We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wellness Hotel Casa Barca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wellness Hotel Casa Barca to your Saves list
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Panoramica, 15, 37108 Malcesine, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Malcesine
Exeter
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Gosh - not sure where to start with this review - everything was so great! The hotel is a 5 minute stroll from Malcesine centre which is vibrant enough to have some atmosphere but still has a relaxed vibe to it.
The hotel itself is set in tranquil, well kept gardens with plenty of sunbeds around so you can lie in the dappled shade under the trees or around the pool in the full sun, or you can choose to sit above the poolside in the comfy chairs looking out at the lake.
Inside, the hotel is spotless - I'm a bit of a stickler for cleanliness and I certainly couldn't find anything to complain about. The decor is well designed and thought through and has a very contemporary feel to it thoughout.
We had a suite which I highly recommend - so light and airy and we had a lovely balcony and views of the lake. The bed was 2 singles zipped together on an adjustable frame, so was very big and we had great fun with the remote control! It just felt like everything had been thought of, even down to the fact that the shutter on the patio doors (which meant total black out, so no being woken up at 4am with the rising sun) was controlled by a switch at the bedside, so you can see what the weather is like without moving from your bed.
Once out of bed, the breakfast is just amazing. Everything you could possibly want is on offer - including Prosecco for those in want of some bubbles. The owner and her staff quietly keep the buffet area topped up, so if you come down later on you still have as much selection as if you'd been there first thing. The fruit was beautiful and the creme patiserie filled pastries were heaven on a plate.
The staff are all very helpful and speak excellent English and German. The facilities were good - though the gym can't be used before 10am (a bit of a pain if you prefer to get your exercise done and out of the way so you can relax for the rest of the day) and the sauna is 'no clothes allowed' so be brave fellow Brits!!
All in all I'd definitely recomend this hotel - we had a wonderful stay and very much hope to be back in the future. Thank you Casa Barca, keep it up.

Room Tip: Treat yourself and go for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    29
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
290
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was by way of being an early 50th wedding anniversary celebration so we weren't economising and chose this as one of the best rated hotels. One word can describe this place. Just "faultless". From the helpful and friendly staff (Anna, Sina and Claudio couldn't do enough for us) and the just perfect room (with its balcony overlooking the lake and its big spotless bathroom), right down to the little things, (like the balcony table with one adjustable foot to make sure it didn't rock !) the whole experience was one we'll remember for many a long year. Even for us, (50 years married, remember) the walk down into town was no hardship and the magnificent swimming pool was superbly refreshing after a warm walk back up. Breakfasts in the beautiful airy Emma room were a joy, with a huge selection, both hot and cold, to choose from - and even a Daily Telegraph to skim afterwards! Our thanks to everyone who made this such a wonderful and memorable holiday for us.

Room Tip: We had Exclusive room no. 29 on the 2nd floor overlooking the lake and it could hardly have been a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Casa Barca. I had been very keen to stay here for some time because of all the good reviews and I'm pleased to say that the hotel lived up to its reputation. The first thing to mention was the excellent service received before we even got there! I booked our stay by email last November and then, later, our transfers from the airport and onwards to our accommodation in Verona at the end of the holiday and every request was dealt with quickly and courteously. Service is where the Casa Barca excels with all staff friendly and helpful. The facilities are excellent too.

Our room was very clean and spacious. The fridge is a great idea and there is no problem with bringing back supplies from the (superb) nearby Spar to stock it. Our balcony overlooked the lake - an amazing sight to wake up to each day! The bed was very firm as was the (single) pillow. I am sure we could have asked for extra pillows but we got used to the one we had. Breakfast was good - a very varied range of cold meats, cheeses, fruit and pastries. There was also cooked scrambled eggs and bacon (?) but we didn't try these. Coffee is from a machine as is hot water for tea. I don't drink coffee but my partner said it was good. My only (small) gripe would be with the juices on offer - it would be really nice to have some fresh juice, even from concentrate. The best was the pineapple juice and I'm pretty sure it was a diluted cordial - this was NOT a big issue however. We had the same table all week and I had no problems with this at all. Sadly we did not make use of the Wellness facilities - it just seemed too hot to use a sauna, Jacuzzi etc but it all looked good. I also meant to use the wonderful swimming pool but we never seemed to have the time. There is also a very nice third floor terrace with even better views than the ones from the room.

Location is superb, literally 5-10 minutes walk from the town centre. My partner has slight difficulties walking but had no problems. The hotel is on a slightly elevated position but the sloping road leading to it is very gentle. We found it pretty quiet - just the occasional moped roaring past the entrance - and the hotel seems to lay on live music once a week which we enjoyed from our balcony.

Overall we had a superb stay and I would highly recommend the Casa Barca. We would very much like to go back sometime.

Room Tip: The exclusive rooms are worth the extra money as they have front lake views and surely you want to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Casa Barca is one of the nicest hotel I've ever been to. It is located conveniently close to town center, there are plenty of free parking spaces. The atmosphere is tranquil and serene with amazing views to the lake. The staff is most helpful, and the hotel services are refined to perfection. Would definitely visit again. The only regret is that I couldn't stay for longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is our 3rd stay at Casa Barca. Claudio, Antonella, Maria Grazia, Anna and Sina are always on hand to help and ensure that you have a wonderful stay. This hotel is located a 5-10 min walk from the town centre, far enough away to ensure peace and tranquility, yet an easy stroll into the town.

We stayed in a newly refurbished Deluxe room, which had two single beds pushed together to make a king size, and a huge balcony overlooking beautiful Lake Garda. Beds are so comfortable and bedding is of high quality. The room, like the rest of the hotel was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast in the hotel is superb, offering an array of hot and cold items. You are allocated a specific table for the duration of your stay, which means no worry about there being a free table. Breakfast is served until 10:30am, allowing for a lie-in if required! There is a snack menu available in the afternoon.

The pool area is lovely for sunbathing. We used the indoor jacuzzi a few times, usually having it all to ourselves! Towels are provided free of charge!

Free wifi is always a bonus. It works in the bedroom as well as in the garden/pool area.

There is a Eurospar supermarket a 5 min
The hotel offers a discount at a number of local restaurants. We highly recommend Al Corsaro, a secluded lakeside location specialising in seafood. The steak is pretty good too! For a cheaper option Ristoro is amazing for pozza and pasta. The locals eat here, which speaks volume. In the town centre Ristorante Re Lear is a wonderful restaurant for a special occasion.

Casa Barca offers it's guests a luxurious, relaxing stay. It is very clean, modern and comfortable It is definitely worth paying for a lake view room. We have already booked to return for our 2nd anniversary next year! We wouldn't stay anywhere else. Thank You everyone at Casa Barca!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Wasn't sure that this hotel could be as good as people have described - but it was! Spent 8 nights early June in a suite with wonderful Lake view....and even had a laptop. Everyone is very helpful and Anna even got us to Venice on the train!
The breakfast is simply "to die for".....I don't think I have ever seen a better spread anywhere - even have two coffee machines depending on your fancy.....and hot as well as cold food on offer.
Malcesine is literally 5 minutes away and has the best "Spar" supermarket - stunning produce.
Hotel doesn't advertise it much but you can actually get a "snack" type meal anytime you wish. I say snack but they do pasta dishes which looked quite appealing and a couple who tried it said it was great.
Having said that it is good to do the short walk into town and sample the local "fayre" - can highly recommend Taverna di Capitani.
If you are looking for a little bit of luxury in an ideal spot - look no further than Casa Barca.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on the second stage of our weeks holiday in Lake Garda, and pretty much took the advice of all the tripadvisor comments in making our decision to stay here, we were not disappointed. Antonella gave us a warm greeting on check in, our exclusive room with lake view on the first floor was really only a partial lake view but didn't detract from my overall stay here. It is a small and seemed well run hotel, rooms were comfortable, very nice breakfast and a 5 minute stroll down the hill into the town of Malcesine. Claudio is very personable and always saying hello and very helpful, which does say a lot about this hotel as they do make you feel welcome. The wellness area is adequate but quite small, steam, sauna room and jacuzzi but then it is a small hotel. Plenty of car parking here also. Overall, a very nice hotel in a good location and one I would recommend to anyone coming to this area.

Room Tip: We had room 9 with partial lake view but you do get your own sun loungers. I expect that the rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellness Hotel Casa Barca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellness Hotel Casa Barca

Address: Via Panoramica, 15, 37108 Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#1 Spa Hotel in Malcesine
#4 Family Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellness Hotel Casa Barca 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Barca, which was completely renovated in 2007, lies embedded in an olive grove of 4500 square meters and it is only a stone's throw away from the historic old town and the lake. The guests can enjoy the privilege of a rejuvenating and relaxing atmosphere.The modern design is the perfect starting point for a holiday under the motto of comfort and physical wellness.Our new health spa will help you to make your dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, WINTRADE S.R.L., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wellness Hotel Casa Barca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albergo Casa Barca Wellness
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellness Hotel Casa Barca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.