We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not a great value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Da Cesare

Da Cesare
Contrada Cersuta, 85046 Maratea, Italy
+39 0973.871840
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 42 Restaurants in Maratea
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good, but not a great value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I am surprised at the many superlative reviews. I found the food to be good, but not exceptional, and a tad pricey. On the other hand, we visited off-season (we were the only ones in the restaurant); perhaps the food is fresher at other times. I have no complaints, but we chose to go to da Peppe's in Acquafredda a second time rather than to return here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    194
    75
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I went here quite a few times on an off peak holiday to Maratea. The food was always perfection. I am vegetarian, so it was a bit of a struggle to find food, however, the staff were helpful and worried that I would just eat pasta pomodoro made a special dish. From other people's reviews, this place is packed during the peak season, but it feels like a proper hidden gem off-peak, full of Italian families. I strongly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ideal for seafood enthusiasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We recently ate here on two occasions whilst staying near Maratea. The ingredients all seemed fresh and the choice was good. We went out of season so the restaurant was fairly quite on both occasions which didn't help the ambience but even still, the views and the fresh air made up for this. The restaurant was within easy walking distance to where we were staying which made getting there easy but the addition of a large car park across the road helps alleviate the stress for anybody intending to drive to Da Cesare. I would happily go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely fish restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We ate at this restaurant twice during our short stay in Maratea and we really enjoyed it. It is a very good fish restaurant which has lovely views. The first night, I had langoustines pasta and it was gorgeous; the plate was wiped clean. This restaurant is ideal for seafood lovers!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damme, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good fish restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Simple and honest Italian kitchen. As they don't serve any meat dishes, this is a restaurant for the fish and seafood lovers. Service is extremely friendly and professional.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Cesare also viewed

Maratea, Province of Potenza
Maratea, Province of Potenza
 
Marina di Maratea, Maratea
Maratea, Province of Potenza
 

Been to Da Cesare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Cesare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.