We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class visit and would most defiantly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Peler

Hotel Peler
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Peler to your Saves list
Hotel Peler
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gardesana 290, 37018 Malcesine, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Malcesine
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“First class visit and would most defiantly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Have just returned from the Hotel Peler.
We rented 2 rooms for 4 nights whilst visiting for a wedding at the castle
Rooms are spotless
Beds Firm but comfy
Breakfast consists of homemade items such as breads and cakes/pastries with good coffee.
We were in room 20 which had a decent size bathroom and amazing lake views
Our son was in 31 which was a little dark and faced neighbouring hotel, if you looked to the left you saw the mountain and cable cars. Again room was spotless with a smaller bathroom.
All rooms had balcony s
There was also a large balcony area leading from the reception area which smokers could HSVE breakfast on.
We used the balcony area wih the lovely comfy seating area to entertain other family members that were her for the wedding
The hotel was in a prime spot for everything you could possibly need.
The hotel is on the main road but to be honest I never found it a problem
The owner and family were nothing but hospitable and helpful to us at all times even to the point of helping organise a transfer for my sister who wasn't even staying at the hotel.
I would most certainty recommend this hotel, in fact my brother changed to this hotel after coming to visit us, as he was so impressed with it...
When the day comes for a return visit yo Malcesine , I will defiantly be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you want a lake view, ask or room at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel is in a great location with amazing views. Our room was nicely decorated with a spacious balcony overlooking the lake and the mountains. The bedroom wasn't as clean as it could have been with a lot of dust on the floor and under the bed. The bathroom was very small and needs updating really - the shower is tiny and has this very long shower curtain which gets in the way and is awkward to arrange - it was ok but not a pleasant experience.

Our room was right below the stairs but you couldn't hear anyone tramping up and down - the sound-proofing was excellent. Unfortunately the sound-proofing on the outside wall with the patio-doors to the balcony is not so good and it was impossible to sleep through the noise of a bar down the street playing loud (and really bad) music. Luckily the music stops at midnight on the dot.

Air-con isn't included and you have to pay extra for it. In July/August it was very hot and we needed it. There is no fridge in the room.

Breakfast was ok. The best bit was the freshly made, very good coffee. Also, on one day we did have delicious home-made cake which was great.

The owner, like many hoteliers and restaurant owners in Malcesine when we visited, seemed tourist-weary and ready for the tourist period (busiest from May-August) to end. However she was very helpful when it came to assisting with local information/planning local trips.

I thought this hotel was a good location, but quite expensive for what you get. I'd definitely look around first before booking with them again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Fabulous location! Right at the centre of Malcesine with views of the castle and lake from the hotel terrace (and rooms depending on the side of the hotel you're on). Spotlessly clean, great breakfast with lots of choice and lovely homemade cakes. Was initially disappointed to find hotel situated above the surf shop but turned out to be ideal. Only downside was the noise of scooters going by on the main road outside and the bottle banks being emptied at 6 in the morning but if you can put up with this it's a great value for money hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This hotel is great value for money, central location, and very clean. The views of the castle and the lake from the hotel terrace are amazing. The rooms at the front of the hotel have the same fantastic views and the rooms at the back have views of the mountains. The rooms are a good size.
The staff were helpful and friendly and when it was raining on our last day they were very accommodating. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusper, west sussex
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Absolutely fantastic location!!!!!!!! Right by the castle, the cable car, the gorgeous cobbled lanes and shops and the lake- perfect!
Very pleasant staff,hotel more like a motel whereby it closes up at 10pm so you have access to a back entrance and your room only after this time.
Breakfast buffet pleasant with great espresso and homemade cakes, cookies etc as well as the usual.
The only downside is the lack of room items such as safe, tv & hairdryer other than that the rooms all have pleasant balconies and are clean and tidy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We travel a lot and went to this hotel last summer.
We did not like it at all, so that we had to spend one day of our holiday to look for another hotel...

But let's start with the good points:
1. The hotel has a nice website, with beautiful, professional pictures. However, this gives you a misleading of the hotel. You cannot see that the rooms are very small and that the hotel is on a very busy road. Further it seems as if you have full frontal lake view, but the lake view is only (very) partial or not (room on the back) and you have to look behind a busy road, houses, buildings and shops to see a part of it.

2. The rooms are tastefully decorated, many IKEA stuff. I you like that, this is a positive point for you.

Now what we did not like:

1. The hotel is on one of the busiest places of Malcesine, right on the main road, with many noise, all night long. You'll here people shouting, car horns etc. So definitely NOT a place if you want to relax on your holiday and definitely NOT right at Lake Garda.

2. The room is very, very hot. Not doable without air condition, which of course is at extra charge. 1 and 2 gave us sleepless nights...

3. The room is very, very small. No room for two suitcases, you can hardly move in your room. And you don't want to, because it's so hot and noisy. The bathroom is super small! Not even place for a rack in the shower to put your shampoo/ soap on. It was the smallest room we have stayed in.

4. The room was not cleaned, when we arrived back in the hotel after a long day, although we were away from 12:30 - 22:30. When we politely asked the owner if cleaning was not included, she answered: yes, but I like to do that in the morning after breakfast. When I said that we left after 12:30 her reaction was: I cannot keep up when my guests leave their room. No excuses or anything!

5. The price is very overrated. We paid EUR 200 for two nights, more than we paid for our other, way better, 3 and 4 stars hotels on this trip. When we looked for another hotel in Malcesine, we found many, many hotels with a better view, bigger rooms, more quiet, better breakfast and service and also a pool. Prices of way better 3 stars hotels start around 60 euro in high season. We ended up moving to another more star hotel in Malcesine, paying 80 euro per night for a fantastic room! Large, romantic, right at the lake, no noise, relaxing, with pool, parking, free internet etc. In Malcesine there is a hotel office, that can look into all hotel availability. They will be more than happy to help you with a better hotel.

6. The hotel has no pool or other relaxing area. The terrace where the breakfast is served (only till 09:30) is right on the busy main road, so not a place to sit and relax.

7. The hotel has a few parking spaces, however, when we arrived around 22:30, there was no space left...so we had to park in the street.

8. Internet is at extra charge and very slow/ does not work properly all the time.

9. Not suitable for persons with mobility issues, no elevator, you have to walk stairs with your suitcases to enter the building and then again to go to your room. As we are a young couple, this was no problem for us.

10. Last but worst!! The owner is not service minded at all. We had many contact with her in the days before our booking and arrival, telling her that we were looking for a Malcesine hotel as part of our honeymoon. And that we were looking for a romantic, quiet place to relax at the lake front. Yes, this was possible at hotel Peler, said the owner.
We were very dissapointed upon arrival. Not because we did not get any honeymoon flowers or fruit, like in the other hotels, but because of the small, hot and very noisy room - not relaxing. I wanted to leave immediately, however, my wife felt sorry for the owner and asked to stay at least one night. We mentioned our disspointment politely, but did not get any understanding from the owner.
Next morning we asked her if she knew any other hotels in the area, that would meet our needs. Again no help and understanding at all.
At night we came back, we had not booked any hotel yet. Owner was not there. That night was just really horrible with the noise and heat, we did not sleep at all.
The next morning we asked the owner very politely if we could leave, saying, we like the decoration of the rooms, but when we stay here, this would be spoiling our own holiday, simply because we were looking for relaxation and quietness. She said that indeed her hotel was the best decorated hotel of the area and was angry with us. When we finally checked out, we paid cash, but because my wife (still) felt sorry for her, since it is her own hotel and not a big company, we did not mention the cash payment discount she promised.
She on the otherside, said there will be no discount and that the price would be 20 euro higher as said before, because of the short stay, and that this additional price of 20 euro was written on her website. Although we explained to her, that not only for her it was loss of a client, but also for us a loss of our holidays to look for another hotel, she had NO understanding at all. She kept asking for the extra money. We paid, because we really wanted to leave and thought: she probably needs it more than we do.
When we were at the hotel office, the lady showed us the hotel Peler website, that did not mention the 20 euro extra at all. And she told us that if the client is not satisfied at all, the hotel owner should at least NOT give you a hard time to leave, if the complaints cannot be solved. How the owner of this hotel threated us, without any respect for our holiday, is really a bad attitude for someone in the hospitality branche.

In short: don't go here, many way better and way cheaper hotels in Malcesine.

Room Tip: Don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

This is a freshly renovated hotel with all you can want in this pricerange. Great location, good service, neat, tidy, good breakfast. Ecology has been taken into account. Recycling is encouraged, bathroom equipment has water saving functionalities, complimentary soaps and shampoos are all eco, there is a wide variety of organic foods served on breakfast etc.

Only thing missing is a swimming pool. There is an internet connection available for a little extra charge, but it was pretty slow and unreliable at times. You can check your email, news, weather and such, but don't expect to be able to upload all your holiday photos to facebook.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are longer in the sun and hotter than mountainview rooms. if you dont buy A/C for 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Peler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peler

Address: Gardesana 290, 37018 Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Peler 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Peler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peler Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Peler Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Peler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.