We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive statue, gorgeous setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cristo Redentore

Cristo Redentore
Castello di Maratea, Maratea, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in Maratea
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Impressive statue, gorgeous setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Worth a trip if ony to experience the crazy engineering of the windy road to get to the top of this mountain! Great view, and the statue is impressive, approaching from the church. Sad to see that people are disrespectful both to the sculptor and the subject and graffiti the work of art....worth a visit at sunset but i imagine the light is even better at sunrise...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    117
    32
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“did this hike everyday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We did this hike everyday that we were in Maratea around 5:30 PM. It took us about 45 minutes to get there and had a beautiful view the whole way up and an even better view at the top. We would watch the sunset at the top and then hike back down while it was still light out. Would highly recommend.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth the while”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

There is a bus that takes you to Christ the redeemer statue. Amazing view over the coastline. And possible to get a cold drink while you enjoy it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great views, invigorating walk up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We walked up and loved it so much we did it 5 times in 5 days. awesome views and a cafe bar at the top for a cold drink.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cristo Redentore also viewed

Maratea, Province of Potenza
Maratea, Province of Potenza
 
Maratea, Province of Potenza
Maratea, Province of Potenza
 

Been to Cristo Redentore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cristo Redentore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.