We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful sunsets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belmare

Save Saved
You added Hotel Belmare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Belmare
Loc. Patresi, 57030 Marciana, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Marciana
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightful sunsets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed three nights and would happily have stayed longer.You couldn't ask for more-everyone goes out of their way to ensure you have an enjoyable holiday experience.Really good value and I wouldn't hesitate to return.This has to be one of the nicest areas on the island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you very much for the time spent to write your review.
Thank you very much for the visit. Best regards, the staff of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    32
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
90
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Belmare in July for a week and really enjoyed the friendly service, great food and value this family run hotel had to offer.Vincenzo, Serena and the rest of the family gave us great advise to assist us with our planning of the week, including a trip to Pianosa. Our children were able to relax and make friends with some other Italian tourist and had a chance to practise a little Italian. We intended on having a beach holiday. It is a great spot to plan your days at the many great beaches on this side of the island and so we would have day trips and visit the many beaches the area had to offer. The food at Belmare is delicious and I was pleased to see they helped out with gluten free meals. You could eat indoors or outdoors and you would not want to miss the daily spectacular sunsets as you dine. Grazie Vincenzo per la Sua cortese ospitalia', abbiamo porato a casa con noi tanti bellisimi ricordi!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view...the sunset is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per il tempo dedicato a questa recensione dove racconta la sua esperienza trascorsa presso il nostro hotel.
Noi sia mo una famiglia semplice e con la nostra semplicità ci impegniamo al massimo nel nostro lavoro per far si che i nostri ospiti si sentano come a casa propria. Cerchiamo di consigliare al meglio i nostri clienti,in maniera tale che possano conoscere la nostra bellissima Isola su tutti suoi lati.
Ancora un grazie da tutto il gruppo del Belmare.
Vi aspettiamo nuovamente, un saluto Serena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hotel Belmare is positioned perfectly on the Western side of the stunningly beautiful island of Elba, in an elevated position with the most amazing sunsets over the sea. This is a great area for walking trails and sandy beaches. You don't need a car - you can catch the buses to the beaches without any hassle and it's worth it (go to the ones around the West / South of the area).
The hotel itself is a joy. The rooms are spacious, spotless and comfortable. We went half board and the food is superb and amazingly good value, with lovely buffet breakfast and three course meals (choice of lunch or dinner, so very flexible). Vicenzo and the staff are so lovely, friendly and can't do enough to help.
This isn't a hotel with frills - there's no pool, for example, so if you prefer lounging around and spa treatments, it's not for you. If, however, you love being outside, experiencing Italian life, exploring and relaxing then you'll love it.
I can't recommend this enough - we had a fantastic holiday here for a week and loved every minute!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per il tempo dedicato a questa recensione dove racconta la sua esperienza trascorsa presso il nostro hotel.
Noi sia mo una famiglia semplice e con la nostra semplicità ci impegniamo al massimo nel nostro lavoro per far si che i nostri ospiti si sentano come a casa propria.
Ancora un grazie da tutto il gruppo del Belmare.
Vi aspettiamo nuovamente, un saluto Serena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hotel Belmare is in a stunning location in the most beautiful part of the island in our opinion. The evening meals were a treat - varied and interesting local dishes and amazing sunsets over the sea. Vincenzo and his family obviously love the island and love being hospitable which creates a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. The room was adequate rather than luxurious but had a lovely terrace with views of the ocean and remained pleasantly cool in spite of the high temperatures we experienced while there. The hotel is near to several quiet uncrowded beaches and to the beautiful hillside town of Marciana and the 'cabinovia' up to Mte Capanne - an excursion not to be missed! We felt the hotel was excellent value and would highly recommend it. A and I Lewis.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per il tempo dedicato a questa recensione dove racconta la sua esperienza trascorsa presso il nostro hotel.
Ancora un grazie da tutto il gruppo del Belmare, vi aspettiamo nuovamente.
Un saluto, a presto Serena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Elba Island for our honeymoon. After leaving our first hotel because of how small a space they provided to us, we traveled to Hotel Belmare based on the Trip Advisor recommendations. Upon arriving, however, we were less than thrilled with the state of the hotel. While the room itself was clean and had all the necessary amenities, we were not sure how it was rated the #1 hotel in the area. We stayed for a night before traveling down the road to find a more comfortable, updated hotel. We found the double size bed to be two twin beds pushed together on a larger frame with a larger sheet. The room was simple, with a single religious portrait hanging on the wall. The furniture looked as though it dated back to the 1970s and the room had no air conditioning or ceiling fan which resulted in a hot, stuffy evening. We ate breakfast there in the morning and the chef provided us a delicious local breakfast of eggs, fruits and yogurt. Overall, there was nothing particularly bad about our stay at the hotel, I would just say that compared with other hotels we went on to see in the area, I am just not sure that this one deserves its #1 rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a seaview... since there are no fans in the room it may provide more of a breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you very much for the time spent to write your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed something and we will take account of your review to improve the hotel. Being a small hotel that is growing up in these years, we find difficult to invest a lot of money every year. Year by year we will change the forniture of all the rooms as we are doing and we will add them facilities in order to make them more comfortable for our costumers. Thank you very much for the visit. Best regards, the staff of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Belmare for 3 nights during our recent 3 week trip to Tuscany, We had one of the ocean view with balcony rooms which offered amazing sunset views looking out over the ocean. This place definitely offered the best value when you consider the much higher prices of other hotels on the island albeit they don't have a pool. Considering the wide array of available beaches just minutes away, there is no reason to spend your time in a pool anyway. Although Vincenzo speaks very little English and my Italian was very limited, Vincencio and his staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Their breakfast is substantial and included eggs cooked to order. As mentioned before, there are numerous beautiful beaches within 15 minutes driving distance from the hotel (our favorite was Fetovaia with it's white sand beach complete with lounge chairs and umbrella rentals which includes restrooms and shower facilities in the cost) and similar distance to Marciano where we ate dinner each night (see my Osteria Del Noce recommendation there). It is a little bit further to Marciano Marina where there is a Despar Market that sells very reasonable priced picnic items such as bread, meats and cheese and very good Elba Island vino rosso.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per il tempo dedicato a questa recensione dove racconta la sua esperienza trascorsa presso il nostro hotel.
Ancora un grazie da tutto il gruppo del Belmare, vi aspettiamo nuovamente.
Un saluto, a presto Serena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I went to Elba island for our honey moon. We had a lot of fun not only from the beautiful sea but also from this family run hotel. The location and the view are perfect. Although we don't know Italian, we still felt the kind hospitality of the host. Not only that, the chef, Mirko, was very helpful and he cooked the tasty traditional homemade Toscana cousin. I won't forget the mussel sauce he cooked, it's delicious! If you come to Elba, this hotel is strongly recommended.

Room Tip: This hotel has sea view rooms and mountain view rooms . When you book the room, ask the hotel to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per il tempo dedicato a questa recensione dove racconta la sua esperienza trascorsa presso il nostro hotel.
Ancora un grazie da tutto il gruppo del Belmare, vi aspettiamo nuovamente.
Un saluto, a presto Serena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Belmare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmare

Also Known As:
Hotel Belmare Elba Island/Marciana, Italy
Address: Loc. Patresi, 57030 Marciana, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marciana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marciana
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Belmare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belmare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.