We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much going for it ~ shame about the rooms and food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barsalini

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marciana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Barsalini
Save
You added Hotel Barsalini to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spiaggia di Sant Andrea, 57030 Marciana, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Marciana
North Wales
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“So much going for it ~ shame about the rooms and food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

The ambience in the general areas of the hotel was terrific ~ Daniel in the bar was excellent, a real treasure. The food in restaurant was (only just) OK. The rooms were a real disappointment, 70's furnishings, faded and mis matched, also garish dark green paint on walls ~ dreadful lights on wall over bed ~ like something out of a public lavatory and way too bright ~ like interogation lights. Virtually no drawer space (one small one in desk) and two awful built in tiny wardrobes around bed ~ no bedside tables. Whoever was responsible for the very attractive decor in the general areas of the hotel should take a look at these rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barsalini, Proprietario at Hotel Barsalini, responded to this review, October 9, 2010
Dear clients,

Thanks for your comment…. Our hotel was building 50 years ago from my father .
Year after year, the hotel update a restyling, in the room and in the public area and always with a good quality price …and we think that we always must go in better.. Just for this, in one month, we begin the work-progress for restyling the last rooms of the hotel the cant compare to the other new room and public area too. Your room in fact was one of those.. ( we are a small family-company and we really cant make every year “important” update, for this we must take our time..) So, for the future we invite you to back to visit us that you can rate us again..

Best regards

The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    40
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
80
65
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Very disappointed by this hotel, as it really is not couple-friendly, despite their own advertisement as a relaxing and romantic location. The room was very noisy, right next to the pool. The beach is small, very crowded, lots of families with kids. For families this place might be right, but for younger couples, truly not the right place. Due to the noise and how crowded it was, we left after one night. The owner made us pay for another night - not the best service. I would only recommend this place for families with little kids.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barsalini, Proprietario at Hotel Barsalini, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
Kind Sir,

I do remember you, like I remember all ours clients. It’s right that in our hotel, because we are located near the beach at a few steps, sometimes you can find a lot of kids, but the hotel dispose a small -spa or well-being area in an open space garden with view over the Gulf of St Andrea, sauna and hydrotherapy, all for the relaxation of our clients.
On your arriving day, September 5, on the bar’s terrace took place my son’s 2 years birthday party , where we had invited all the clients of the hotel, fiends and kids. Sorry ‘but how can we not party our son’s birthday?!’
About the beach, I have to say that every single one of Elba Island you will find’it crowded until September 15, and the same the beach of Capo St Andrea, but there are wonderfull silent places on the cliffs with clear water also..
And the other night that you payed, with discount, is only a normal tax that is payed everywere when in the full season you book a week and you choose to leave after the first night, without giving us any possibility to make you enjoy the staying in our hotel or get to know us.

All the best!
Davide, Eva and the little Paolo Barsalini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

We visited Elba on the final leg of our honeymoon touring around Tuscany. We wanted a quiet, relaxing place by the beach to take in the sun. Hotel Barsalini was definitely this. When we arrived the service was excellet and we were given a tour of the hotel. We were then taken to our room. We had one of the best rooms in the hotel as we were on honeymoon. The room was lovely with a four poster bed and the room had it's own spacious sun terrace outside with views of the sea and the bay.
The hotel is a one minute walk to the beach. Some parts of the beach are free but most of it is about 20 Euros per lounger for the day. The beach was a sand beach with lovely clear water. But if you are not a sea fan then the hotel alos has a nice pool.
The hotel provided either lunch or dinner within the cost., The evening meal was a bit of a scrum for the vegetables and salad that went with the main meal so we had lunch as our meal for the other days. There was a couple of restaurants in the area (it is quite a small resort) for evening meals- we went to the Saracen Pizzeria nearby which had very nice stone baked pizzas and other tarditional food.
We had a great time here as we wanted a few days at the beach. I think if you stayed a week or more you may want to have a hire car to travel to other areas.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Travelled to elba on my own and didnt know that much about the island, i was greeted by Eva and Davide as one of thier own. Impeccable food, prompt service, great location!! so close to the beach!!! great spot to just enjoy and relax.. great evening activities.. and day time actvities.. fell in love with scuba diving!!!

Music at nights, boat rides by day, relaxing spa retreat and endless food!!! one of the best holidays I've ever had.. will be back here again!! thankyou Eva & Davide for making my holiday an experience i will never forget!!..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We travel a lot all over the Europe but this place and the hotel is really amazing. Capo Sant'Andrea is propably one of the best and most charming place on Elba. Cozy, sandy beach is ideal for sunbathe. There is also stone coast near there. Water is very warm, ca.+25 Cel. (we were in first week in July) and crystal clear. You can snorkelling, there are a lot different fish to see. On the left on the beach there is also small boat rental. For resonable price you can do a half-day trip along the coast (you don't have to have any licences). Danielle - the owner is very niece and helpful.
Now something about Hotel Barsalini.
It is a very friendly, cosy and family hotel run by very charming and well-matched Polish-Italian couple - Ewa and Davide. They join Polish hospitality and Italian temperament. Many others hoteliers could teach from them how to look after the guests and fulfil their expectations. Ewa is very cheerful and helpful all the time and prepares exquisite desserts. Davide is also very nice and perfect in wine selection for a dinner. He has quite big wine cellar from Elba and others Italy's DOC for resonable prices. Breakfasts are tasty and sufficiently but dinners are really lavish, elaborate and very tasty. You can choose with a few different dishes.
The hotel is loceted directly on the beach (just 2 steps). Some rooms have a beautiful views over sea and others of the garden. Rooms are cozy, some with air-condition or ceiling funs.
Hotel consists of few buildings located on different levels and joined small paths and has a few beautiful gardens full of flowers, herbs and trees (what a scent). In the morning you can hear very pleasant birds' songs. There are also small but very nice swimming pool.
At the top there is sauna and jacuzzi with an amazing view of sea.
Room service is top level. Each week the owners organize live music or dances.
All these things make this hotel unforgettable place where you aren't anonymous guest and can feel as in paradise.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

Cape Andrea is a little tucked away oasis, and this hotel is an oasis within an oasis. The hotel owner is really friendly (even though she doesn't speak any english!), the hotel offers room and 1/2 board at a very reasonable price. The guy who runs the bar speaks 5 languages, including english, is very friendly and also helps explain the dinner menu. His apperetivo buffet + cocktails between 7-8 (before dinner starts) was something we really looked forward to! The rooms are comfortable + satellite tv. and ours had a terrace with a view of the ocean. Free Wifi is available at the hotel; the pool is beautiful and there are various places around the hotel to just lounge in the sun.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, North Italy, close to the alps and lakes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

When i decide to spend two or three days in this beautiful island, i came in this Hotel.
Located in a very particular, romantic place, a small lonely beach (S. Andrea Beach), it has a family management, very clean rooms, some of them with sea view.
The hotel is quaint, the cuisine is tipical italian, the onwer is very friendly.
It is a particular experience I suggest if you have in program to visit this beatiful italian place.
Not far from the hotel, you can reach by road the Costa del Sole (Sun Coast), with a unique view of Corse Island and other minor islands.
A very good experience I suggest you.

  • Liked — Place, silence, beach, nature, food.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barsalini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barsalini

Address: Spiaggia di Sant Andrea, 57030 Marciana, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marciana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Marciana
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marciana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barsalini 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Barsalini Hotel Marciana
Hotel Barsalini Elba Island/Marciana, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barsalini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.