We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite restaurant in Maratea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Cesare

Da Cesare
Contrada Cersuta, 85046 Maratea, Italy
+39 0973.871840
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 43 Restaurants in Maratea
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dorking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“My Favourite restaurant in Maratea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spend 10 days in Maratea and this was my favourite restaurant. The food is really good quality and beautifully cooked. The fish I had here was the freshest I had. The style of cooking is good home cooked Italian food - so don't expect fancy sauces or anything too complicated.
The service is excellent too - lovely happy staff who take pride in their work.
This was the only restaurant that was consistently busy in this area and it is the only place we had to book for (Maratea is very much effected by the recession). All the Italians who holiday here go here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    194
    75
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caserta, Italy
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Da Caesar in Cersuta is an excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A good restaurant is a major accomplishment that builds day by day with sacrifices but maintain high quality dining fees is a matter of excellence. Da Caesar in Cersuta is an excellence. Da Cesare is housed since access to greeting the final who oversaw the evening.It's back by Cesare prejudice increasingly amazed by the excellent experience of linguine with cuttlefish ink, spaghetti with seafood, seafood risotto, fresh pasta with prawns then to sea bass, sea bream or snapper all'acquapazza or cooked in the salt, delicate shrimp and squid fried or stir fried clams, peppered mussels. Antipasti di mare strokes between prawns and octopus salad bring this experience that disappoints with ice cream of pizzo calabro-cedar and lemon-or macedonia. Good wine list, solid mineral water labels.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great, as long as you like fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A fun, good value restaurant in an excellent location. If you like fish, you should be all set - the fritto misto was wonderful, the vongole likewise. Just watch out for the mosquitos.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, AZ
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Lovely view and atmosphere and very nice service. I'm not used to such late night dining as is the custom in Italy. We arrived too early and had to wait until the restaurant opened at 8pm, but were glad we did. My appetizer was a shrimp salad. At first glance it looked boring: plain shrimp (cut in half) over a bed of arugula. I was wrong. The shrimp was perfect: very clean and sweet meat. The dressing was a simple base of lemon juice and olive oil--tasty and refreshing. Exactly what I wanted. I had the cuttlefish risotto cooked in ink. Calling it risotto may throw some people off because it wasn't a creamy dish as many expect from risotto--it was rice. It was quite good, and I found it exciting to eat something I never had before. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, pity about the food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Fantastic view across the bay towards mountains, especially at sunset. Delightful setting and lots of space. But what a disappointment when the food arrived - indeed before the food arrived as the house white was acid and almost undrinkable and neither it nor the mineral water properly cold. The seafood first course tasted principally of vinegar, the main dishes were either mediocre (anchovies) or over-cooked and slathered in oil (fish). At least there was consistency. The bread resembled a sliced loaf of rather dry brown wholemeal. Both it and the overall meal were by far the worst eating experience we had in two weeks in Baslicata and Campania. And it was not cheap. We did try to get our views across at the end but staff seemed quite indifferent. Perhaps they'd heard it all before. Avoid.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Cesare also viewed

Maratea, Province of Potenza
Marina di Maratea, Maratea
 
Maratea, Province of Potenza
Maratea, Province of Potenza
 

Been to Da Cesare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Cesare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.