We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Hotel Du Lac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Beach Hotel Du Lac to your Saves list
Beach Hotel Du Lac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gardesana 63, 37018 Malcesine, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Malcesine
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fab Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed at Beach Du Lac the week of our wedding. The junior suite was lovely with views of the lake and of malcesine. The staff were amazing and so friendly to our guests, as we had a constant flow of people visiting us during the week. Everyone was made feel welcome at the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were so good that the girl at reception cant remember her name collected me in her own car because i could not get a taxi from the hairdressers the morning of my wedding. Before I left to get married the staff were so nice to me and my dad. I will definitely return to this hotel. I could not fault them. I enjoyed the walk into town everyday it takes less than 10 minutes, even tough most nights we stayed at the hotel with our guests because it was such a chilled out hotel right on the lake.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    50
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
39
148
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We were here in 2008 and loved it then... It has got better!
A redesigned jetty giving extra room for loungers was welcome and while we were there they started fitting some steps for boat trips on small motor cruisers etc.. Two nice kayaks, a double and single for guests to hire. It was really lovely paddling about. The weather was not the best but most of the big storms were overnight. I think the food has got a little better, we found it perfectly fine for our needs and is good value but always worth a break to pop down the prom for a pizza. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Their English is good and german too. Adrian, the barman, remembered us from three years ago as did Renato and Debora.

Nothing is too much trouble if you ask. It's a great place to just relax, read, watch the world go by and enjoy the peace and quiet. The recession showed in town. Much quieter and lots of sales on everywhere but still busy.
The transfer from airport to hotel worked well and you pay for it in the hotel, not the driver. Events on up monte baldo were nice. The orchestra from Verona performed short pieces from various operas and musicals and it was free!


We are already planning our next trip back in abut two years time, after the Olympics of course!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in late July and found the hotel to be ideally located and well appointed. About a 10 minute walk from the centre of Malcesine, the hotel is perfectly situated on the lake. Being outside of the town itself means the hotel is quieter than many. The walk in is a pleasant stroll along the lake. We stayed in a Junior Suite which was spacious and had a large terrace - perfect for afternoon sunbathing. The airconditioning worked well and was at no extra cost. Breakfast was the typical continental option with plenty of choices. Our only comment here would be that there could be better fresh fruit options - the fruit salad looked rather like it had come from a tin... After staying here we moved on to the Hotel Maximilian around the corner. If you are looking for a higher end 4 star option the Maximilian is it (will cost you a little more though!) Beach Hotel Du Lac defintitely deserves its 4 star rating and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stretch the budget for a Junior Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampenhout
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

What a great experience!!! First time the all favmily said when we arrived there: We will come here! For sure!!!
For the owners, the staff, the food, the view...........
My daughter, 11 years old, (who would gessed that) enjoyed the fine cuisine offered there and was always open to try.....
I can't wait to go there again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I have been to Malcesine many times and I singled out Hotel Du Lac for this stay due to its location and some of the most charming views at Lake Garda. The hotel is just perfect in this respect, it has a great access to the lake (with its own pier), quiet neighborhood, and a 15-20 minutes scenic walk by the lake side will take you to the town center. Contrary to some reviews here, I found the staff very friendly and welcoming. Our room was spacious and in principle well equipped but would certainly deserve some renovation and a light designer’s touch. Also, I do not remember last time I stayed in a 4 star hotel which did not have a minibar, did have a kettle but no tea/coffee, and no shampoo in the bathroom. Small details but you would take them for granted in a place which charges some 180EUR per night. There was also a wonderful surprise in the room – Anita Brookner’s Hotel Du Lac next to the Gideon’s bible. What a great idea and a great read! One evening we tried the half board option which consisted of a bargain 3 course dinner. I would certainly recommend the tasty (and very big!!) dinner on the terrace but do not expect gourmet experience! All in all, I might come back to Hotel Du Lac some day hoping that the standard of the rooms will improve a bit to match the unforgettable experience of the great great location!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

For anybody wishing to visit Lake Garda this hotel is a must. It is ideally situated right on the lake front, only a short stroll from the beautiful town centre. The views from lake facing balconies and from the restaurant are simply stunning. Rear facing rooms still look over the mountains and pool area but it's not quite the same, so splashing out that bit extra would be worth it. The food was excellant every night, with quite a good variety for a relatively small hotel. Sitting eating breakfast (good variety again) overlooking the lake was made even better by the stream of sparrows that like to come and share your bread! The staff were all very friendly and nothing ever seemed too much trouble for them. The hotel was immaculately clean at all times (as was Malcesine itself) and the room cleaning good also. Malcesine itself is very well situated on the lake, with regular ferries to other towns, the cable car up to Monte Baldo, the castle, loads of shops and more restaurants than you could wave a stick at. If you visit this truly fabulous place i would highly recommend that you base yourself at the Du Lac. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester-le-street
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Took friends this year we all had a fab time the staff were very good nothing a problem
Deberoh at Rec. was excellant for arranging trips.Renato the owner was very helpful
Would recommend this hotel to anyone.We will be back.

Sadie,Joe Chester-le Street

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Hotel Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel Du Lac

Address: Via Gardesana 63, 37018 Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#6 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#9 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Hotel Du Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is completely renovated and equipped with the newest standards of the 4° star category.Our hotel boasts about an enviable, elevated position with stunning views overlooking the beautiful blue waters of Lake Garda with a romantic view facing the old town of Malcesine. It is always estimated for the heavenly quiet position directly on the lakeshore with beach and private wharf with sun-chairs. Walking along the Lake-Promenade a half mile you reach the town.The forty large bedrooms all with balcony or terrace and positioned directly on the lake are all furnished with modern facilities: telephone, safe-deposit box, TV-SAT, fridge, electric kettle, AIR CONDITIONING or heating, modern bathrooms with shower, hairdryer. Hotel facilities, lift, INTERNET POINT, swimming pool, solarium terrace with sun beds, sun umbrellas, pool towels, panoramic view. Whirl-pool (33°) on the lake terrace, parking, carport, fitness room, surf deposit all inclusive.Dining room with air conditioning, dinner with table service, menu choice with salad and dessert buffet, weekly Galadinner by candlelight, Italian cuisine and regional specialities.You can choose daily half board or just Bed and breakfast. Generous breakfast buffet also on the panoramic terrace on the lake side with its splendid view over the Lake.Bar service, snacks and meals, coffee, sweeties, ice cream, cocktail bar. Tv-Sat room.We assure you our best attention, own good language knowledge and wait for your booking inquiry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Hotel Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Malcesine
Beach Hotel Du Lac Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Hotel Du Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.