We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GEM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel da Giacomino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marciana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel da Giacomino
Via del Cotoncello | Sant' Andrea, 57030 Marciana, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Marciana
San Antonio, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A GEM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you go to Tuscany, you should find the time to visit Elba, and stay at this marvelous family-owned hotel in Sant'Andrea, located on the Northwestern part of the island. The proprietors, Franco and Marinella, along with don Giacomino and their extended family make you feel at home immediately with their warmth and generosity. We stayed for three nights in late September. The views are spectacular, the food is amazingly delicious, and our rooms impeccable and spacious. Tell your friends that visit Italy, to make a point to this this oft-missed part of Tuscany, for a truly memorable experience! Simply the best!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    23
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Had a very pleasant stay in early October. We lucked out, and the weather was warm. The family that runs the place is super friendly and helpful, and the food was great.

FYI, they seem to cater to mostly German tourists, so the menu is tailored to German tastes.

The room was small but pleasant, and our balcony had a stunning view. It's a short hike along a really cool rocky trail to the beach. The hotel has a great pool, and the wifi was fast.

For planning, it takes almost an hour to drive here on the twisty roads of Elba once you leave the Ferry.

Be sure and experience the funicular (Cabinova) in nearby Marciana Alta - it's spectacular!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our stay at Hotel da Giacomino was one of the big surprises of our Italian trip. Located right on the coast with a pool and tennis court, we were expecting a large hotel with little personal touches. On the contrary, we found there were only about 25 rooms and it was a family-run hotel, with Franco and Marinella always happy to cater for your every whim! The bedroom and bathroom were both large and our balcony was above the kitchen so we had delicious smells coming our way from about 5pm every day. We stayed half-board and the evening food, served at 8pm, was worth the wait! So many places to relax and sunbathe among the trees on the hotel grounds, but we took the short walk across to the Sant Andrea beach every day to lie on the sandy beach and swim in the crystal clear sea. If we were to change one thing about our trip, it would have been to hire a car because the taxi from Portoferraio to the hotel, while a beautiful journey, cost 70 euros.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is my 1st visit at Hotel Da Giacomino and it definitely won't be my last. This family run hotel is the best in Sant"andrea with great service and food. The Location is absolutely breath taking. Franco and Marinella were amazing and really made us feel like part of the family. Tanti Grazie!!!

Forza Roma!

John and Marianna

Room Tip: You will need a car to get here. There is not much to do in town so after dinner you may want to tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

It's our second visit to this hotel. Location is exceptionally beautiful, the Hotel is perfectly located with swimming pool, private park going directly down to sea. Nice rooms with scenic view.
Family owned and managed, very customer conscious. Really good food with nice presentation and attention to menu in a wonderful sunset & sea looking restaurant.

Room Tip: you cannot do wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Family run hotel with the best location on the north/west coast. The highlight of the hotel are the gardens and hil-top/coastal location - as well as having a sea water-filled pool and tennis court. The rooms and home-cooked Italian food (we full-boarded) are as you'd expect (good) and no better or worse than the other hotels in Sant Andrea (which we have stayed at, this is the best in our opinion). Some of the other reviews here seem to expect haute cuisine & 5 star luxury - but this is a seaside hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011 via mobile

A lovely place inside a lovely island
A relaxing place with an excellent view lovely food and pine trees give you a lovely and relaxing time

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel da Giacomino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Giacomino

Address: Via del Cotoncello | Sant' Andrea, 57030 Marciana, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marciana
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marciana
#10 Family Hotel in Marciana
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Giacomino Elba Island/Marciana, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel da Giacomino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel da Giacomino to your Saves list