We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round hotel in quiet setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Ilio

Save Saved
You added Boutique Hotel Ilio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Ilio
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Sant' Andrea, 5, 57030 Marciana, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Marciana
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great all round hotel in quiet setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here in late August 2013 and were delighted with our choice. After a hot and long drive we were welcomed on to the terrace and immediately offered a drink overlooking the pretty bay below. In fact from therein the service was impeccable, all of the waitresses were kind and helpful.

The room was simple and quite small but everything worked well, including a small mini fridge and a lockable personal safe. The air con was a welcome addition as the nights remained hot.

The setting is quiet. The village of s'andrea is a small seaside village so you can easily walk down to the beach to swim off the beach or walk round on to the rocks where there is more space.

We had a car and were keen to explore the island so were out most of the day at nearby beaches or towns. That said, if you wanted just to relax quietly the garden of the hotel was peaceful.

We had half board and the breakfast was superb. A large choice of fresh bread, fruit, cheese, meats and cereal. Plus truly fabulous coffee. Dinner was simple but delicious and fair value. I agree with other reviewers that it is a shame that you can't eat dinner outside. If this is unfeasible for the owners, then they should dim the lighting and light some candles to create some atmosphere as it is a little clinical.

All in all a big thumbs up. If you fancy exploring the western side of the island or simply resting quietly then this is a great bet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    48
    10
    21
    5
See reviews for
25
130
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at Ilio for a week at the end of our honeymoon in Tuscany.

The hotel is simply lovely. Maurizio and the team are so helpful and friendly - nothing is too much. It had a family feel to it. The gardens were so welcoming - complete peace and quiet and some days we relaxed here on our own and didn't see anyone all day except the birds. Great aperitivo!!

We travelled in July, so the slight disappointment (we perhaps should have realised) was that the secluded small beach we had been looking forward to was PACKED! However, we were given some great tips on walking around the bays and rocks to find some quieter spots - and we loved doing this. So just a warning on how busy it gets - but that's not a reflection on the hotel. At night it was quiet and tranquil - so great for a beach side evening drink.

We think we had the best room in the hotel! Perfect view from our balcony overlooking the bay. The hotel was perfectly clean all the time - no complaints on any aspect of hotel service at all.

Evening meals were nice, nothing special but good food. We ate there a couple of times - although we looked forward to the recommendations in other areas of the island - namely Marciana Marina and Poggio. Again, Maurizio was more than happy to recommend and actually booked for us - which resulted in us getting great tables with great views!

Breakfast was delicious and lots of variety - served on the terrace. A great start to any day.

All in all, a lovely place and everything you would want from a Boutique Hotel. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

A brilliantly helpful website meant that it was simplicity itself to get to a delightfully secluded hotel in a little paradise. The hotel was beautiful, particularly the wonderful garden, the food great quality and the staff were so friendly and helpful, adding to the whole experience. I really would recommend this for anyone wanting to relax and recharge the batteries. The coast is made of granite rocks, so don't go expecting miles of golden sand, but the sea was brilliant blue and crystal clear. The little road down to Sant' Andrea was steep, but a regular minibus transports you up to the main road for 50c during the summer months to connect with the hourly public buses that go both clock- and anticlockwise around the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weaverham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A gem of a family run hotel and restaurant. Worth the effort to get there.
This was our second visit and it lived up to expectations.
A wonderful tranquil atmosphere
Close to the beach and yet as private as you wish.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A lovely hotel very close to the beach. We made the mistake of getting the ferry to Cavo instead of Portoferrio which meant a hairy drive over the mountain hair pin bends at a great height.

The hotel is immaculately clean with nothing out of place. The corridor to our room did feel a little like a hospital rather than a hotel - it could be more welcoming. There is a beautiful rear terrace for reading and relaxing. Another terrace on the front over looks the sea and we contemplated dinner at the hotel on our first night. However, we were put off by the fact you had to order your dinner at Breakfast and dinner was only served inside the brightly lit restaurant. It's such a shame not to use the terrace at dinner with such lovely views. We went to the first pizza restaurant down the hill on the right, which served really great food - with a sea view.

We arrived at breakfast one morning and went to the only available table on the terrace, which was set up for four. The waitress told us loudly we could not sit there as there were only two of us and we had to eat inside. I'm not quite sure why the non-existent family of four couldn't have eaten inside. No-one turned up to use the table whilst we were there. A very unfriendly approach.

I can't fault the location or cleanliness of the hotel (although the towels were incredibly stiff and rough), but certain aspects did feel quite regimented. These little niggles wouldn't stop me recommending the hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elbapower, Direttore at Boutique Hotel Ilio, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Often it happens that guests come back home and remember that something was not like they expected in the hotel where they stayed for some days. I think it is better to extern doubts immediately , because everything is resolvable in loco .
For what concern our floor , that brings to the rooms , it is the very first time that someone says that it seem a hospital , generally all the guests appreciate our pictures and maps on the wall . It is not so big and long , because only 5 rooms has the entrance from this floor , but it is actually a personal expression of taste.
Our restaurant is structured so as it is able to offer comfort during the hot summer nights and to give our guests more space for the plates than on the small tables of the terrace. But here below please read what we send twice to our guests ( in our confirmation and in the pre-stay letter ) about the restaurant and the meals :
Dinner 20:00 – 21:00 http://www.hi-restaurant.com
Dinner will only be served in our Hi-Restaurant
For room and breakfast only bookings, dinner will be available for € 25.00, excluding drinks, per person per day.
We opted for the solution to make the shelter for the dinner in the morning , because the crew in the kitchen has to prepare over 40 meals some days and so they know in advance what to prepare , because once our guests has finished the breakfast they will go away and we will see them again only in the evening. We know that some of our guests would prefer to eat outside for dinner , but after dinner it is possible to drink the wine or eat the dessert on the terrace , and off course , every morning the breakfast.
There are some days, when we are fully booked , that the guests come all together to have breakfast , and there is no table available immediately , but I want to make sure that not one of our waitresses will answer loudly or in a not friendly form to our guests .
However , I am sure , that these are not reasons for the biggest part of our guests to feel unlucky with us , indeed we are proud not to be a standard hotel , but a little Boutique hotel where we try to being perfect , but it is not always easy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very nice Hotel with a great garden to relax, read a book, drink some wine. Great view from the terrace during breakfast or after-dinner drink. The evening meals were -especially for me- excellent as I have to eat gluten-free and got Bread, Pasta, Cake all really delicious special cooked/baked for me. Surroundings are beautiful, the beach is near, diving spot around the corner. We had a great holiday and would highly recommend this place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived at the Hotel Ilio after arriving on Elba Island for the second leg of our 2 week Italian honeymoon. I had made previous reservations at a bed and breakfast and, upon arriving there, realized that it would be far too small for a week's stay. We left and, after searching trip advisor for recommended hotels in the area, tried a second place for the night. The second hotel, rated #1 in the area on this website, was nothing as it was described and we quickly found that it was not up to the standards we were seeking. We stayed for the night to give ourselves some time to develop a plan and the following morning, feeling defeated and feeling that we'd never find a place on the island to relax for the end of our honeymoon, we came across the Hotel Ilio and we were SO glad we did.

Mauricio took care of us from the moment we walked in the door. He offered us a beautiful one bedroom Pomegranate room just off the garden. The room was well appointed with fan, air conditioner, hair dryer, and a plenty of space. He gave us wonderful recommendations for dinner and made reservations for us each night at the best tables with the most wonderful of views. He provided us with maps, google directions and hand-drawn diagrams to get us everywhere we needed to go. I also became very sick at the end of the trip and Mauricio recommended a very helpful pharmacist in town to help. From start to finish, the Hotel Ilio was everything we could have wanted for our island honeymoon stay and we have only Mauricio to thank for it. He knows how to run a phenomenal hotel, he understands the meaning of truly exceptional customer service and we highly recommend the Hotel Ilio for anyone looking for a wonderful, relaxing place to stay on the Island of Elba.

Room Tip: The pomegranate room with an extra bed gave us plenty of space for easy access to our suitcases
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel Ilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Ilio

Address: Via Sant' Andrea, 5, 57030 Marciana, Elba Island, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marciana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marciana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Ilio 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel Ilio (only 20 rooms in a familiar atmosphere) is set in the midst of a magnificent green landscape, the ideal place for a relaxing holiday where the sea is "really" just outside your door - ideal for snorkeling, diving and kayaking. The mountains that surround the gulf of Cape Sant'Andrea offer the possibility to go hiking, mountain biking, and are of great botanical interest. At the Boutique Hotel, Ilio the chef, Giancarlo Pollidini, offers a dinner- menu featuring exquisite Elba and Mediterranean dishes, with the primary objective of making the most of the local and traditional cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Boutique Hotel Ilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilio Hotel Elba Island
Boutique Hotel Ilio Elba Island/Marciana, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Ilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.