We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gallo Nero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Gallo Nero to your Saves list
Hotel Gallo Nero
Via S. Gaetano 20 in Loc St. Andrea, 57030 Marciana, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Marciana
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at Gallo Nero in the heart of the season. Although a little deserted (not a lot of action going on in St. Andrea), we loved our stay. We particularly loved the terrace with the great view. We were staying on halfboard basis and we just adored the food and the wines!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Smeraldo Nel Blu, wich had a lovely balcony with view over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    61
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
41
84
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A group of friends had planned on staying for 3 nights but we liked the place so much that we stayed for a fourth night. We got the bus from Portoferraio to St Andrea and we rang the hotel from the bus stop and they collected us. So from the time we arrived at the hotel the staff couldn't have been more helpful and made us feel very welcome. Our room was fantastic and we had a very large balcony which had a great view of the sea. We took the local bus (once we had deciphered the timetable) and visited Campo di Marina & Marciano. I would highly recommend hiring a car as the bus service is quite erratic and there seems to be plenty to see on the island. The only negative about the hotel was the lack of choice for meat eaters - veal on three nights. Otherwise the food was great and the chioice of wines were really good.

Room Tip: Ask for room no 5 which is very quiet and has a very big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

3 of us stayed 4 nights at the Gallo Nero last week on the beautiful island of Elba and I'd strongly recommend it. A family run hotel, all of the staff were very welcoming and friendly and really helped us decipher the 'unusual' bus timetable for the island! The bus service, by the way, is described in either Lonely Planet or Rough Guide as 'robust' - the writer had a sense of humour! But back to the hotel, room was lovely and we had a ginormous balcony to ourselves - 20 sun beds would have fitted on it! We stayed half board as not much else on offer in Sant Andrea - food was lovely, think I put on about half a stone with the Primi (pasta), Segundi (mains) and desserts each night and there was always a little surprise starter when u arrived at the table! Only one minor complaint, the menu is not varied enough for vegetarians or non-fish eaters. But I'd stay there again in a flash!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during our honeymoon. We stayed already in Sant'Andrea for three days and loved the village (nice small bay, few restaurants, clear oceanwater), but didn't liked the hotel (hotel ilio) too much, therefore we went for one night to gallo nero and we truly loved it. We were welcomed by a very friendly lady. We didn't speak much italian and she didn't speak much English, but we both tried and that was fun! also the waiter was very friendly. The hotel consist of little appartment buildings, all on one area. Our room, number 20, had a stunning view of the ocean/bay area. The room is clean, but small. The area has nice gardens, where they grow their own vegetables and a nice pool and sunbeds. There is also a jacuzzi with a nice sea view,however we didn't use that. It is a bit further away from the beach (5-10 min walk), however there is a small road which leads you directly. One downside: there were a lot of wasps, and my husband was stung. The breakfast was nice, with a lot of choices and we also had lunch which was nice as well. We will definetly come back to this hotel if we are coming back to elba.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Beautiful location on a hill over a small beach and holiday village with an organic vegetable garden and orchard full of delicious fruit. Family and friendly atmosphere during delicious and plentiful meals, combined with the quiet privacy of individual villas scattered around the area with sea views. Helpful and efficient staff. Just two points to improve: pave the alleys from the car park to the villas to avoid damaging and dirtying luggage on wheels. Clean up more often the rotting fruit on the ground.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We booked with Gallo Nero for a week of "getting away from it all" and were not disappointed. The hotel is situated on the outskirts of the tiny village of Sant Andrea, on the hill above the sea.

You can walk through the gorgeous garden (where some of the food for dinner is grown) to 2 really lovely beaches - one of which is just round the headland to the right (which is good for snorkelling) of the main one (which is good for swimming). There are also 3 swimming pools attached to the hotel, one of which is a spa pool which you have to book to use - but it's lovely and private.

We had a room in one of the little outbuildings with a spectacular view of the village and the sea, and it had a seperate outside entrance so it sort of felt like our own tiny house. The room itself was clean and quiet, the bathroom spotless.

We had halfboard and were glad of it, as Sant Andrea is SO small and we hadn't hired a car it would have been a nightmare otherwise to get dinner. It was really good value as well and undoubtedly saved us money. The food was fabulous 95% of the time, however on a couple of occasions the fish or meat was terribly overcooked, but when we mentioned it to a waiter it was whisked away and a replacement brought in moments, and we also had some of the best food of our 2 weeks in Italy at this hotel. Breakfast on the terrace was excellent, a really good range of food - and they had Soy Milk too!

The desk staff were very friendly and helpful, but they only spoke broken English. Luckily I speak a little German (my Italian is not as good as I would like) so we got by in a mixture of German and English.

Overall we'd definitely stay here again and will be trying to come back to Elba at some point in the not-too-distant future!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We received a recommendation for this hotel. Food was delicious, very nice garden, friendly staff, clean accommodation with seaview and with a terrace. There is also a very nice jacuzzi (a reservation needed, but private and beautiful seaview). The way to a nice beach (relatively full but not overcrowded with s

I found three negatives, both related to our small kids. We were two families (together 4 kids in age 4 years, 3 years, 1,5 year and 1 year). The hotel is situated in a hill so there are many stairs so each way to the restaurant with strollers was like a gym exercise.

When we were staying by the pools, we were more nervous from kids potentially imagined in water than a relax on sunbeds.

The last thing we weren´t happy with was time of the dinner in combination with kids. The kids was naturally tired in the evening and we couldn´t enjoy dinners calmly. The dinner starts in time usual for Italy and finishes due to more courses lately what was not compatible with any of our kids. Due to this fact we didn´t enjoy the dinner as we wanted. The suits are in separated houses in the garden so there was no chance to use nurse transmitter.
Moreover, I think that the restaurant is not due to the romancy of this place suitable for small kids who have never eaten all served up food.

I would definitely go back but not with small kids.

Room Tip: Do not book rooms near tu jacuzzi if you don´t want to hear conversations and noice from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gallo Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gallo Nero

Address: Via S. Gaetano 20 in Loc St. Andrea, 57030 Marciana, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marciana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marciana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gallo Nero is situated on a gentle slope that embraces the St. Andrew Bay, surrounded by a park of 15 thousand square meters in extent.The renovated rooms furnished with care and equipped with flat screen TV-satellite, air conditioning with independent control, minibar and bathroom with shower/tub. All have balcony, terrace or garden, most of which overlook the sea.Every morning you can enjoy a buffet breakfast with homemade jams and cakes, cheeses, meats and organic products, while the evening at the elegant restaurant with typical ceiling with exposed beams, you can enjoy fresh fish specialties.You can sunbathe on the terraces equipped with chairs or by the pool. Or you can relax in the SPA pool with hydro and color therapy and view over the bay.The beautiful beach of Sant'Andrea, surrounded by rocks, is located 300m away and can be reached walking along a private path surrounded by vineyards, rosemary and lavender.Portoferraio (connected to Piombino) is the nearest port and it is 30km far from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gallo Nero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gallo Nero Elba Island/Marciana, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gallo Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.