We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Ilio

Save Saved
You added Boutique Hotel Ilio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Boutique Hotel Ilio
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Sant' Andrea, 5, 57030 Marciana, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Marciana
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel with excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed 3 nights during the month of May. The hotel is 40 minutes' drive from Portoferraio. You can either book with B&B or half-board which includes breakfast and dinner. I would suggest the half-board option.

The hotel has several themes for their rooms such as lemon, pomegranate, green, bougainvillea etc. We stayed in the green room which overlooked the garden. There are also several rooms with sea views. Our room smelled absolutely stunning and even had potpourri in the cupboards.

The hotel's garden is a small gem. The garden has a number of tall trees that provide ample shade, fruit trees such as lemon and loquat, and numerous shrubs and flowers. The setting gives semi-privacy for guests on the outside furniture. There is also an abundance of bird chatter in the trees that enhances the feeling of being in the outside.

The food of the hotel was excellent. Breakfast was buffet style. On the breakfast table you would get the menu for the evening's dinner with 3 options for the first course, second course and side dishes. At dinner you were given a number of choices for desert. The wine list was impressive and wines reasonably priced.

The service of the hotel is outstanding and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    42
    9
    21
    4
See reviews for
18
111
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caterham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

we first arrived at the Hotel Ilio after being dissapointed by a different hotel in another part of Elba whilst on our honeymoon so were a bit anxious. We arrived at the hotel with transit arranged by Maurizio and could not have been made more welcome. When we left he also spent about an hour helping us to organise our train and ferry back. He told us all about S Andrea, where the best places to sunbathe were, what to do in the area, what the facilities were etc. we decided to go for the half board option and see how it went- as we dont normally like eating in the same place each night. Maurizio was very relaxed and at no point pushed us to eat in the restaurant. The food was incredible, fresh fish, vegetables from the garden, boar,beef carpaccio etc etc and each evening was different with real attention paid to local organic produce and cuisine. the staff were so fantastic and really made us feel special from the lovely lady who waters the garden, to the cheerful girls who cleaned the rooms and the fantastic, efficient waitresses who worked so hard to ensure we had everything we needed. The room was lovely, Maurizio has paid obvious attention to ensuring top quality was present- from televisions, to the the lovely and peaceful garden a world away from larger, bland hotels. A perfect place for those who want to experience a taste of Elba, very romantic, very welcoming and a very special place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Perfect hotel to honeymoon at. The owner couldnt be more welcoming and helpful, the food was excellent and the staff were very friendly. The hotel was lovely and the rooms clean and well presented. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We have never stayed anywhere so near perfection. Great pride shows in the standard of the decor and its beautiful gardens, it has a very calming and relaxing atmosphere. The staff are lovely and so gentle and quiet, thank you to Barbara, Luana and Francescca. The food was lovely and presentation first class. We have never seen such a level of cleanliness before, we got the impression that the hotel is run by Maurizio who expects 100% from his staff which shows in the hotel. We visited S Andrea in the two busiest weeks of Italy so found it difficult to get sun beds on the very small beach. It was also very expensive at 25 euros but this was the same amount on all the beaches we visited. We drove around Elba and it truly is a beautiful island, Fetovaia was my favourite beach. We found our week in Hotel Ilio very relaxing and enjoyable with an exceptionally high standard. Only one negative comment is Maurizio who could have come across as being a bit more friendlier he seems to avoid eye contact and I personally found him a little bit intimidating. I would definately recommend this hotel we had a fabulous time and we thank you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

we expected much more from the hotel according to their internet page. we had a see view room for euro 188.00 a night. the room was not nice and no were near worth its price. the bed was the worst, very,very uncomfortable. the staff and owner did give any information about the place except try to get us eat at their restaurant. dinner is only served from 20h till 21h and breakfast from 08h till 09.30h, not very flexibe if you want to recover and relax. first day we left the room at 11h, the cleaning lady pulled a nasty face at us for that.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elbapower, Responsabile reception at Boutique Hotel Ilio, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Honestly we can't remember very well this couple , because they had booked the B&B solution , and seemed to stay very well with us . The room they had booked , the "Sea Room" , contains only natural wood furniture , but the bed has an orthopedic mattress , and on our web site you can see the pictures from the room . So we are sure that the guest knows what he had booked . We have ten different kind of rooms , we are a Boutique Hotel, that means that everyone will find the room best suited to him.
It is necessary for us to have a timetable for dinner and breakfast , because we have to prepare meals for 40 - 45 persons and we think that it is well organized because our guests can come in the restaurant from 8:00pm to 9:00pm to have supper and not that the restaurant will close at 9:00pm like the review said. Somebody would like to eat earlier, and somebody would prefer to eat later , so we found a compromise which is well accepted. We tell to every new arrival with B&B solution, that it is possible to eat in our restaurant , with a little surcharge , and that it is possible to decide this day by day , because on every breakfast -table in the morning there is a menu of the day with the courses to choose , so everyone is free to decide if he wants to eat with us or not . This is the solution we prefer to leave liberty of choice.
One last comment regarding our chambermaids , we do never believe that one of them will turn to a guest without a smile and we will use this space to thank them for the good work they do every day .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

A charming hotel. Our compliments to the Chef for a wonderful gourmet dining experience. In two weeks we experienced Italian dining at its very best.
Our compliments to Maurizio and Staff for their gracious service and assistance.
No problem getting there...a taxi from Pisa Airport was arranged.
Ritorneremo con piacere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011 via mobile

The bad reviews on the staff are 100% correct. Our safe and shower both did not work and we were told "sorry" but nothing was done. The shower alternated between hot and hotter. The manager basically told me that I did not know how to work the nozzle. The toilet was squeezed between the shower and the wall so tightly I had to sit on it sideways and i am only 5'8. The room wreaked of this perfume they put in all of the rooms. Elba is lovely but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elbapower, Responsabile reception at Boutique Hotel Ilio, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Generally we will say thank you for every review , bad or good , because the critical review gives us the input to be better and the good one makes us happy. In this case it is not easy to reply , we were not able to make the vacancy of this couple a memorable event , it is difficult when the beginning is not perfect. Perhaps our guests had another idea of our location , or our hotel. On our Web Site we are honest and full of information about the rooms , pictures and details.
It is the very first time , that guests had problems with the temperature of the shower or the safe…the next day it worked fine. The staff of the hotel tries every day to make comfortable your stay and makes you feel well . Certainly we do our best and the most of our guests are leaving us with lovely memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boutique Hotel Ilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Ilio

Also Known As:
Ilio Hotel Elba Island
Boutique Hotel Ilio Elba Island/Marciana, Italy
Address: Via Sant' Andrea, 5, 57030 Marciana, Elba Island, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marciana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marciana
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marciana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Ilio 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel Ilio (only 20 rooms in a familiar atmosphere) is set in the midst of a magnificent green landscape, the ideal place for a relaxing holiday where the sea is "really" just outside your door - ideal for snorkeling, diving and kayaking. The mountains that surround the gulf of Cape Sant'Andrea offer the possibility to go hiking, mountain biking, and are of great botanical interest. At the Boutique Hotel, Ilio the chef, Giancarlo Pollidini, offers a dinner- menu featuring exquisite Elba and Mediterranean dishes, with the primary objective of making the most of the local and traditional cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Agoda, T4B, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Boutique Hotel Ilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Ilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.