We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant yet casual, peaceful with great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Ilio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel Ilio to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel Ilio
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Sant' Andrea, 5, 57030 Marciana, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Marciana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Elegant yet casual, peaceful with great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this boutique hotel in September, this corner of the island of Elba is beautiful and the time of year was perfect, still warm but not too crowded.
The hotel is spread out in what I believe used to be the owner's family's property, renovated and thus no modern construction that goes up. The rooms are spread out, over the main building and to the back around a quiet, gorgeous garden that had cushioned lounge chairs and tables perfect for reading and some of the rooms were around this garden. Everything is surrounded by greenery, lots of trees and among the vegetation you can catch glimpses of the sea.

Arriving with our 1 year old daughter in tow (how could we leave her behind ;-)), we were actually shown two rooms and given the choice to pick which one we preferred, taking her needs into consideration.... we ended up picking a room in one of the buildings further away from the main area, just because we know our daughter and she can be loud at times and didn't want to disturb the other guests. Both rooms were pretty yet different, one more modern, the other more whimsical in its decoration - we picked this second one, where the bed and "closet" were made out of planks and branches, quite unique. We had a balcony with a view of the sea, the walk to the beach was less than 3 minutes.

What we truly loved about the hotel and the #1 reason we'll go back if we can: the friendliness of all the staff and owner every time we saw them, at breakfast and dinner, very helpful in giving suggestions and tips on where to head with our daughter for a day at the sea and for a short hike on another day. It seemed they really cared that we had an enjoyable experience there and as we went about. The #2 reason we'll definitely go back: the delicious food we had at dinner every single night. While breakfast was great, with a lot of choices for all tastes, dinner was spectacular and different EVERY SINGLE DAY!! We hadn't planned on eating at the hotel every day, but after that first dinner, we just didn't see a reason for searching any other place to eat at. Aside from it being convenient, it is only for guests so service is really timely and cordial. You choose in the morning what you want to eat from the menu at your breakfast table so as soon as you're seated you started being served what you had selected with a very minimal wait. The menu changed every day and had options - meat, fish or vegetation for each course. You could pick from each and I went for seafood every time. Being on an island, it was superbly cooked, fresh and delicious! Even our 1 year old tried everything out from our dishes and would eat happily whatever we offered.

We loved our stay at this hotel, elegant yet friendly and casual at the same time, we felt welcome even with our loud baby along. Would highly recommend it for anyone visiting Elba for the first time as it was also a great base to explore the western end of the island. We were less than an hour from Portoferraio.

Room Tip: quiet rooms around the main garden area but the ones by the entrance have a clearer view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    51
    10
    22
    5
See reviews for
25
139
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
worcstershire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a long weekend in this lovely hotel as a surprise - part of my big birthday celebrations. We were a group of 12 and everyone were really happy with the ambiance, quality of food and service. We were welcomed with a glass of Prosecco which never hurts! Whether you had a room with a sea view or garden view it was well presented, sometimes quite quirky but charming. Our room, in a building about 50 metres away, had a sea view and terrace and was well furnished in contemporary style. Those who like sandy beaches are better off driving 20 minutes where there are good options - otherwise the one near the hotel is fine though is sometimes plagued with jellyfish. Maurizio, Barbara and Alexandra helped us organise a boat trip snorkelling above a wreck which we all enjoyed though 4 elected to stay in the beautiful gardens and chill out. The birthday cake produced one evening for dessert was so good. We wondered why Napoleon wanted to escape from Elba - its wild beauty and great beaches are so entrancing. All in all this is a hotel to relax in without pretension and with hoteliers who know their business.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay in this fine hotel. We arrived very late the first night, but were greeted by the owner himself, who also helped us take the luggage to our room. We had a great room, with balcony facing the sea, and with access to a small private garden space. The breakfast was very good, with much more choice than in most Italian hotels (including a splendid yoghurt). Meals were served in a separate building, some 50 meters from our room. The view of the bay from the terrace was splendid. We had all our evening meals in the hotel. There was a choice of 3 first courses, secondi and contorni + dessert. We had no problem finding a great combination of food every evening! Also included in the meal was a small but lovely antipasto to get you going.
The staff were all friendly, with individuality and personal charm.
The information before arrival was extensive and helpful.
We found the combination of a lovely place, an unusual first class hotel (with a library and good free internet access to all the houses that constitute the complex), and the personal attention of the owner and his staff pretty well unbeatable

Room Tip: No 20 if you want a room facing the sea with both balcony and garden space, and not close to the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A lovely place to stay. We enjoyed our room right by (almost on) the beach. All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, as well as being tolerant of our feeble attempts to speak Italian! We couldn't have asked for better sevice or a nicer atmosphere. The food was of a very high standard - obviously a lot of care and thought goes into it. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hotel Ilio.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My sister and I stayed here in late August 2013 and were delighted with our choice. After a hot and long drive we were welcomed on to the terrace and immediately offered a drink overlooking the pretty bay below. In fact from therein the service was impeccable, all of the waitresses were kind and helpful.

The room was simple and quite small but everything worked well, including a small mini fridge and a lockable personal safe. The air con was a welcome addition as the nights remained hot.

The setting is quiet. The village of s'andrea is a small seaside village so you can easily walk down to the beach to swim off the beach or walk round on to the rocks where there is more space.

We had a car and were keen to explore the island so were out most of the day at nearby beaches or towns. That said, if you wanted just to relax quietly the garden of the hotel was peaceful.

We had half board and the breakfast was superb. A large choice of fresh bread, fruit, cheese, meats and cereal. Plus truly fabulous coffee. Dinner was simple but delicious and fair value. I agree with other reviewers that it is a shame that you can't eat dinner outside. If this is unfeasible for the owners, then they should dim the lighting and light some candles to create some atmosphere as it is a little clinical.

All in all a big thumbs up. If you fancy exploring the western side of the island or simply resting quietly then this is a great bet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at Ilio for a week at the end of our honeymoon in Tuscany.

The hotel is simply lovely. Maurizio and the team are so helpful and friendly - nothing is too much. It had a family feel to it. The gardens were so welcoming - complete peace and quiet and some days we relaxed here on our own and didn't see anyone all day except the birds. Great aperitivo!!

We travelled in July, so the slight disappointment (we perhaps should have realised) was that the secluded small beach we had been looking forward to was PACKED! However, we were given some great tips on walking around the bays and rocks to find some quieter spots - and we loved doing this. So just a warning on how busy it gets - but that's not a reflection on the hotel. At night it was quiet and tranquil - so great for a beach side evening drink.

We think we had the best room in the hotel! Perfect view from our balcony overlooking the bay. The hotel was perfectly clean all the time - no complaints on any aspect of hotel service at all.

Evening meals were nice, nothing special but good food. We ate there a couple of times - although we looked forward to the recommendations in other areas of the island - namely Marciana Marina and Poggio. Again, Maurizio was more than happy to recommend and actually booked for us - which resulted in us getting great tables with great views!

Breakfast was delicious and lots of variety - served on the terrace. A great start to any day.

All in all, a lovely place and everything you would want from a Boutique Hotel. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

A brilliantly helpful website meant that it was simplicity itself to get to a delightfully secluded hotel in a little paradise. The hotel was beautiful, particularly the wonderful garden, the food great quality and the staff were so friendly and helpful, adding to the whole experience. I really would recommend this for anyone wanting to relax and recharge the batteries. The coast is made of granite rocks, so don't go expecting miles of golden sand, but the sea was brilliant blue and crystal clear. The little road down to Sant' Andrea was steep, but a regular minibus transports you up to the main road for 50c during the summer months to connect with the hourly public buses that go both clock- and anticlockwise around the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel Ilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Ilio

Address: Via Sant' Andrea, 5, 57030 Marciana, Elba Island, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marciana
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marciana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Ilio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel Ilio (only 20 rooms in a familiar atmosphere) is set in the midst of a magnificent green landscape, the ideal place for a relaxing holiday where the sea is "really" just outside your door - ideal for snorkeling, diving and kayaking. The mountains that surround the gulf of Cape Sant'Andrea offer the possibility to go hiking, mountain biking, and are of great botanical interest. At the Boutique Hotel, Ilio the chef, Giancarlo Pollidini, offers a dinner- menu featuring exquisite Elba and Mediterranean dishes, with the primary objective of making the most of the local and traditional cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, T4B, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Boutique Hotel Ilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilio Hotel Elba Island
Boutique Hotel Ilio Elba Island/Marciana, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Ilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.