We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in the heart of the town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alpino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alpino to your Saves list
Hotel Alpino
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Statuto 23, 37018 Malcesine, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Fantastic hotel in the heart of the town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just finished a wonderful week on Lake Garda for friends wedding
We stayed in this wonderful hotel and can't recommend it enough.
Staff are so friendly and helpful. .. breakfast is superb. Excellent value all round
Giampiero and his father are first class hosts

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    71
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
116
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent Easter weekend in Malcesine and stayed at Hotel Alpino. What a lovely choice we made! It's a few yards from the lakeside, and overlooks the square where they hold the Saturday market. We had room 104 which is a balcony room (nice long balcony with table and chairs), with views over the mountains and old church. The location couldn't of been better (well, maybe throw in a lake view and it may have topped it!), which meant that you can go out in the evening to all the popular restaurants, most of which are less than a 5 minute walk back to the hotel.

The hotel is family run, which gives it the sense of pride it has. It is kept spotlessly clean throughout the public areas, and the bathroom in the room, in particular, was very clean. The breakfast was continental style, with a good choice of cold meats, cheese, rolls, pastries, cake (delicious), toast, boiled egg, biscuits, yogurt. More than enough to set you up for the day (and it's included in the room rate).

We had a great stay, and I would have given it a 5* rating if it wasn't for 2 niggly negatives. The room wasn't the quietest to sleep in - the shower in the room next door was directly on the wall of the bedroom, which meant that their unusual showering times woke us up. There is also a bit of outside noise, traffic, people etc. This tends to calm down around midnight. Secondly, we encountered a rather surly barmaid when we arrived back at the hotel after a night out (at around 10.30pm), and requested a nightcap. She seemed quite put out, and it would have been nice to be greeted with a smile instead of a frown. Maybe she was having a bad day.... Anyway, apart from that, I can highly recommend this hotel for its location, its cleanliness, the fantastic view if you get the right room, the ample breakfast and the helpful staff at reception.

Room Tip: Room 104 has large balcony and great views. Spare pillows are kept in the wardrobe drawers - we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Standard, clean hotel, just in time when I was there was not air.cond. Excellent location. Staff very kindly, luggage storage, reception 24 hours open. Good buffet breakfast also, for hotel customers 10% less prices in restaurant,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

As a best man on a budget last year (2014) Hotel Alpino ticked every box. Although my criteria may differ greatly from yours as all I really needed was a clean simple room in the heart of the town.

While this was certainly delivered I was greatly happy with the staff and owners who were extremely helpful and understanding as I used their printer for speech rewrites and ordering a bottle of fizz to put the wedding day nerves of the groom at ease.

The hotel itself really is central to everything, and although I would consider the room to be dated and the shower slightly too small for a medium sized gentleman, everything was clean. Considering the price these really didn't bother me at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Fourteen of us stayed here in September 2014 for our wedding. I cannot recommend this Hotel enough. The owners were absolutely fantastic and cannot do enough for you and go out of there way to make your stay amazing. The Hotel and rooms were immaculate and cleaned everyday. The food is spectacular and big portions, so much than when we did eat at other places, it didn't compare. It does get very busy in the restaurant that you have to book, which we didn't mind. As we didn't have a place booked for our wedding reception before we went out there, we decided to ask the owners if we could have it at the Hotel Alpino and they made it very special for us with lovely food and excellent service. I would definitely recommend this Hotel, not only for the above but also it is in a great location, right in the centre of everything. This Hotel definitely deserves more than a 2 star. I will defiantly being staying there again and that is the opinion of all of us that stayed there.

Room Tip: We were happy with our room, however one of our group asked to moved to a higher floor and this was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Excellent value for a 2 star hotel, should be rated 3.
The hotel was very clean, comfortable and staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.
Lots of places to visit, but definitely take the cable car to the top of Mount Baldo, good walks and stunning views.
Pedro's pizzeria recommended.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prenton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Just returned from a half term break on Lake Garda with two friends, staying at Hotel Alpino. I was pleasantly surprised at the standard considering its only a 2 star. Nice couple who run it & their staff are welcoming & helpful. We were shown our room & an alternative one if we didn't fancy our allocated room, which was nice of them. The room (001) was basic but comfortable, with clean towels whenever needed & maid service every day. There was a kettle in the room when we arrived but no hospitality tray. However, Reception gladly provided one & fresh milk was available from the restaurant. Fridge & safe in room also. As we were on the ground floor we had patio windows out to a small terrace with table & chairs. We had two single beds & a sofa type bed, which I believe was a bit uncomfortable & my friend had to pad it out a bit with the spare bedding. Hotel is perfect base for exploring the area, with bus stop within approx 300mtrs of the hotel entrance. Breakfast was more than adequate; toasting machine, cereals, boiled eggs, cold meats/cheese, yoghurt & a selection of breads etc.
We eat in the hotel restaurant on our first night (Sun) as nowhere else open! Food was very good; pizza/pasta etc.
We really did get value for money & I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alpino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpino

Address: Piazza Statuto 23, 37018 Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
#11 Family Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpino 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Alpino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpino Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Alpino Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alpino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.