We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, lovely village, pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Corallo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Corallo to your Saves list
Hotel Corallo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Passatoio 28, 57030 Marciana, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Marciana
Hamme
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely village, pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed from 31/05 untill 6/06.

We arrived after a long trip from 1400 km's by car on Friday afternoon.
Not used to small hotels and non all in hotels ( normally we book an AI resort with a touroperator ), we were not sure what to expect.
The mare room seems a bit small ( compared to what we are used to ), but provides all the comfort you need. Same goes for the bathroom, both cleaned spotless!
Since the language was a bit of a barrier for us; we chose the meals based upon simple words Lorella used to explain the dishes, such as "meat","fish", "pasta", "vegetables".
No matter what we chose, food was always delicious!
Rolando and Lorella did their best to make us feel at welcome and at home!
We hope to come back later this year!

For those traveling by car ; the Corallo has a nice covered parking space, so the car is protected from the heat and the sun.

Tip surrounding : walk to Chiessi via the hiking trail, visit Fettovaia or Cavoli (Sandy beach), and take a trip to Capo Sant Andrea; lovely views.
Pomonte beach is nice as well!
Taken all in consideration, one of our nicest trips ever, thanks to the lovely hotel and nice food !

See you soon!

Nathalie & Olivier

Room Tip: Choose a sea side room ( Mare ) or book the larger rooms (Storia)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    28
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Corallo in Pomonte for a week in September 2011. It was a last-minute change of plans that took us to Elba and we were delighted to find that this little family-run hotel still had availability at short notice (although we did have to change rooms half way through our stay). We would recommend the sea-view room on the first floor, which is fairly spacious with a clean bathroom and small balcony from which we enjoyed watching the sunset over Corsica with a cold beer! We had never stayed 'half board' before, but were very pleased that we took all our meals in the hotel's excellent little restaurant (the evening menu is provided in Italian each morning at breakfast - we found the phrasebook in the Rough Guide useful for some of the more obscure culinary terms!). Rolando, Loretta and their team couldn't have been more attentive to the only English tourists in an otherwise almost exclusively Italian-speaking establishment. Pomonte is a very pleasant little resort tucked away on the quieter side of the island: the village itself has a nice pebble beach (there are sandy beaches 10 minutes' drive along the coast) and a couple of bars and hotel restaurants, but not as many options for eating out as such resorts as Marina di Campo. We hope to be able to return to Pomonte and Hotel Corallo very soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We spent 5 days at this nice place. We had the big room at first floor reaching out to a large terasse.
Our hosts very nice and friendly and we really enjoyed their hospitality. The food was all self cooked and very tasty. Just the breakfast could have been more elaborate. We would have liked to be closer to a sand beach since the village of Pomonte offers only a stony beach. On the other hand, their are several beaches on little coves along the southern elba cost which are within 20 min to reach.
Even our 1 year old baby enjoyed the stay. We'll certainly can recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Elba is a very special unspoiled island, a hiker's and nature lover's paradise, and this is a very special family hotel. The owners Lorella and Ronaldo, did everything they could to make our stay as comfortable and interesting as possible. Conversations were conducted in a mixture of minimal Italian and rather more French which was always fun. The hotel is simple and no frills, but the room was kept spotlessly clean by the delightful chambermaids, the beds were excellent and everything always worked perfectly and - we had a sea view. There is a car park for about eight cars, - I suspect this may be a bit of a problem in high season. There is no pool but it is only a five minute walk to a small shingle beach - once in the water the swimming is a dream
( first two weeks June ). We took half board and never regretted it. The cook really knows his business and produces a variety of Italian dishes every day. The menu appeared to be fixed until Lorella one day said if there is nothing on the menu that you like just tell me what you want and I will see what we can do. Which is the way this hotel is run, - very professional but with unending kindness. There is very good (pretty serious) hiking on the island and the best of the trails seem to be close to this hotel. On arrival, we were offered a full day's hiking excursion for two free with guide. All in all unforgettable - thank you so much Lorella and Ronaldo for a wondeful holiday. Incidentally, if you are a diver there is a convenient wreck about 100 metres offshore in shallow water. If you like simple pleasures but require quality where the essentials are concerned then I am sure you will not be disappointed here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Corallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corallo

Address: Via del Passatoio 28, 57030 Marciana, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marciana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marciana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Corallo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel's origin go back at the end of '800. Our hotel is 200 mt from the sea in the quiet village of Pomont. Hier you find a good quality of ospitality, good cooking and attentions to details. Ecological Hotel.Ideal place to trekking bike, snorkeling, sub....All year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Corallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Corallo Elba Island/Marciana, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Corallo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.