We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss International Il Magnifico

Save Saved
You added Swiss International Il Magnifico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss International Il Magnifico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Principe Amedeo, 94, 57033 Marciana Marina, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Marciana Marina
Herzele, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Wonderful Stay !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel ! Everyone was so helpful ! We really enjoyed everything.
A nice, clean in- and outdoor swimming pool. Very friendly people. Very spacious en clean bedrooms. Breakfast was good, everything was there even bio-products, low-calorie products.
Nearby the Sea, by foot 2 min walk to the center, with a lot of nice shops.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    46
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
23
60
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Il Magnifico is not de Luxe.
As some contributors before me, I was disappointed discovering the reality .

Five stars go to the staff. Really trying hard to be helpful and good professionals .
Rooms are clean and spacious . A courtesy kit is provided and the balcony has a charming sea view .
Breakfast is rich . The swimming pool small but pretty useful in hot summer .

For the "cahier des doleances" I`d underline the following :

- moquette old and dirty ;
- the bathroom needs some urgent refreshing .Shower handheld is a real minus . Furnitures were undoubtely deluxe..but some years ago ;
- TV screen pretty small ;
- no courtesy water bottles. No one is obliged but it would it be pretty appreciated with this temperature ;
- canape was broken ;
- walls too thin . A big minus especially when your neighbours have a 6 months old happily screaming baby ; escpecially when the baby decides to prove his crying skills everyday at 6.00 am ;
- location few hundreds metres from the city center . But the access to the the marina is not that easy , especially uphill with no sidewalk and under over 35 Celsius ;
- difficult to find . Almost hidden and not well advertised on the road ;
- breakfast should be personalised. Especially for a 4 starts in Italy. serving some local food wouldn`t be a mistake .
- last but not least , the ratio quality / price is at least 20% unbalanced.

Room Tip: Ask for the ones with more recent bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

We had reservations about a hotel that describes itself as magnifico or deluxe in the name. And the hotel pictures seem to give an impression of a run of the mill 3 star seaside establishment. But we were pleasantly surprised by the welcoming drinks, the fabulous breakfasts, the faultless room services, and generally the hotel services. The attentions to detail meant that we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Judging from the reviews of this hotel we fully expected to find a charming boutique hotel..... well finding it was the first problem - there was no signage so after driving around the marina several times we happened to find it by accident.

The hotel is clean, very functional and completely devoid of charm. There is no artwork, no warm furnishings, no atmosphere whatsoever. It is not the sort of place where you would happily spend an evening drinking at the bar.

The pool looks great from the photos but what the pictures don't tell is that its directly on the main road and there is the constant noise of passing traffic - thank heavens for Ipods and headphones. They could do with investing in some decent loungers rather than the plastic variety with plastic mattresses - this was rather cheap and nasty and not what is expected from a 4 star establishment.

The hotel only serves breakfast, which to be fair, is a reasonable repast. However lunch and dinner will require a walk down to the marina (10 minutes) on the main road (with no pavements). In hot weather this is quite tedious especially the walk back which is uphill.

Our room was fine, although lacking in charm. The bed was large and very hard. TV had over 100 channels - not one in English!

The bathroom well appointed although for some reason the shower was hand held. Towels were very thin but adequate and the hotel provided all the essentials such as toothpaste, shavers etc.

The hotel is clearly trying hard but at this stage it falls well short of a good 4 star hotel in terms of ambience and service. The staff were especially nice and always trying to be helpful but I'm not sure that the hotel management have really understood the concept of top quality service. They could do with injecting some atmosphere, provide some lunch (especially poolside), have someone come round offering drinks by the pool rather than the guest having to walk dripping wet into the bar to order.

Having said that the little port is great, we were probably the only English people in town and it was a true Italian experience, including the nightly promenade down the the waterfront. Some good restaurants and some very average ones.

Would I visit again - definitely. Would I stay at this hotel again - very unlikely unless they upped their game and understood the difference between functionality and provision of an 'experience'.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast and an all round friendly place to staff. Both the hotel staff and guests were entertaining and interested in our baby girl which she loved all the attention. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Just had a wonderful 10 days at the Il Magnifico. This was our first proper holiday without kids! and could not have been better. The staff are very helpful and pleasent without being intrusive. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable.Lovely pool and setting,always plenty of sunbeds,in fact a lot of the time we had the pool to our selves .Only about a 5 minute walk to the Marina where there are lovely shops and resturants. We booked half board but as the hotel was quiet they arranged for us to eat at the restuarant Zorba which was a lovely location and looking over the sea, at no extra charge. I would say its perfect for couples. Our only problem was our flight was delayed and we missed our ferry. The ferry company Moby changed to a later one with no problem, but this meant we arrived in Elba in the dark, we found our way to Marciana Marina quite easily, but with a lot of narrow and winding roads not easy in the dark, We could not find hotel as there was no name until you go through the gates, so if you go it is next door to Hotel Gabriano Auzura.
The island is very pretty and unspoilt and found enough to do. I would reccomend a car but there are buses to get round. we do not usually go back to the same place but would consider this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

perfect for our week end in italy.
Excellent staff and helpfull !!!
Fantastic pool for our relax.
we stay in Italy for 3 week and this is one of the most beautiful places where we stayed.
we will suggest to our friends this hotels for any trip in elba island.
Thanks for all an see you next time

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss International Il Magnifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss International Il Magnifico

Address: Principe Amedeo, 94, 57033 Marciana Marina, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marciana Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Marciana Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss International Il Magnifico 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms and suites with free and fast Wi-Fi, fully renovated in 2011 with refined furnishings and carefully chosen colours, impress with their discreet luxury. Spacious bathrooms and lounges full of daylight with their own furnished balcony, create an atmosphere of coziness and relaxation Provided with all amenities the rooms are classed in Classic, Junior Suite, Junior Suite Major, with whirlpool bath and the Large Major Suite with a separated large living-room. Family rooms are available, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Swiss International Il Magnifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss International Il Magnifico Elba Island/Marciana Marina, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss International Il Magnifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.