We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lago di Garda

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Malcesine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lago di Garda
Save
You added Lago di Garda to your Saves list
P.zza Vittorio Emanuele, 1, Malcesine, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Malcesine
Dalton-in-Furness, Cumbria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel, convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

As stated previously the location of this hotel is great. We had a large room on the 4th floor with a fridge and a good view of the lake, castle and Limone. There are good views from the roof terrace also. The staff were helpful and spoke English. We took a trip to the Dolomites (including the cable car) which was expensive but worth it. Also the tour round the Lake. Monte Baldo cable car was also worth going on (allow half a day). If you go to Verona you can do this by bus 11.60 euros return, but bus was very busy on return journey. You will enjoy this holiday with plenty of spectacular views!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    28
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
16
56
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just back from 11 days at Lago DI Garda hotel and it was fantastic. Staff were excellent, the rooms were clean and modern and although the breakfast was average, but still adequate, the food in the restaurant at night was absolutely fantastic. We travelled with two young kids aged 9 and 7 and they loved the pasta and pizza. Personally I would ask you to try the the pasta gambier i, I had it twice it was the good. Location of the hotel was good for getting around and could be noisy without disturbing you. Everything was within walking distance....thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The location of hotel is great, a short walk from bus station, easy to find. It is near at harbour (less than five minutes walk) and near at cablecar to mt Baldo. In practise the hotel is near at everything - Malcesine is a small village. The breakfast was basic buffet with some variation, no vegetables. The rooms were clean, but aircon is operated from reception and no firdge (some rooms might have?), no cooking ability. Staff was helpfull and speaked good english. If you have a room windows or balcony to square there might be some noise. The hotel is surrounded restaurants, you can find a supermarket near at the bus station. There are no swimming pool, but there is a small sun deck at the roof/ top floor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was our first and last stay in this hotel. To be fair the room, shower and general facilities were o k, howerever the food quality was just average bordering on poor. We have stayed in Limone on several occasions and found the hotels were better, staff friendlier.
On the last but one day I requested some ice from the bar for our room, and was met with a flat refusal. The bar manager/owner was extremely rude and aggressive when I questioned this, even saying go to another hotel if we did'nt like his. He certainly needs to attend the "School of Customer Satisfaction" for a lengthy course on how to speak to his customers. Disgraceful behaviour. I have advised Crystal of this, but on the basis of this review I doubt they will remove Lago di Garda from their brochure. Just don't ask for ice.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I booked this hotel as part of a late deal, so was not expecting it to be anything special. I read the reviews on this website, some of which were quite negative about the staff and the hotel and I have to totally contradict what others have said.
The staff were friendly and helpful and all spoke excellent English and couldn’t do enough or us. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable and the location in Malcesine was very central and far from being noisy, I loved the fact that it had lots going on and the streetside restaurant was a great vantage point to sit and relax. The food was always first class and I have to give a special mention to Francesco the head waiter, who was extremely professional, personable and always made us feel welcome. Of all the restaurants we visited, this one was the best and with excellent food at very reasonable prices.
Malcesine is truly the ‘pearl of Lake Garda’ and I will definitely be going back, as it was stunningly beautiful with something for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We've just returned from our stay in Lago di Garda, a thoroughly enjoyable base for our Lake Garda holiday. There'd been a slip up by the agent booking the holiday for us, meaning that the hotel didn't know we were vegetarians. The hotel did brilliantly with our daily menus though and when they weren't quite sure if it was good enough for us - they kept checking - we could encourage them that it was very good. We like to be able to chat with our hosts and in this regard were not disappointed, being able to enjoy conversations with those in the restaurant and the reception. (And when I lost something in our room, and had to move several pieces of furniture to find it, it was all as clean as the open spaces.) All very enjoyable indeed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

I am AMAZED by the amount of bad reviews this hotel has received. My partner and I have just returned from our holiday in Malcesine, and stayed at the Lago Di Garda and it was wonderful. Very modern hotel on the inside, with a beautiful traditional look on the outside. The food was fantastic, we ate there on several evenings, and prefered it to a lot of the restaurants and pizzerias in the area. The staff are incredibly friendly and welcoming. The waiters, bar staff and everyone that we spoke to on reception were fluent not only in English, but German too, and were constantly switching between them and Italian to accommodate the needs of all the guests and customers. Room service were extremely friendly also. I could not pick a single fault with the hotel, the service or the staff.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lago di Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago di Garda

Address: P.zza Vittorio Emanuele, 1, Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Malcesine
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Lago Di Garda Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lago di Garda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.