a 30 min wait for a table for food that was very much worth it. One of our favorite restaurants in Italy. Great deal for the money too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Very good - very Italian, and inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We found this restaurant by chance. (It was just down the bock from the Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera). The vinegar steak was excellent as was the fresh tuna salad. But the best ever was the bruschetta. We could have had that item for dessert. The facility is clean. The staff was helpful and the menu was in English.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Big portions and Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Authentic Italian food at a reasonable price, lots of locals eating there which is always a good sign.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OMG - the amount of food is unbelievable - be careful what you order!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

12 of us ate at this restaurant on a recent weekend to Venice and for sure we didn't leave hungry. The food did come out in a bit of a haphazard fashion so we would suggest ordering one course at a time - we had side dishes coming out with starters, mains before starters and so on! . The starters are more expensive than the main course (about 10euros) but
rightly so with the size of it - recommend the mozerella and parma ham (a whole dinner plate full!) Restaurent was very busy. Easy to find if you're staying at the Mecure Venezia (a simple 10 min walk)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Calesse also viewed

 
Favaro Veneto, Mestre
 

Been to Al Calesse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Calesse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.