We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Malcesine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vega

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vega to your Saves list
Hotel Vega
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Roma 10 | near Lake Garda, 37018 Malcesine, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in Malcesine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

What an amazing place! From start to finish, our stay at hotel Vega was exceptional. A small family run hotel offering stunning views of Lake Garda. The manager, Marco, had the hotel running like clockwork. The staff are friendly and extremely efficient, nothing is too much trouble. Marco was there to welcome us as we arrived and also carried our cases to the taxi as we left. Our room was very comfortable, clean and we had our own private terrace even though we had a partial lake view. The food was outstanding, the best I've eaten in a good few years. We can't praise this hotel enough and will most definitely be returning next year. Thank you hotel Vega for a memorable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    29
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
154
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just spent our second holiday at the Hotel Vega - we had a side lake view room (no 2) which in actual fact gave us a full lake view as it runs virtually the side length of the hotel to the front. Nice room and well equipped. Loads of coat hangers (always a pet hate of mine when hotels give you only 6 coat hangers!!) The Hotel itself is beautifully decorated, and spotlessly clean. The staff are all friendly and very helpful with the dining experience excellent - said all this last year and have no qualms about thoroughly recommending this very well located (3 minutes from ferry point) hotel yet again. Doesn't need a swimming pool as it has a wonderful spa in which to cool down in while looking out over the beautiful lake. Well done Marco!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from spending a week here. We had a first floor room with a balcony overlooking the lake. Great situation, great food,wonderful views and so central. Marco is a fantastic host always ready for a laugh. What more can I say!

Room Tip: For the wonderful views a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim northern ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was our second time staying at the vega and if anything we enjoyed it even more. Apart from Malcesine being one of the nicest spots on lake guarda I think the vega would be very hard to beat. The hotel rooms are not grand but spotless and contain everything you need including a balcony. First time we had a side view of the lake and this holiday a back view of the mountains which was lovely to, we were not disappointed not to be on the lake.The food is of such a high stand and cooked fresh and to perfection, the chef is a perfectionist. The hotel has a lovely private garden with sun beds and we never had a problem finding a space, we enjoyed tea and biscuits and cocktails most afternoon here, all very reasonably priced. You can swim directly from this garden in the lake, fantastic experence although cold.The staff at the vega could not do enough for us and never intruded on a relaxing holiday. Marco works very hard at ensuring his guests are looked after in everyway possible. I can not find any fault with the vega ,we have just returned and have booked again for next year as I would only be disappointed somewhere else. You can't improve on the vega. We are so lucky to have found this gem of a place.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a similar standard and all have a balcony,either lake view or mountain view is love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Returned yesterday from Malcesine and the hotel Vega.It was our first trip to the lakes but will not be the last.Marco welcomed us personally and we were taken to our rooms which were at the front of the hotel facing monte baldo, Both rooms were lovely with one being larger so ask for end rooms if possible. The delicious evening meal was the first of many , and to us the waiter ,Mario ,was great ,always smiling and yes joking but you must have a poor sense of humour not to appreciate him !. Chambermaids were also friendly and rooms cleaned perfectly .A swim off the decking ,followed by a cool drink on the terrace or garden , heaven . I could write pages about this hotel and resort and all would be complimentary .Marco saw us into the taxi on the last day....at 6 in the morning ! He had also provided breakfast at 5.40 thank you Marco ,Mario and all other staff for a wonderful holiday

Room Tip: Front rooms cooler, end rooms larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our stay in this hotel, which was in a great location with a lovely interior, rooms and wonderful food, was spoilt by a waiter who thought he was a comedian but alas was not. He would have been far better sticking to speaking Italian than trying to be too smart with his poor English and realise that when a customer asked for a boiled egg or a specific sweet that was what they wanted but instead he tried to be clever and in the end spoilt our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is first class run by Marco who is a bit of a character but he can not do enough for you. The hotel is only minutes away from the centre and ferry dock which when you have mobility problems is just what you want. The whole hotel is as clean as a new pin and everything is modern.
The evening meals were superb with three choices every evening and the service excellent. We told Marco we would not be in the next evening as we were going to Venice, he asked if we wanted a packed lunch which turned out to be a real feast.
Thanks Marco to you and your team for making our holiday a really nice experience.

Room Tip: We had room 6 at the front of the hotel and this was cool from late afternoon on, although all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vega

Address: Viale Roma 10 | near Lake Garda, 37018 Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vega 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and WINTRADE S.R.L. so you can book your Hotel Vega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vega Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Vega Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.