We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel with amazing views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Martino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Martino to your Saves list
Hotel Martino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Citrosello, 16, 85046 Maratea, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Maratea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An excellent hotel with amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

I found this hotel via trip advisor and was very happy with my choice. A very quiet location set outside both the port & centre of Maratea so you need a car for getting around. But the coastal views of the sea from the sea view rooms & the terrace infront of reception & also the restaurant for breakfast were breathtaking.

The staff were very helpful & spoke some English although I would recommend learning some useful phrases.

A great hotel I would recommend

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    88
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
54
112
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I am giving this hotel 5 stars because the value was outstanding. The views from our balcony were superb, especially at sunset. We had a very large, comfortable room and there was plenty of free parking. You definitely need a car here. We came in May and the large and attractive indoor pool was heated - a very nice treat at the end of the day. Wi-fi worked well in the foyer. The hotel's own restaurant was good although we found the opening time of 8pm rather late. We also had a very good set meal at the White Horse Restaurant 5 minutes walk down the road. The beach is pebbly and 15 mins walk away. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Room 102 is large with a big balcony (superior double)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Reception was friendly and had some English. Our room was on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the sea and with a view all the way up the coast. However the hotel is 7 km from the Centro Historica Maratea, about 4 km from the port. It is possible to walk to the beach from the hotel but unfortunately rain made that unattractive for our stay. The bathroom is good. Bed and pillows firm but good. There was a very small safe and drinks fridge but no glasses. We asked for boiling water to make a cup of coffee in our room and were given this plus cups, saucers and a tea pot. We ate at the restaurant - La Locando di Nettuno - no desserts offered but food - eg seafood stew, sword fish, pork etc were well cooked. Wifi in foyer was fast enough, tourist info was also provided. Good breakfast.There is also a fairly large indoor pool but it was not heated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We arrived just before sunset after a very long and eventful drive. We found the hotel easily and parked with ease, as there seemed to be a small number of guests at that time.
The receptionist was friendly, very competent and helpful, despite the fact that she was struggling with a severe allergy - she was a real trooper.

We had a superior room: spacious, well appointed and comfortable. The terrace came with gobsmacking views across the bay and out to sea. It was so lovely that we weren't too keen to go out for dinner, but eventually we mustered the energy and were glad we did - another good restaurant worth writing to Trip Advisor about.

Quiet, cool nights made for very restorative sleep.

Breakfast is continental, so it might feel a little repetitive during long stays, but the coffee tastes great and the views from the breakfast tables are enchanting.

There is plenty to do in the area besides roasting on the beach, but it's best to have a good car or at least a scooter (if you're brave/reckless) to get around Maratea. We had a 4x4 and it proved very useful in reaching some of the towns up in the mountains (fantastic sea views from up there, incidentally): Basilicata and Calabria were hit by landslides and roadworks have been slow to start, so along some stretches of road (well away from Maratea, though) some surfaces were very uneven.

Maratea is rightly popular in July and August, but I'd love to go back during the low-season. The quiet, service and quality of our stay at Hotel Martino were amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Martino is one of those hidden beauties. Spectacular views from the rooms and a short walk to beautiful grey sand beaches. Maratea is a short drive away and offers a lovely seaside town with marina and bayside dining.
Rooms are modern and sparkling clean, the dining is wonderful and the staff knowledgeable and helpful. Plenty of parking onsite and internet available but only in the reception and lounge/bar area. we will be using this as a base in future to explore the highlands and valleys behind Maratea

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a nice simple family run hotel. Great views from our room and hotel in general. The weather was cold for the time of year and my only disappointment was that the indoor pool was not heated and was so cold you could not use it. Restaurant and breakfast is very nice. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel is situated in a beautiful area and is convenient to get to. Very good price, rooms, staff and ambience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martino

Address: Via Citrosello, 16, 85046 Maratea, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Maratea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Maratea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Martino 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the green coast, the hotel is situated in a strategic position for tourist excursions. The private beach, with shuttle bus service, is just 700mt far away and furthermore you can find indoor swimmingpool, restaurant and bar. Rooms are very comfortable, recently renewed and all with sea view, bathroom, hair dryer, satellite TV, telephone, minibar, safe and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Martino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martino Hotel Maratea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Martino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.