We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Capanne

Monte Capanne
Marciana, Elba Island, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Marciana
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Activities: Moped riding, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A two-hour climb up the highest peak on Elba Island, Monte Capanne, provides hikers with a panoramic view of the mainland of Italy and the islands of Corsica, Capraia, Pianosa and Monte Cristo.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Beautiful views, great experience, a must if you are visiting Elba! The little cage is not as scary as it looks on the photos ;)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    62
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Larchmont, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A one-of-a-kind cable car. And beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We rode the Monte Capanne "cable car" with two small children (3 years and 18 months) and it's quite an adventure. Each "car" is a simple yellow cage that you stand in for the ride to the top. Like a skiing chairlift, these cages don't stop...you have to jog alongside and hop into the cage (then the attendant closes the "door" for you).

If you're squeamish about heights...it could make you nervous...but in my opinion it was really quite safe...even with the little ones.

It was a lot of fun and the views over Elba are spectacular. On a clear day you can really see the entire island.

The ride takes about 18 minutes each way, it starts up through a forest of chestnut trees and then gets "above the treeline" to the top of the mountain. The terrian in interesting and it seemed like great hiking or mountain biking trails existed the whole way up.

One last note- there's a (surprisingly) great microbrewery at the bottom that brews Elba beer using natural island springwater.

We did a tasting of the 4 beers they were currently making, and each was good. The stout, specifically (made with hints of those Chestnuts I mentioned earlier) was nutty and delicious. If you like beer, it's a worthwhile diversion for a glass or two.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, PA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful.....challenging at times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I hiked up to the top on path "5" to "00" to "5" again. Path "00" can be a moderate to hard climb in places with rock scrambling and the use of metal ropes. The view at the top is quite breathtaking and worth the effort. Beautiful views of the surrounding islands as well. It's nice to bring a lunch or snack to enjoy at the top. You can also go up on a lift to the top if you don't want to hike it, but I can't comment much on that part.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlunkhofen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The climb - attractive in itself - is more than rewarded by the views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

A stiff climb from Marciana Alta, first under chestnut trees, then stepping up large boulders includes beautiful flowers and spectacular views down to Marciana Marina. From the top one can see the whole Island (Napoleon was disappointed to see how small his new 'Empire' was!) as well as Corsica, Capri, Montecristo and the Italian coast. 1019 m doesn't sound very high, but for a small island it is. There's a little café at the top and a 'basket' lift for two if your not so footsure.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremorris, Ireland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Went to go on the lifts to the top of this mountain. Was not too sure about same but decided to give it a go.Felt comfortable in the lifts. Saw exactly what was required. You have to run at the lift from a spot and jump in. That was nice Views breathtaking Got to the top where there was a coffee shop . Very welcoming . But there is another distance you can cover on foot. And I started the climb. Got afraid when I looked down! But conquered my fear and climbed up onto a parapet where you can see the whole Island of Elba. Those fearful of heights should not partake of that part of the climb as you can get really scared of same. Delighted I did it but I was glad to get back to the coffee shop!!!! Make sure you are wearing suitable footwear for this journey!! The view IS breathtaking. Spent the rest of my holiday looking back up at the mountain saying I actually went up there!!! Road signs to this attraction are few and far between . When you actually get to where the lifts start it is easy to drive past so do enquire locally on your journey.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Capanne also viewed

 
Portoferraio, Elba Island
 

Been to Monte Capanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Capanne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.