We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Capanne

Monte Capanne
Marciana, Elba Island, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Marciana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A two-hour climb up the highest peak on Elba Island, Monte Capanne, provides hikers with a panoramic view of the mainland of Italy and the islands of Corsica, Capraia, Pianosa and Monte Cristo.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Beautiful views, great experience, a must if you are visiting Elba! The little cage is not as scary as it looks on the photos ;)

Visited September 2012
1 Thank EDINadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A one-of-a-kind cable car. And beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We rode the Monte Capanne "cable car" with two small children (3 years and 18 months) and it's quite an adventure. Each "car" is a simple yellow cage that you stand in for the ride to the top. Like a skiing chairlift, these cages don't stop...you have to jog alongside and hop into the cage (then the attendant closes the "door" for you).

If you're squeamish about heights...it could make you nervous...but in my opinion it was really quite safe...even with the little ones.

It was a lot of fun and the views over Elba are spectacular. On a clear day you can really see the entire island.

The ride takes about 18 minutes each way, it starts up through a forest of chestnut trees and then gets "above the treeline" to the top of the mountain. The terrian in interesting and it seemed like great hiking or mountain biking trails existed the whole way up.

One last note- there's a (surprisingly) great microbrewery at the bottom that brews Elba beer using natural island springwater.

We did a tasting of the 4 beers they were currently making, and each was good. The stout, specifically (made with hints of those Chestnuts I mentioned earlier) was nutty and delicious. If you like beer, it's a worthwhile diversion for a glass or two.

Visited September 2012
9 Thank BodenseeAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, PA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful.....challenging at times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I hiked up to the top on path "5" to "00" to "5" again. Path "00" can be a moderate to hard climb in places with rock scrambling and the use of metal ropes. The view at the top is quite breathtaking and worth the effort. Beautiful views of the surrounding islands as well. It's nice to bring a lunch or snack to enjoy at the top. You can also go up on a lift to the top if you don't want to hike it, but I can't comment much on that part.

Visited June 2012
2 Thank sc120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The climb - attractive in itself - is more than rewarded by the views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

A stiff climb from Marciana Alta, first under chestnut trees, then stepping up large boulders includes beautiful flowers and spectacular views down to Marciana Marina. From the top one can see the whole Island (Napoleon was disappointed to see how small his new 'Empire' was!) as well as Corsica, Capri, Montecristo and the Italian coast. 1019 m doesn't sound very high, but for a small island it is. There's a little café at the top and a 'basket' lift for two if your not so footsure.

Visited May 2012
3 Thank Viktor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremorris, Ireland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Went to go on the lifts to the top of this mountain. Was not too sure about same but decided to give it a go.Felt comfortable in the lifts. Saw exactly what was required. You have to run at the lift from a spot and jump in. That was nice Views breathtaking Got to the top where there was a coffee shop . Very welcoming . But there is another distance you can cover on foot. And I started the climb. Got afraid when I looked down! But conquered my fear and climbed up onto a parapet where you can see the whole Island of Elba. Those fearful of heights should not partake of that part of the climb as you can get really scared of same. Delighted I did it but I was glad to get back to the coffee shop!!!! Make sure you are wearing suitable footwear for this journey!! The view IS breathtaking. Spent the rest of my holiday looking back up at the mountain saying I actually went up there!!! Road signs to this attraction are few and far between . When you actually get to where the lifts start it is easy to drive past so do enquire locally on your journey.

Visited June 2011
3 Thank claremorrisdolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Capanne also viewed

Portoferraio, Elba Island
Portoferraio, Elba Island
Seccheto, Elba Island
Marina di Campo, Elba Island

Been to Monte Capanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing