We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible location with ocean views and great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belmare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Belmare to your Saves list
Hotel Belmare
Loc. Patresi, 57030 Marciana, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Marciana
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Incredible location with ocean views and great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Belmare for 3 nights during our recent 3 week trip to Tuscany, We had one of the ocean view with balcony rooms which offered amazing sunset views looking out over the ocean. This place definitely offered the best value when you consider the much higher prices of other hotels on the island albeit they don't have a pool. Considering the wide array of available beaches just minutes away, there is no reason to spend your time in a pool anyway. Although Vincenzo speaks very little English and my Italian was very limited, Vincencio and his staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Their breakfast is substantial and included eggs cooked to order. As mentioned before, there are numerous beautiful beaches within 15 minutes driving distance from the hotel (our favorite was Fetovaia with it's white sand beach complete with lounge chairs and umbrella rentals which includes restrooms and shower facilities in the cost) and similar distance to Marciano where we ate dinner each night (see my Osteria Del Noce recommendation there). It is a little bit further to Marciano Marina where there is a Despar Market that sells very reasonable priced picnic items such as bread, meats and cheese and very good Elba Island vino rosso.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per il tempo dedicato a questa recensione dove racconta la sua esperienza trascorsa presso il nostro hotel.
Ancora un grazie da tutto il gruppo del Belmare, vi aspettiamo nuovamente.
Un saluto, a presto Serena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    45
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
132
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I went to Elba island for our honey moon. We had a lot of fun not only from the beautiful sea but also from this family run hotel. The location and the view are perfect. Although we don't know Italian, we still felt the kind hospitality of the host. Not only that, the chef, Mirko, was very helpful and he cooked the tasty traditional homemade Toscana cousin. I won't forget the mussel sauce he cooked, it's delicious! If you come to Elba, this hotel is strongly recommended.

Room Tip: This hotel has sea view rooms and mountain view rooms . When you book the room, ask the hotel to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per il tempo dedicato a questa recensione dove racconta la sua esperienza trascorsa presso il nostro hotel.
Ancora un grazie da tutto il gruppo del Belmare, vi aspettiamo nuovamente.
Un saluto, a presto Serena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for a week at Hotel Belmare, at the western end of Elba, beyond Marciana. It's a wonderful place, great location, excellent food, very friendly staff almost all of whom are part of the same family. The greatest attraction for us was the fact that the hotel is run by Vincenzo, who is an extremely charming and helpful host. He is passionate about everything in Elba, particularly the walks and the countryside. He made the holiday for us. There is a bus service but you are much better off with a car if possible. If it's a lively nightlife you are after, this is probably not the place for you. But if you want to walk and to explore the island, it would be hard to find anywhere as good as this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per il tempo dedicato a questa recensione dove racconta la sua esperienza trascorsa nel nostro Hotel.
Tutto il gruppo del Belmare si impegna al massimo per far si che il proprio cliente si senta a suo agio come a casa propria.
Saremmo lieti di riospitarvi. Un grazie ancora da tutto lo staff del Belmare.
Un saluto, Serena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My Family and I decided to go to Florence and Elba to escape the dreadful weather that we been having in England, but alas the weather decide to go on holidays with us, but when in Elba Vincenzo's welcoming attitude made the sun shine for us. The hotel was really nice, clean and in a superb position for views of the Mediterranean and surrounding mountains It has just what you need. The meals were superb and genuine tuscan cuisine. Thank you very much Vincenzo for you kind hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per il tempo dedicato a questa recensione dove racconta la sua esperienza trascorsa nel nostro Hotel.
Tutto il gruppo del Belmare si impegna al massimo per far si che il proprio cliente si senta a suo agio come a casa propria.
Saremmo lieti di riospitarvi. Un grazie ancora da tutto lo staff del Belmare.
Un saluto, Serena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have to say that Mel's April 29 2013 review nailed our experience as well (also, our shameful lack of Italian was not treated with disdain). Vincenzio is great and very helpful. We also didn't have a car, so took the 90 minute bus ride. It is a beautiful ride, so did not feel like a waste of time or frustrating. The views to Patresi (where Hotel Belmare is) are amazing. You should try to find the bus schedule ahead of time, though, since it does not run on a regular basis throughout the day (at least from what we gathered).

The rooms were clean and comfortable. We had a balcony with an amazing view. Mirko's dinners were delicious! Local food from the garden, local fresh caught seafood. Mirko speaks some English so was very helpful in giving tips and acting as a translator (in matters beyond making us delicious meals). Everyone was so nice. We had our breakfasts and dinners on the patio. It got cool in the evenings, but eating on the patio is well worth bundling up a bit. I wholeheartedly recommend the Hotel Belmare. We went on some great hikes up mountains, in view of the sea, and were able to do this without a car. That said, getting to the beaches or other parts of the island necessitate a car or the patience for a bus.

We came to Elba, for the first time, after 8 days in other parts of Italy, and we might just have loved Elba the most.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per il tempo dedicato a questa recensione dove racconta la sua esperienza trascorsa presso il nostro hotel.
Ancora un grazie da tutto il gruppo del Belmare, vi aspettiamo nuovamente.
Un saluto, a presto Serena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We are just back from a two week trip in Italy and feel we should write a little about the places we stayed which definitely deserve a mention.

We reached Hotel Belmare by local bus which took and hr and a half from Portoferraio. Do not be put off by the time it takes to get to the hotel, it is well worth it when you arrive and the scenery along the winding coastal cliff road is beautiful and gives you an idea of how unspoilt the island has remained.

The hotel itself is spotless and comfortable and has everything you will need but the two things that, in my opinion set this place apart, is of course the amazing panoramic view and the friendly owners and staff. Vincenzo was very welcoming and remained patient with our complete lack of Italian (we will learn more for our next visit!) You will be made feel comfortable with their informal and homely approach. The food is outstanding here and although we had great food almost everywhere we went in Italy, I felt that Mirko's menus had a great amount of care, honesty and simplicity in them. You will definitely feel like you are feeding your soul here and after a day of walking the hills and diving in to the clear waters I cannot think of a more relaxing way to end a day. I must add that their house wine is excellent too!

On arrival in Portoferraio, it was clear that Isola D'elba was going to be a pleasant surprise that to be honest, I wasn't fully expecting as I am more often than not disappointed by coastal areas in the sun being overly built up, overly touristy and overly priced for poor quality accommodation and food. Elba is mountainous and lush with clear air and sea and is a perfect getaway from smoggy London city life.

Thank you for your warm welcome, we had a fantastic stay and we were sad to leave!

Mel and Ady

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per il tempo dedicato a questa recensione dove racconta la sua esperienza trascorsa presso il nostro hotel.
Ancora un grazie da tutto il gruppo del Belmare, vi aspettiamo nuovamente.
Un saluto, a presto Serena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Just back from five days in Elba staying at the Belmare. Had been to Elba before 47 years ago and always wanted to return. The island is as beautiful and idyllic as remembered. The hotel is in a wonderful location with beautiful views and perfect for walking enthusiasts with lots of different trails and loops starting from the hotel. The rooms are simple and perfectly adequate. We had a balcony with sea views. Food is freshly and lovingly prepared by the chef, who is happy to divulge his recipes. If you want a hotel with great food, outstanding value in a peaceful, quiet and beautiful location, this is unbeatable.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per il tempo dedicato a questa recensione dove racconta la sua esperienza trascorsa nel nostro Hotel.
Tutto il gruppo del Belmare si impegna al massimo per far si che il proprio cliente si senta a suo agio come a casa propria.
Saremmo lieti di riospitarvi. Un grazie ancora da tutto lo staff del Belmare.
Un saluto, Serena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belmare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmare

Address: Loc. Patresi, 57030 Marciana, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marciana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marciana
#2 Family Hotel in Marciana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Belmare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belmare Elba Island/Marciana, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belmare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.